Ulcerate
Everything Is Fire


4.5
superb

Review

by Ian W. USER (20 Reviews)
March 21st, 2010 | 57 replies | 6,185 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ulcerate has managed to craft a truly superb album combining atmosphere and brutal death metal

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Ulcerate is a Death Metal band that truly stands out amongst its many peers within the genre, combining both ambience and heaviness within the album's eight tracks.

Upon listening to the album, many will make the connection that Ulcerate takes many cues from the band Gorguts, especially from their Obscura album. This in fact is quite true. The guitars have that uncanny riff structure similar to Gorguts that is both heavy and delicate at the same time. What makes the similarity stand out even more is the vocalist, whose growls sound almost similar to the tortured screams of Gorguts vocalist. The growls are used so effectively throughout the album that they add a very somber, almost helpless sound to the already drowning guitar tone. Take the intro "Drown Within," the guitars change from doom metal slowness to rapid fire all while the vocalist screams his way through tortured emotions. The resulting sound almost replicates the feeling of actually drowning, slowly being enclosed upon with little hope left.

But before one can write this band off as a Gorguts rip off, let it be known that what make Ulcerate stand out so much is their inane ability to blend technical death metal with atmosphere. The guitars use a similar riff pattern through each song with changing time signatures and staccato notes, but they're never recycled into other songs nor considerably overused. Combined with the drumming, which by the way is very diverse and adept at keeping the speed of the album going, the drums manage to complement the passages of each song with both the guitars and the vocals.

What makes me love this album so much and why I believe it manages to stand out so well is the amount of atmosphere that this band pours into this album. Everything from the slower guitar sections accompanied by bass to the quicker, pure death metal aspects of the album goes so well together to create an album that sucks you in. Some songs go the slower route, such as "Tyranny," where the entire song is nothing but relatively fast drums, mid paced to slow guitars with a heavy bass presence, before completely dying near the end where all that's left are a couple guitar strums. It's an incredibly impactful song that just shows the lengths to expression that death metal can take. Then take songs like the title track "Everything is Fire," which blazes through with intense speed all the way to the very end before crashing to a halt, an almost perfect outro to any album.

I can't say that this album or band will appeal to everyone; in fact, it took me quite a while to completely adjust to the new sound. But once I managed to surpass that hump, I managed to find myself enthralled with the amount of talent and energy that this album contains. It truly is incredible how expressive a genre such as death metal has become since its inception. Forget most technical death metal bands, Ulcerate is here, and is here to stay for a while, proving my point exactly why metal as a whole is indeed the most artistic and expressive of all music genres.



Recent reviews by this author
Barenaked Ladies MaroonEnvy Recitation
Nasum Human 2.0The Contortionist Exoplanet
Ion Dissonance CursedThe Contortionist Apparition
user ratings (420)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jacquibim CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Opaque perfection...

Jordan F. (4)
Ulcerate takes a huge step up and crafts a crushingly dense and atmospheric album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2010



30865 Comments


Neg'd until you remove 1 sentence from this review, then i'll change it to a pos

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

Relinquished
March 21st 2010



24398 Comments


Gorguts what? That's a bad comparison.

witchxrapist
March 21st 2010



10931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gorguts is a huge influence to Ulcerate and it's fairly obvious...

Digging: Stray From the Path - Our Oceania

DBlitz
March 21st 2010



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gorguts what? That's a bad comparison.


how so

let it be known that Gorguts was talented but hardly brought anything relatively new to the genre


ok what

Wizard
March 21st 2010



19207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gorguts what? That's a bad comparison.

I hear the influence but it's still retarded to say they sound like them.

let it be known that Gorguts was talented but hardly brought anything relatively new to the genre

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmm k

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

DBlitz
March 21st 2010



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ok nvm Relinquished has only listened to erosion of sanity

DBlitz
March 21st 2010



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

way to break the page wizard

Wizard
March 21st 2010



19207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed*

krig9412
March 21st 2010



792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm new and this is my first review, so go easy on me.

To respond to Deviant1769-What sentence?

To DBlitz-That may have sounded a little too harsh, but in retrospect Gorguts wasn't exactly progressive in any sense, and they were largely overshadowed by their other death metal peers during their career like Suffocation.

krig9412
March 21st 2010



792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm new and this is my first review, so go easy on me.

To respond to Deviant1769-What sentence?

To DBlitz-That may have sounded a little too harsh, but in retrospect Gorguts wasn't exactly progressive in any sense, and they were largely overshadowed by their other death metal peers during their career like Suffocation.

krig9412
March 21st 2010



792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm new and this is my first review, so go easy on me.

To respond to Deviant1769-What sentence?

To DBlitz-That may have sounded a little too harsh, but in retrospect Gorguts wasn't exactly progressive in any sense, and they were largely overshadowed by their other death metal peers during their career like Suffocation.

krig9412
March 21st 2010



792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sorry about the triple post, my computer is lagging like crazy for some reason.

bloozclooz
March 21st 2010



1770 Comments


whoa. slow down on that submit button

Relinquished
March 21st 2010



24398 Comments


I actually listened to their other stuff, but I meant what Wiz said, they don't sound that much like Ulcerate, the influence is there I know that.

bloozclooz
March 21st 2010



1770 Comments


but yeah don't insult a band like gorguts and expect no backlash

Wizard
March 21st 2010



19207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To DBlitz-That may have sounded a little too harsh, but in retrospect Gorguts wasn't exactly progressive in any sense, and they were largely overshadowed by their other death metal peers during their career like Suffocation.

No.

DBlitz
March 21st 2010



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the influence is there I know that.

if you know that why did you say "Gorguts what? That's a bad comparison."
but in retrospect Gorguts wasn't exactly progressive in any sense, and they were largely overshadowed by their other death metal peers during their career like Suffocation.

i'm pretty sure obscura and from wisdom to hate were pushing boundaries and that suffocation were dead when those two were released.

Relinquished
March 21st 2010



24398 Comments


they don't sound that much like Ulcerate


that's why

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2010



30865 Comments


If the revelation that New Zealand could make anything else besides a really good rugby team surprises you


Get rid of that

Anthracks
March 21st 2010



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that's why


they aren't carbon copies but there certainly iz an audible similitude



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy