Tiger Army
II: Power of Moonlite


4.5
superb

Review

by superpeer USER (22 Reviews)
September 12th, 2005 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


Tiger army's Power of Moonlite. Their second album and the peek of their creativity. It perfects the songwriting of their debut but keeps the sound.

Nick 13 is the only consistent element in Tiger Army's various line ups. He's also the creative leader and writes all the songs. This trio makes punk, mixed with psychobilly and rock 'n roll and their sound is extremely Romantic (Note the capital 'r').

The atmosphere on this album is very dark. Starting off with powerful, fast drumming and Nick 13's eery guitar soon joining in. This is a perfect blueprint of what the album will be, melancholic parts, as a tribute to loss and pain, brought forth by Nick 13's spooky vocals and lyrics and howling guitar. This in contrast to the powerful parts, with strong drumming, decided yet despairing singing and yelling, all supported by Geoff Kresge's stand up bass. The whole thing has a very nightlike atmosphere to it, the guitar echoes throughout the album and tremelo effects are not frowned upon. The music complements the the themes of night, darkness, love and horror perfectly.

Not only is the atmosphere highly enjoyable, the songwriting is of high quality as well. The songs consist of many parts and don't conform to pop structures as often as one would expect. Every song is enjoyable, such as the western sounding balled 'In the Orchard', showing a very soft and dramatic side of Tiger Army, and beautiful soft vocals by 13. The raging 'Towards Destiny' and even the seemingly out of place track 'F.T.W..

The album enjoys an excellent production and feature appearances from Hellcat friends Lars Frederiksen, Matt Freeman, Davey Havok and others. In short this a gem in punk music and that's something that seems less and less obvious in the last decade. A must have for the Romantic souls amongst us.



Recent reviews by this author
Therion TheliTherapy? Semi-Detached
Darkthrone Soulside JourneySoulfly Primitive
Therapy? One Cure Fits AllOld Man's Child In Defiance of Existence
user ratings (107)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Rudd13 (4)
...

Nick13's The Best!!! (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
September 12th 2005


13161 Comments


This was a bad and pointless reveiw compared to the other reveiw.

superpeer
September 12th 2005


257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What makes you say that? Because it doesn't have the pointless track per track? :rolleyes:

Storm In A Teacup
September 12th 2005


13161 Comments


No, you didn't tell enough info. about the album that would tell me if this is something I would enjoy or not and it would be better to go by the other reveiw.

I've written a reveiw that doesn't go track by track (not really good though) and there are plenty of non-track by trackers that are good and informative including some of yours.

superpeer
September 12th 2005


257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What more do you need?...


I like reviews to be to the point. I don't like Track by Track anymore because they're pointless if you don't know the songs.This Message Edited On 09.12.05

Zebra
Moderator
September 12th 2005


2647 Comments


Good review, it was short and to the point. I'm not much of a Tiger Army fan though.

superpeer
September 13th 2005


257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But the music is dark, Grateful Spat. That's the main thing to it, so I talked about it. :p


Holland's right as well, sputnik has a weird standard of reviews, a lot of sites have short reviews. This Message Edited On 09.13.05This Message Edited On 09.13.05

superpeer
September 13th 2005


257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no?


Don't you mean 'yes'? :upset:

vocman
September 13th 2005


6 Comments


good review. I like the shorter ones, because most of the time I don't feel like reading 3 pages of text. go Jelle ;)

Zappa
December 22nd 2005


355 Comments


Romantic?

Chucho
March 10th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For the record, pyschobilly is a genre which merges punk and rockabilly(a.k.a. rock 'n roll). So with your statement that Tiger Army uses a mixture of punk, pyschobilly,and rock 'n roll, is in your part, plain ignorance.I'm just glad "In the Orchard" was identified correctly.





DFelon204409
Emeritus
December 13th 2007


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is it me or is "Incorporeal" just the best song they've ever done. "Annabel Lee" and "The Power of Moonlite" are good too but "Incorporeal" is just so good. It comes from the vocals too. Nick is better at being more melodic.

ReflectedChaos
June 19th 2008


19 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love everything that Tiger Army have produced, and I must say that this is most probably my favourite album by them. I agree with 'Spat Out Sexy Men' they are incredible live, their energy is electric. For me, their music is flawless. "Incorporeal" - "Cupids Victim" - "Power Of Moonlite" and "F.T.W" Are definite favourites!

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 14th 2012


5255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking love this goddamn record

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

EaglesBecomeVultures
May 30th 2013


5255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BUMP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy