Weezer
Maladroit


4.0
excellent

Review

by guitarnugget USER (5 Reviews)
September 13th, 2005 | 24 replies | 4,246 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Indeed, in certain years, Weezer has brought a smile to our faces by giving us some great albums and giving troubled teens another option instead of listening to crunching guitars and people screaming at you.

Weezer started out in 1992, in California as the geek punk band that no one knew. They were signed to DGC in 1993, and in 1994 released the great album Weezer (blue), which included some of their best and biggest hits (buddy holly, undone-the sweater song, say it ain't so,) and in 1996, their flop concept album Pinkerton telled many stories about love (accross the sea), and chinese women dying (butterfly). It wasn't taken seriously.

Then weezer called it quits. Teenagers everywhere were confused and were forced to listen to alternatives to the acoustic-electric rhythms of a once incredible band. 5 years later, weezer came back with the ultimatley successful tour supporting the Green Album. Alties were amazed, and with the success of the green album, weezer decided to quickly make a 4th album - maladroit, released in winter 2002.

Weezer: Rivers Cuomo-lead Vox, Guitars, songwriter
Brian Bell- lead Guitars, Vox
Scott Shriner - Bass, Vox
Pat Wilson - Drums

Track listings-

American gigolo- this song starts with a heavy drum and guitar beat, that stays strong throughout the song. the chorus relives the epic days of Pinkerton, with Cuomo lightly over distorted guitars and pounding drums. Definitley a highlight
4.5/5

Dope Nose - starts out with a poppy guitar, introducing Cuomo and the gang to a happy kind of breakup song, and shows Cuomo at his best singing. Another good track
4/5

Keep Fishin' - shows Wilson doing his great, simple drumbeat to a great sort of distorted chord progression thats not familiar to weezer, and gives the band a chance to be happier than usual, and adds a high note to Maladroit
4/5

Take Control- another good song, that starts out with another simple distorted guitar beat, and the band takes it to a repeptetive level. Good performance, though.
3.5/5

Death and Destruction - probably one of the most mellow songs on the cd, d&d revisits the blue album according to slow, beutiful melodies. The solo, which may be early, leaves little to be desired. Another star performance.
4.5/5

Slob - this song actually isn't bad, but the lyrics are pretty bad, even if the music is good, but the word slob comes up all the time like a whackamole.
3/5

Burndt Jamb - the bands first single, this acousticy song starts out with hints to the green album (island in the sun). The chorus is great, and filled with heavy notes that'll leave you wanting more.
4/5

Space Rock - this song starts out terrible. The vocals are terrible, the music even worse. But as you get into it, the chorus is some of the better work on this album.
2.5/5

Slave- Mediocre song, but the whole song comes together good, even if it's only ok. I find a bit of Pinkerton in the verse, and green in the chorus. Not bad, not good
2.5/5

Fall Together - The best song on the album. it starts out with a signature drumbeat from Wilson, followed by crunched guitars and bass, and the lyrics are great, with Cuomo singing about what? Relationships? Peace? who knows? who cares? the solo is great. The second single off the album.
5/5

Possibilites - Right after the best song comes the worst. It's all been done before, and i have trouble keeping my finger away from the skip button. Cuomo's voice just gets annoying.
2/5

Love Explosion - A good song, with nothing really happening. Just good lyrics and a simple beat makes a good tune worth 2 and a half minutes. Another highlight.
4/5

December - It starts out poppy, but gradualy drifts into a Pinkerton sort of song. It's beautiful, if not genius. My second favorite song off the album. The band does a great performance that only lasts 3 minutes. Another star perfomance by Cuomo. Hats Off!
5/5

Thats the album
It's the worst weezer album yet, but it's still worth spending half an hour to listen to it. Though not as beautiful as the Blue album, and not as lyrically complex as Pinkerton, it's still a great album, and i don't know why people tend to bash it.

This is my first review, so enjoy
GN


user ratings (873)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
yidnarc (4)
Although this isn't a great album and it keeps getting held back by its same sounding songs and lack...

MrZuckerberg (3.5)
Better than Green? Sure. Underrated? Absolutely....

Toby B. Noto (4)
...

Old Uncle Al (2.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Senor_Whippy
September 13th 2005



367 Comments


Ahh you gotta love Weezer

Med57
Moderator
September 13th 2005



1001 Comments


Pretty good review, although Weezer's back catalogue would be far more impressive if they'd never reformed. Maladroit would be their worst album if Make Believe had been anything other than a massive disappointment, sadly.

Aeaon
September 17th 2005



188 Comments


I actually like this album a lot. I don't see why people hate new Weezer so much.

George
October 22nd 2005



20 Comments


I agree. I love Dope Nose and Take Control. I love all Weezer equally.

Zebra
Moderator
October 22nd 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I like about two or three songs off this album and the rest are just meh. Weezer has really gone down hill.

Your review was poor because there was not enough info for a track by track.

Two-Headed Boy
October 29th 2005



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review sucks.This Message Edited On 12.22.06

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2005



15732 Comments


Bad review. My first was similar to this, and It got panned just like I'm panning yours right now. If you do T by T's, try to write a paragraph or so for each song.

pulseczar
November 6th 2005



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

or dont write T by T at all, thatd be much better. why hasn't anyone rereviewed this?

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2005



15732 Comments


I would, but I'm not getting any new Weezer if any of the albums sound like Make Believe.

Two-Headed Boy
December 14th 2005



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there we go hating new weezer. i mean, how are they so bad? Rivers is a great songwriter, and even if weezer's new stuff is totally different from their old, i like to think of it as a step forward.

masada
December 14th 2005



2733 Comments


A step forward into a pile of rotten dog shit.

Zebra
Moderator
December 14th 2005



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think that Maladroit is Weezers worst album. After the first three tracks there is nothing to like, the second half is extremely painful.

guitarplayer101
January 19th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think this is my favorite weezer albumn yet i like that it is more rock but i still like the other albums too
guitarplayer101 (aka Joe) (aka Stalin)

Mirror.Circuit
January 25th 2006



223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dunno why people bash this album so much.
it's actually quite good.

Two-Headed Boy
February 15th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what it means, but that's definitley not it.
Read my review it does it justice.This Message Edited On 02.15.06

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2006



15732 Comments


Butterfly, If you knew anything about Pinkerton, is about the suicide of the "character" killing herself at the end due to the fact her love will never return. It's based on Madame Butterfly. That's what it is.

usaidol
February 16th 2006



12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album is vastly underrated.To compare it with the hat trick of the previous 3 albums is going to be somewhat disappointed.Surpisingly for their longest album,there is hardly any so called filler on it.

The best song on the album is burnt jam,lyrically its tossed off and goofy,but the riff totally rips off George Bensons song "breezin'".Actually most of these songs have bad lyrics,but the music swings

The band probably had contractual obligation to release this immediately after the green album.Other than that it compiments well with that last one,since it has the feel of a cd of b-sides,the difference is that tons of bands at the time couldn't conjure up hooks like this and weezer wasn't even trying that hard.Although if they tried harder this would have been classic.


MyRamona
March 31st 2006



1074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Butterfly is about when Pinkerton ( a character from the book madam butterfly) leaves home and leaves his wife ( madam butterfly) with their son at home. Pinkerton returns much later with a new love, and Madam Butterfly kills herself. The song is Pinkertons apologetic letter. Nice review I agree with most of the things you say. Oh and to Zebra, I bet it will grow on you like it grew on me. Trust me, the second half of the album is awesome if you get in the right frame of mind.This Message Edited On 04.10.06

Two-Headed Boy
June 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there we go hating new weezer. i mean, how are they so bad? Rivers is a great songwriter, and even if weezer's new stuff is totally different from their old, i like to think of it as a step forward.

Anyone else care to comment on my idiocy?

La Revolucion
June 24th 2006



1060 Comments


I believe Eliminator already did.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy