Scum of the Earth
Blah, Blah, Blah, Love Songs for the New Millenium


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
March 12th, 2010 | 21 replies | 6,838 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


Rob Zombie has had some real lows in his musical career after his solo project's main guitarist Riggs left. This again goes to show that the ones worthy of credit do not always receive it. Riggs has continued his musical path with his own band, Scum of The Earth, which sounds exactly like Rob Zombie’s solo career should’ve. Matching chunky groove metal riffs with that campy atmosphere and tongue-in-cheek lyrics, Riggs has proven he can outmatch the man he worked for six years in every aspect. Scum of The Earth’s lyrics are sillier, riffs more memorable, vocals gruffer, and the all-around package is brought to you in a much more cohesive and structured way than Rob Zombie or any similar industrial/groove metal fusion acts ever have.

What makes bad kids bad; what makes them do the things they do? Booze, babes and bad guys

And so Blah...Blah...Blah...Love Songs for the New Millennium has kicked off. What follows is a great collection of lovable, campy, industrialized groove metal songs. Although based on blarring power chords and simple chunky riffs, Riggs has a knack for making it all work – sounds like adding a hook on the face of a gripping guitarline or a vocal exercise is in the man's blood. This excelling is only further solidified by a strong rhythm section that gives a very strong backbone to the songs, even though the bass is rather buried in the mix most of the time. The majority of the songs are very lively and usually clocking around three and a half minutes, they haven’t got the time to get boring.

A key component to Scum of The Earth’s sound is the chill factor. Most of Scum’s songs are laid-back and tongue-in-cheek; with a slight southern feel to them, they are superb for relaxing to. With John Tempesta behind the kit providing smooth and soft drum patterns, and his brother Mike belting out fun guitarlines (which are probably the best of his career, despite being simple) over which Riggs provides his balanced gruff vocals, Scum of The Earth works like a well-oiled tractor. Never too hasty, yet plowing forward in a solid uptempo mode.


Blah...Blah...Blah...Love Songs for the New Millennium is what Rob Zombie should've sounded like when he turned solo (The Sinister Urge is a great album though, thanks for that Rob). Instead we now have Scum of The Earth – a band so slow to produce a follow up to their sophomore effort Sleaze Freak it’s not even funny. Still, Riggs’ own band is better than Rob Zombie has ever been during the whole time he's been a solo artist, and in addition to that, Scum of The Earth is also more metal-sounding (Riggs pours bovine blood on himself from his guitar during live concerts and then spits some of it into/onto the crowd – you can’t get much cooler than that). So what is there left to say? Hail Riggs, for he is who finally brought something worthy to the barren table of post-White Zombie industrilized heavy metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluveitie OriginsMiXE1 Starlit Skin
Doom:VS EarthlessNocturnal Breed Napalm Nights
Thyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the NorthIskald Nedom Og Nord
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Alex Beebe (3)
Though lacking an individual sound of their own, Scum of the Earth’s debut proves that Rob Zombie ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

to keep the nice writing groove in me

EDIT: real album title is too long to fit into the album name box haha

SCREAM!
March 12th 2010


10076 Comments


Very nice review. I agree this sounds more inspired than your last one.
Just a few little msitakes i spotted:

is brought to you in a much more cohensive and structured way
Should be cohesive
Majority of the songs are very lively
The majority....
Most of Scum’s songs are laid-back, tongue-in-cheek and with a slight southern feel to them, are superb for relaxing out to.
This should be divided into two sentences

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll fix the first two. I don't want to break up the third one though, so imma just re-word it a bit.

bloozclooz
March 12th 2010


1770 Comments


what a terrible name for an album/band

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I myself do not give two shits about a band's/album's name as long as the music itself is good.

ThePalestMexican
March 12th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

True dat Metalstyles, used to love me some Pornstarchampion back in the day, but I think their newer album is better. Just an opinion though.

Awesome review nonetheless.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man although I prefer this over Sleaze Freak. That one is good too though.

ThePalestMexican
March 12th 2010


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, Scum of the Earth is more consistent in my opinion then Rob Zombie, but it's hard to tell after only 2 albums.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Riggs was the main reason Zombie's first two solo albums were so sweet

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Riggs > Rob to be honest

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just don't know what the fuck Rob was thinking with his two latest albums. Hellbilly Deluxe two is mediocre at best and Educated Horses was utter shit

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty much the truth (although I found HD2 to be mediocre on an ok level)

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The only thing that kind of annoys me about Scum of the Earth is the same problem I have with BLS: the feeling that they are just tribute bands of their former frontmen with new songs in the same vein. I don't know if that made much sense to you but it did when it was in my head

Phantom
March 12th 2010


8930 Comments


Surely it should either be chilling out OR relaxing to. You've kinda combined both. Maybe you should just change it to chillaxing (you shouldn't).


Nice review man.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good catch, will change to "relaxing to"

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Did what I said make any sense to you? I feel like I tried to describe my thoughts in the absolutely worst way

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it made sense, but I just don't agree with you on Scum's part ;)

I find that Riggs is doing stuff he loves and now that he's the leader of a band, he has more freedom to decide and more options to compose an album he himself can be fully satisfied with, and hence the main point why I find Scum of The Earth great. He was always limited when he was collaborating with Zombie, and Scum of The Earth is his own way, his own view on a genre he obviously loves. The music is similar to Zombie's, but it's better, more relaxed, and definitely more free. Also, at least imo, it's also gimmick-free, as he isn't just completely rehashing the same old ideas - he's giving his own twist to them.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2010


7996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hopefully he keeps it up, the third album better be good. BLS has always felt like an Ozzy cover band, but when Zakk Wylde did Pride & Glory he made an awesome album that was his own. Thats what I feel Scum does.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Exactly. I also hope Riggs keeps this up. I'm already waiting for him & co to drop a third album.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2010


16387 Comments


Yeah I definitely wouldn't like this. Don't like Zombie's music so considering his old guitarist is in this band and they sound a lot like White Zombie/Rob Zombie I won't check this out.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy