The Dillinger Escape Plan
Option Paralysis


4.5
superb

Review

by dethSpell USER (1 Reviews)
March 22nd, 2010 | 38 replies | 4,097 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: DEP finally find a successful cohesive balance to their manic brand of dynamism and raise the high water mark for thinking man with a heart's metal once again.

1 of 12 thought this review was well written

I've been able to listen to this front to back several times in a row. I've been listening since Calculating Infinity and have endured all the bellyaching regarding pop integration and hot/cold soft/loud mechanics that started to become all the rage with bands like Mogwai and Explosions in the Sky and manifested itself in Miss Machine which I believe to be superior to Ire Works which has several strong tracks, I've even been known to listen to "Black Bubblegum" on repeat, but IW came across as a mixtape of aggressive, pop and downtempo that wasn't exactly a cohesive whole or a front to back listen no matter how many times I tried to do that or actually achieved it.

Enter Option Paralysis. I've been spinning it for over a week now and from the first listen I had no hesitation letting the album go its own way, no tracking smithing/skipping around and was content with this whole album approach for several listens. Naturally, I start to favor certain songs and want to hear them before others and after I understood what the album was trying to accomplish, and in my opinion quite successfully did, I didn't mind being the tracksmith I am. Let me just say that this album is what Ire Works was reaching for and what was hinted at in Miss Machine except instead of being a seeming menagerie of random aggro/soft pop/dadaist tracks, what we have here is a relatively seamless listening experience from start to finish, assuming some accompanying piano sections aren't br00tal enough for your purely black flowing blood, but not to worry just when when you start to think, what the ***, more piano, they shift gears back to what you almost instinctively need more of. Finally DEP are IN TOUCH with their dynamism. They know how to weave these songs together. The sum is greater than the whole, whereas before we had distinct songs that were well formed but somewhat incongruent as a whole, but that's the beauty of DEP, they flirt with different genres, time signatures and emotions (go ahead flame me for being emo).

All I have to say is I can't be happier with this album and it's lived up to the great expectations I've had for it as my most anticipated album of 2010. I've actually listened to it so much, and it's still not officially out for another day in the US, that I have been taken a day or so break between listens, but god damn there are some tracks that grind and mosh so ***ing hard, it's irresistible and then there are of course the more timid and sentimental moments on the album which I wouldn't trade for the most aggressive because it's the balance of the two that really strikes the rift I find in myself between total ***ing chaos and gentle obsession with beauty. Rock on. dethSpell


user ratings (2275)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
focksy
March 22nd 2010



437 Comments


review was hilarious

Greggers
March 22nd 2010



2375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let me just say that this album is what Ire Works was reaching for and what was hinted at in Miss Machine except instead of being a seeming menagerie of random aggro/soft pop/dadaist tracks, what we have here is a relatively seamless listening experience from start to finish, assuming some accompanying piano sections aren't br00tal enough for your purely black flowing blood, but not to worry just when when you start to think, what the ***, more piano, they shift gears back to what you almost instinctively need more of.


That's one fucking long sentence

sniper
March 22nd 2010



19048 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/album.php?albumid=36817

No, THAT is a long sentence. ^^^^

Enotron
March 22nd 2010



7695 Comments


You talk about yourself too much.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



31085 Comments


I got lost in your summary

Digging: Banks - Goddess

tiesthatbind
March 22nd 2010



7373 Comments


Holy one sentence paragraphs, Batman!

Urinetrouble
March 22nd 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

review is bad, album is good. simple
dep ranked

calculating infinity
option paralysis
irony is a dead scene(as much as i like patton paralysis is better)
miss machine
ire works

GBJ
March 22nd 2010



496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"manic brand of dynamism"....sounds like a dangerous brand

LegendofPittman
March 22nd 2010



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow...
and agreed with weedbeater ^
although I still can't decide if I like CI or OP better.

bloozclooz
March 22nd 2010



1770 Comments


man this hard to read

DiceMan
March 22nd 2010



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thesaurus: "QUIT RAPING ME!"
Sentences: "USE MORE THAN ONE OF US!"
Ego: "QUIT INFLATING ME!"

Burn2Burn
March 22nd 2010



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"DEP finally find a successful cohesive balance to their manic brand of dynamism and raise the high water mark for thinking man with a heart's metal once again."

[img]http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_-43iair00Wc/SJVuw1DLM6I/AAAAAAAAAF0/0G7ZyxvPMD4/s400/Mind+Blown.jpg[/img]

cvlts
March 22nd 2010



8954 Comments


lolwut?

bloozclooz
March 22nd 2010



1770 Comments


[img]http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b229/JigJRod55/What_The_Fuck_Is_This_Shit_Dr_Seus.jpg[/img]

I've been able to listen to this front to back several times in a row. I've been listening since Calculating Infinity and have endured all the bellyaching regarding pop integration and hot/cold soft/loud mechanics that started to become all the rage with bands like Mogwai and Explosions in the Sky and manifested itself in Miss Machine which I believe to be superior to Ire Works which has several strong tracks, I've even been known to listen to "Black Bubblegum" on repeat, but IW came across as a mixtape of aggressive, pop and downtempo that wasn't exactly a cohesive whole or a front to back listen no matter how many times I tried to do that or actually achieved it.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



15857 Comments


nothing wrong with writing a personal review, but even then you have to use some moderation. and also more than one sentence.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

bloozclooz
March 22nd 2010



1770 Comments


haven't negged yet. am waiting for the author to do some edits.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



31085 Comments


The first time I heard this album was back in 2008, and I had just discovered that the internet could actually help you find music. I had recently become addicted to Pandora radio, and was amazed at all the bands I was finding all at once. Needless to say, it was hard to filter out the bands that were worth spending the time to look up and follow.

It wasn't until nearly a year and a half later that I bothered looking up ADBOK (A Different Breed Of Killer), and boy was I disappointed. The music just struck me as bland, with the vocalist keeping a low level bellow, and guitars just seeming to chug along without any real direction or purpose.


One of your reviews Blooz



po0ty
March 22nd 2010



487 Comments


wow

bloozclooz
March 22nd 2010



1770 Comments


yep, and people pointed that out, and i fixed it in later reviews.

although i am flattered you went through my reviews like that. thanks!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



31085 Comments


I clicked on the one, sorry....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy