The Weakerthans
Fallow


3.5
great

Review

by Brokenjewel USER (11 Reviews)
March 23rd, 2010 | 28 replies | 7,860 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sometimes gentle, sometimes rambunctious genesis of a magical career.

8 of 12 thought this review was well written

While they may not be the most prolific band, Winnipeg’s The Weakerthans have recruited a devoted legion of fans during their twelve year career, producing four full length albums of literate and brilliantly infectious indie-rock along the way. As is the case with many bands, their beginnings were a promise of greatness that would only be fully realised in their sophomore record and beyond; but what Fallow lacks in refinement compared to its older siblings is more than made up for with a breezy, wonderfully rich character that will be familiar to fans of their later records, and a warm welcome to any newcomers.

On paper, The Weakerthans’ formula seems deceptively simple: music that ranges from upbeat and catchy indie-rock, to more austere, gentler moments where the instrumentation is stripped away, leaving room for John Samson’s voice to drift through the endless elegance and wit of his lyrics. Throughout Fallow the tone of the record swells and recedes, with the delicacy of songs such as ‘Sounds Familiar’ and ‘None of the Above’ finding their natural home amongst brisk, punkier numbers like ‘Confessions of a Futon-Revolutionist’. The melodic backbone of the record might be more comparable to folk and americana than any other genre, but the more energetic moments of the record rattle along with a cheerful brevity that is decidedly punk, albeit a mature, indie brand of punk; one infused with a deep, even affectionate warmth.

The record is refreshingly devoid of any production trickery, each song carrying with it a beautifully organic air. Even at their most vigorous the guitar sound is merely touched with distortion, leaving every change in key open to inspection; the drums are the quiet heartbeat of the slow sections, and even when they step up a gear they remain an astute compliment to the overall feel of the music, providing energy without overpowering. Samson’s wry tone suits the instrumentation of the record to a tee, and his lyricism, with all its wealth of imagery and characterisation, seems as effortless as it is poetic. Tales of sadness, loss and growing-up are punctuated with subtle, wonderfully vivid images, like a finger tracing through spilled sugar, or the frantic black eyes of a wounded bird. Even the most ardent enemies of indie-rock would be hard pressed to deny that this guy can write.

Even so, Fallow will never be considered The Weakerthans’ greatest record – the release of a stunning second album will do that to a debut – but the truth is, it doesn’t need to be. Where some bands’ debuts eventually become inescapable millstones tied around their necks, The Weakerthans’ first shot remains an uncut diamond that will always be the respectable beginning of something truly beautiful. Welcome aboard.



Recommended tracks:

The Last Last One
Sounds Familiar
Letter of Resignation



Recent reviews by this author
Further Seems Forever Hide NothingFrank Turner Love, Ire & Song
Shai Hulud That Within Blood Ill-TemperedSundowner Four One Five Two
The Get Up Kids Something to Write Home AboutBorn Under Saturn Reflecting The Beautiful Design
user ratings (82)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Foxhound
March 23rd 2010



4570 Comments


What the hell is it with these perfect reviews one after another!? Neg neg neg neg neg.

edit/ Review is fantastic as always but I'm not to into indie other than Funeral and a few chosen
others. I guess I may check this out though. pos

Brokenjewel
March 23rd 2010



1247 Comments


lol, I can feel my ego expanding. I'm still getting used to reviewing but I've written a lot of fiction and essays etc so guess it shows. I still think my reviews are a bit...sterile, maybe.

You might like the slower ones, man - they don't really come across that indie-ish. Try 'Sounds Familiar'.

Foxhound
March 23rd 2010



4570 Comments


Well it's pretty easy to tell you're not a first timer like most of the reviewers who start on here. I don't think I'm very consistent when it comes to reviews though cause for every keeper I delete at least 3 cause they either suck or my perfectionism gets in the way.

Also yeah I'll try this out but forgive me if I don't rave to you about it cause most likely it'll get written off as hipster mumbo jumbo.

EVedder27
March 23rd 2010



6088 Comments


Damn good review man. Band is a new discovery for me so I'll probably get to this soon.

Brokenjewel
March 23rd 2010



1247 Comments


hipster mumbo jumbo, lol



@Evedder - cheers, man. This is where I started with them and it hooked me. All their stuff is gold, though.

tom79
March 23rd 2010



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Album is fucking awesome. Other than Leash, every single song rules.

Digging: Braid - No Coast

SeaAnemone
March 24th 2010



19677 Comments


yes seriously great start to reviewing... it's really great to see so many quality ones (not to mention ones I completely agree with like this ;) )

oh and cool dig tom

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Kiran
Emeritus
March 24th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i finally got this last week, rules just like the rest of their discog

Brokenjewel
March 24th 2010



1247 Comments


Thanks, Sea



And impeccable taste as ever, Kirgasm.

Inveigh
March 24th 2010



24752 Comments


awesome review man, I think I need to get on this band with the quickness

Kiran
Emeritus
March 24th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review by the way

Brokenjewel
March 24th 2010



1247 Comments


Cheers guys.


Yeah dude, they are the business.

Eclectic
July 7th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sorry guys, but I cannot stand this band. The singer is fucking godawful, the instrumentation is mediocre, and the lyrics... ugh. Its not that I'm missing the joke, I see it right in front of me, its just not a funny one.

"I'll try to keep some part of me sincere"
Funny thing that, he failed miserably.

Kiran
Emeritus
July 7th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

have you only listened to this album? and cmon, samson is one of the most sincere people in music


Eclectic
July 7th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, I've got all of their albums on my computer (for some odd reason) and picked one out at random.

Nah, sorry dude, I don't hear it.

Kiran
Emeritus
July 7th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

how you can say you cant stand a band by listening to their first and worst album and finding it average? what do you find so insincere?

listen to reconstruction site and left and leaving.

Eclectic
July 7th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Perhaps you're right. All right, I'll try those albums.
His whole demeanor is insincere, bland and annoying. Its like he knows what he's singing is stupid.

Kiran
Emeritus
July 7th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

as i just said, its wrong to be so quick to judge his entire demeanor based on their first/worst album. the weakerthans are notorious for taking years between albums, so you're basically dismissing a decade of maturity and growth in samsons songwriting by calling them crap on their debut effort.

Eclectic
July 7th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I see what you're saying and I'll take it on board.
Just one thing: Why did you give this a 3.5? If what I'm saying is right, where's the appeal in this album for you?

Kiran
Emeritus
July 7th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it was the last weakerthans album i listened to, having already fallen in love with the band, so i take some appreciation out of seeing where it all started and how they've matured, as well as the fact that i just love samsons songwriting. lines like "the nights a spill / a permanent stain / the city soaks in silence" are awesome. but yeah, they really turned into something else with left and leaving and reconstruction site, listen to those with an open mind.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy