fun.
Aim and Ignite


4.5
superb

Review

by Steoandnoodles USER (10 Reviews)
March 19th, 2010 | 21 replies | 5,822 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aim And Ignite can easily be summed up as as dinner out with good friends. The anxiety and hopes that you are well dressed for the occasion, the lively conversation while you eat a well cooked meal and finally ending in gaping story telling...

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Since when has stupid happiness become so distraught, so unthinkable to the extent we shun anything that has a hint of pure, honest joy. I feel our issue with cheerful music lies in our lack to be cheerful back.

fun.'s debut album, Aim And Ignite is here to excite you. It wants you to bask in its happiness. Clearly the work of Nate Ruess, Andrew Dost and Jack Anatoff has been crafted through tender care and attention to detail all while remaining both personal, elegant and dashed with a dressing of 'you' into it.

Nate Ruess, who parted ways with his former band, The Format is back. Clearly he sat down to remove the shackles of his former band but realised how supportive they have been in the past, and thus birthed this 10 track epic.

"As I walk through the streets of my new city" -'Be Calm' The opening track orders you to, well, be calm while remaining in a basin of anxiety and nerves. Nate starts of the album in a brand new world/ or a city if I were to quote. Coated with productive violins and an eventual drum beat behind an overall, masterfull horn assembly, it sets a certain mood for Aim And Ignite, one which is soon depleated...and exchanged.

Roughly 1 minute into Benson Hedges and I soon found myself under a sudden realisation. One drenched in a bright spotlight sitting just beneath powerfull gospal vocals led by Nate under quiant/ very indie guitar accompanied by Andrew's piano. Aim And Ignite is like a shared epiphany. Lead singer, Nate Ruess shares his experiences in the most ironic way possible.
Being: His change in life, his difficult struggle for self approval expressed in the stupid happniess of fun.'s music.

"I'm not a profit but I'm here to profit, thats all" belowing out and wrapping itself around your ears, 'At Least I'm Not As Sad As I Used To Be' is a theatrical adventure that swirls (like most tracks on the album) in and out of numerous tempos.

Part of Aim And Ignite's brilliance comes from the diversity delivered through each track. It is easy to hear that each track is different in its own way. Almost a different genre infact.
'All The Pretty Girls' is like sweet, sweet candy while 'Barlights' is an up-beat jazz meal. Regardless, all of it is delivered in easily digestible slices of joy and pure, imaginitive music.

By the time you hit the sun-set of Take Your Time "I'm through with causing a scene!" screams Nate, forgetting the scene constructed in The Format's "First Single", you are swept gently into closure underneath breathing piano and a howling electrical guitar, brought to rest.

Aim And Ignite can easily be summed up as as dinner out with good friends. The anxiety and hopes that you are well dressed for the occasion, the lively conversation while you eat a well cooked meal and finally ending in gaping story telling, longing discussions of the past under an intimate candle light and a romantic band with their drifting violins, guitars, pianos. It is something of a dream; this elegant atmosphere fun. creates so effortlessly. It is a shame most won't get to experience it.



Recent reviews by this author
Juice Box The Good StainsFather John Misty Fear Fun
Sam Means NONAfun. Some Nights
Oh Land Oh LandThe Dodos No Color
user ratings (844)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2010



14991 Comments


cmon guys

Fugue
March 19th 2010



7352 Comments


fun. album

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2010



7323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

This is easily one of my favorite albums of 2009. The review is great. Pos'd.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Zeek
March 19th 2010



83 Comments


albumm sux

Wildcatforever
March 19th 2010



441 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

love this album, review captures the feel of the album well

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Sorry Zeek, I disagree. I can understand a clash in musical taste but I can't bring myself to agree that Aim And Ignite is a bad album.
It is well constructed, thought out, written all without an actual label.

TheSpirit
March 19th 2010



17205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good review, i was planning on doing one as well, but i doubt i will now considering there are so many

Digging: vhmnt / blsphm - vhmnt / blsphm

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Oh please do. I'd love to see what you come up with TheSpirit.
Why not? Go for it!

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2010



14991 Comments


"Sorry Zeek, I disagree. I can understand a clash in musical taste but I can't bring myself to agree that Aim And Ignite is a bad album."

wouldnt you 'not agree' with any opinion that is different from yours on an album? i mean, i dont get why you seem to hint at 'not agreeing' in -particular- to his opinion of this album. i would think that, in any situation where person a thinks album x is good and person b thinks it sucks, person a disagrees with person b. but whatever. maybe you're more saying that normally you can -see- why someone doesn't like an album but in this case you just don't.

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Well I'm not trying to come across as ignorant.
Please; don't get that impression.

However, I am confident that the album in question isn't bad. I can appreciate he dislikes it, it makes sence as not everyone can like the same thing but I completely disagree with it being a bad album, or 'sucks' in his case, not with the ammount of attention to detail and passion injected in each song.

It just seems so dismissive. Regardless, his opinion is his opinion haha. :D
So, agree to disagree is the easiest pursuit to obtain an end to such an argument.

Baphomet
March 19th 2010



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5/5 uh? Great album and good review, but the rating is a bit exagerated...

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Oh I'm well aware Baphomet.
It essentially, and admitedly comes from a taste of bias and nostalgia. Technically I would see it as somewhere between a 4.0 and 4.5 but from a personal vicarious, its a 5. :D

Baphomet
March 19th 2010



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah I get that. It's also amazing to me and it never gets old, but I still feel like they have to mature as a band. Who knows, perhaps their next album will be a 5 to me.

Zeek
March 19th 2010



83 Comments




Sorry Zeek, I disagree. I can understand a clash in musical taste but I can't bring myself to agree that Aim And Ignite is a bad album.
It is well constructed, thought out, written all without an actual label.



hey uhh i put a lot of thought and spent a lot of time making areally well constrcted album all without a label

it fuicking sucked yeha

so then i just did a loada spontaneous random shit that took me like half hour and boom best album i ever heard made by me

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Lol Zeek, you crazy. :P
They didn't do "A lot of random Sh*t".
Each song was well thought out under an age of influence and each song depicts a story of a chapter of the lead singers life. Whether being the break-up of The Format and the events transpired or his eventual and final/ falling in 'real' love.

The reason you hate the album so much is: you have no appreciation for it. You don't care about anyone invololved and see it as nothing more than the mechanics of the music (which are actually full of depth) but seem to lack the ability to see the 'life' behind it. There is a lot more to music than the music itself. It is the drive behind the writing that takes up at least 60 percent of it.

Though it is strange; I always imagined the music lovers' community to be more positive.

MusicinaBox
March 19th 2010



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i listen to this all the time.

good review, but you need to work on your transitions from topic to topic. itll give your review a better flow.

Steoandnoodles
March 19th 2010



2832 Comments


Well, any help is good help. :D
If you don't mind, would you be able to give me some tips in a message? I'm still trying to grasp a good flow of reviews rather then, as you said, jumping from topic to topic in an attempt to squeeze everything in.

Zeek
March 19th 2010



83 Comments


the drive behind the writing right i'm more interested in whether i enjoy it

Steoandnoodles
March 20th 2010



2832 Comments


3.5 is a completely fair score. I'd agree with that only knowing that I would imagine they could improve on Aim And Ignite...
Which leaves my score in a pickle. :P

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2010



7021 Comments


Album was a 5 but I dropped it down eventually.
Still the best of 2009 though.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy