Mortification
Post Momentary Affliction


5.0
classic

Review

by Keilo USER (6 Reviews)
March 24th, 2010 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fantastic and innovative album from the early 90s by a great Christian band. Please check it out asap!

“Post Momentary Affliction” is the fourth studio album of 14 albums by Mortification. In my humble opinion, this is the best of all of their albums. The tracks here present Mortification at the most creative and innovative point in their career. The album is a flawless mixture of grind and doom metal with great atmosphere and probably their best production to date. The album is tight, concise, well written, and has stood the test of time for seventeen years. Verily, verily I say to you, this album is a classic and should be in any extreme music connoisseur’s collection. Yes, I know that many folks overlook this album because Mortification is a Christian band. However, as far as I’m concerned, if you can digest the sickness of Cannibal Corpse or the satanic hatred of Deicide lyrics, this should be approached in the same manner: don’t take it seriously.

The first thing that I think will strike the listener upon absorbing this album is the spectacular production. In 1993, all digital production was just getting its wheel’s spinning, yet somehow, a fairly unknown Christian band from Australia managed to secure a decent-enough budget to pull it off. The results are fantastic. I don’t know what they did, but Mort seemed to nail every tone. The slightly dry and organic guitar tone, the thick bass, and crystal clear drums are all present. Don’t let me forget lead man/vocalist/bassist Steve Rowe’s vocals, as he sounds like he shoved a bottle of Guinness Extra Stout into his vocal chords and was then kicked in the throat. Even the original album artwork is impeccable. From the cover art to the extensive liner notes to the crazy gold/black-swirl pattern on the disc shows nothing but supreme professionalism. The Nuclear Blast release is lame by comparison.

The album has a creepy intro followed by a powerful and riff-tastic song called “From the Valley of Shadows”. Mort pulls all their punches with their grind meets doom mix, and remain somewhat catchy along the way. Michael Carlisle’s guitar and Jason Sherlock’s (have you heard the Christian unblack holy metal band Horde????) drums mesh quite well, creating a pummeling wall of sound. The solo’s are atonal and discordant, and Steve Rowe’s distinct bass lines and tone let you know who is keeping tabs.

Further into the recording, blast beats and the occasional shouts lay waste, making way for some more doomy material like the brooding “Distarnish Priest”. The opening vocal lines to this song make me wonder if Steve has been smoking for years, and is coughing a formative tar/snot loogey from his lungs. Either way, the song rules. Ha!

Other stand-outs on this album include the incredibly odd and inspiring “Grind Planetarium”, which features an otherworldly progression and melody, and the thunderous and plodding “Overseer” which will beat you relentlessly for about nine minutes with its blast beats and alternating slow doominess. The pseudo title track “This Momentary Affliction” is short snippet of grinding guitars and blast-beats, which runs straight into the uplifting and bass-laden “Flight of Victory” instrumental.

Overall, this album is a beast. Steve Rowe’s lyrics are the most convicted of anything he’s written, and the music speaks for itself. It is a gem that I think any extreme music aficionado should own. Unfortunately, it seems that most folks either love Mort or can't stand them, so I hope you are with me as the former. Also, most of Mort’s recordings have been remastered and reissued on gold discs on Metal Mind Productions, a Polish music label. The discs include extensive liner notes and are in digipak form.



Recent reviews by this author
God Dethroned Bloody BlasphemyTourniquet Pathogenic Ocular Dissonance
Tourniquet Psycho SurgeryTourniquet Microscopic View of a Telescopic Realm
Within the Ruins Creature
user ratings (34)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
EnricoPalazzo
March 24th 2010


626 Comments


Only heard a few off of this, but imo Scrolls of the Megilloth is their best. I think they have a new album coming out later this year too...

Nikkolae
March 24th 2010


4870 Comments


agree with Lt. Drebin, scrolls of megilloth is the best but this one isnt bad at all either

Digging: Modern Witch - Unknown Domain

Essence
March 24th 2010


3595 Comments


a flawless mixture of grind and doom metal

lolwut

EnricoPalazzo
March 24th 2010


626 Comments


I think he might have meant death metal. Still, seeing as I haven't really heard much of this, I can't say for sure.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Too each their own. I wouldn't have given this disc a 5 rating if I didn't think it absolutely deserved it.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I very much mean a flawless mixture of grind and doom metal. Listen for yourself.

EnricoPalazzo
March 24th 2010


626 Comments


I'm not criticizing you, man, just based off of what I've heard previously from Mort, I assumed that death would fit better than doom. I plan on getting this soon.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I uploaded the sweet original artwork, so where is it? The Nuclear Blast cover is totally lame.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Enrico... each Mort album tends to be quite different. SotM was more death oriented... this album is exactly what I stated. Now go lay your hard-earned cash on it. You will be delighted.

EnricoPalazzo
March 24th 2010


626 Comments


Yeah, I dig all the different styles they bring. Gotta get this and The Hammer of God.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

DO IT MAN!!! DO IT!!!!!!!! Wow... and talk about differing styles between albums... that's quite a leap... you'll probably wonder if it's the same band...

EnricoPalazzo
March 24th 2010


626 Comments


I've sampled them on iTunes and have songs from all the different albums, I just never got around to getting the whole thing.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

original cover art here;

http://www.firestreamvault.com/main/rateimages/21_01_15_2008_5_18_58_Mortification%20-%20Post%20Momentary%20Affliction.jpg

FeralMemories
March 24th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review. I was considering doing a review for SOTM.

couch
March 24th 2010


311 Comments


dude cool review i'll have to check this out

Wizard
March 24th 2010


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This sounds good, probably going to check it out. The whole Christian thing kind of bugs me a bit, they aren't preachy, are they?

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

FeralMemories
March 24th 2010


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I assume they would be in concert, but that shouldn't affect how you listen to the albums. As he said, treat it the same as a satanic or gore album.

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Wizard - Well... I guess that depends on what you consider preachy. They talk about the world from an evangelical Christian point of view, and their lyrics claim that they serve Jesus and that he is the only way to salvation. Like I said, I don't think anybody should take it seriously. If anything, I find it to be a bold proclamation (albeit a deluded one), and a positive alternative to the usual and mindless lyrics that run amok in the metal world. You tell me... would you rather hear about somebody being sodomized with a meathook or hear about something that is supposed to uplift you and better your life? That's just how I see it. I may be in the minority.

Although, admittedly, having been through the spectrum of the evangelical xtian world (which is why I know all of this music so well) for about six years, that meathook might not seem so bad compared to the mind***kery and deluded ignorance of said religion.

Whatever. Hail satan. m/

Wizard
March 24th 2010


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

HAHAHAHAHA fair enough, this sounds like badass old school metal that I should be on top of anyways.

99% of Christian bands though = complete and utter shit (not for their lyrics, but because Jesus possessed them with generic writing skills hahahaha)

Keilo
March 24th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

HAHAHAHAHA that was always my complaint with xtian music! The secular music had the better music but the crummy lyrics, yet the xtian music was safer lyrically but suffered musically. Thankfully, bands like Extol, Mortification, Tourniquet, Emery, Blindside, and Zao were around to carry me through until my deconversion. This is why I'm so passionate about a few xtian bands. I wouldn't recommend them if it was crap. The music speaks for itself.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy