Lone
Lemurian


4.5
superb

Review

by King Tchudi USER (4 Reviews)
March 17th, 2010 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There comes a time in every girls life, when she knows she's not a little girl anymore.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Matthew Cutler, you’re in for a pleasant surprise. Cutler has been producing in the independent electronic/hip hop scene since 2007. He was originally a member of a duo of similar genre called Kids In Tracksuits. When not working as Lone, Cutler can be found collaborating with Keaver And Brause in the group Kona Triangle.

Lemurian is an album full of instrumental tracks packed with luscious beats all topped off with stylistic ambient elements. The album starts off with ‘Koran Angel’, which subtly introduces the unique sound of Lone in an interlude form. As the album progresses, the sound of Lone becomes more clear and personal to the listener making it obvious that this isn’t your ordinary beat record. There's a certain personality that's carried along with this album and it's full of retro sound effects with space-like qualities that seem to mesh together perfectly. Cutler doesn’t stray too far with his track moods, which keeps a well-paced flow to the album. Many of the tracks contain similar qualities, such as reoccurring vibraphone synths, heavy reverberation, and offbeat drum samples. But this is not to suggest that Lone has a redundant sound by any means, he switches his effects up quite a bit offering a variety of reversed drumbeats, joyful synth pads and texturized atmospheres. It all offers an optimistic, almost ocean-like sound. Many fundamentals found in Lone's style; especially in Lemurian, have a similar organic feel reminiscent of artists such as Boards of Canada or Flying Lotus. Lemurian is a very relaxed album and has proven to be especially suitable for night listening, almost as if Cutler’s objective was to distract the listener from everyday stresses and to create an audible tranquility.

Much like space or a futuristic beach vacation, this record certainly evokes a surreal and pleasurable atmosphere. Often, I find myself coming back for a listen to re-visit its mellow and dream-like sentiment. Even nowadays where electronic music has continued to grow in popularity, Lemurian is guaranteed to offer a unique musical expression.


user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Kevin K (4.5)
Pure, unspoiled elation. Get it....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Prophet178
March 18th 2010


6397 Comments


Hmmm if its anything like the recommended albums I might have to check it out.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2010


15035 Comments


would just like to say that 'sea spray' rules. youtube that if youre considering listening to the album

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2010


31158 Comments


Yeah, Sea Spray is a great cut. Love the whole dub/minimal house vibe to it

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

MaskAtTheMasquerade
March 18th 2010


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'd definitely recommend it Prophet, it's an awesome album. almost enjoy it just as much as Lotus.

i've been listening to the Kona Triangle album that's out and it's a lot this but with a crazy twist. Also, his latest album
"Ecstasy and Friends" is really good too.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2010


31158 Comments


It's not as good as this, imo though

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2010


15035 Comments


http://chicago-lollie.com/personal/mp333/Lone/Lemurian/10-lone-sea_spray.mp3

SEA SPRAY IS THE ABSOLUTE SHIT

WashboardSuds
January 28th 2011


5007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review man, pos'd.
I just started checking out this guy, I started with Ecstasy and Friends and then Emerald Fantasy Tracks, both were great. Might check this out next.
Also, I thought this little description of yours summed up how I felt about his other records pretty well

Lemurian is a very relaxed album and is especially suitable for night listening, as if Cutler’s objective was to distract the listener from common worries and the grab them from the real world to "unwind" if you will.

its good stuff

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

Yotimi
January 29th 2011


6493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one's a lot different than those two, but still great stuff.

WashboardSuds
January 29th 2011


5007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it seems to be much shorter in song length, but I'm sure there's more differences I didn't notice yet. so far I like Sea Spray and I think Lens Flare Lagoon is a good song too

aok
September 13th 2011


4417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

was diggin this earlier today. good stuff yo

Digging: Aphex Twin - Syro

MaskAtTheMasquerade
March 22nd 2012


2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just touched this review up a little bit.

also, everyone should look out for his new release in May.

samples can be heard here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007A9J2AS/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0076NN96Q&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0G7YRNXJ7MBN50123M0M

foxxxyroxxx
April 18th 2012


496 Comments


listening to sea spray

liking sea spray

mindleviticus
June 17th 2012


8229 Comments


yawn... hate me if you want but this was undiggable

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

ashesofman
November 22nd 2012


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have to agree with mindleviticus. The album is nothing special in my opinion. It sounds like less cohesive BoC. It is alright and I am going to keep it on my iPod, but I wouldn't give it anything higher than a 3.5. I've given Music Has the Right to Children a 4.5, and this truly isn't on the same level.


WashboardSuds
November 22nd 2012


5007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"nothing special"

your spot in hell is pretty special

mindleviticus
November 22nd 2012


8229 Comments


ya nothing special at all

WashboardSuds
November 22nd 2012


5007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lens Flare Lagoon is very special

mindleviticus
November 22nd 2012


8229 Comments


sure but who wants to be chill when you could be ILL

WashboardSuds
November 22nd 2012


5007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this shit is ill yo

but seriously a 2.5 seems a tad unfair, I mean there are some really excellent cuts here that bring some seriously steamy jacuzzi vibes

Funeralopolis
March 9th 2013


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i could see this album being sweet to drive to

Digging: No Joy - Wait to Pleasure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy