Have a Nice Life
Time of Land


3.0
good

Review

by Adam Downer STAFF
March 9th, 2010 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deathconsciousness cliff notes

So, how much did you like Deathconsciousness?

This is pretty much the essential question going into Time of Land. I mean, it’s not like you’re going to listen to it if you haven’t already listened to Deathconsciousness (and if you were thinking about pulling that bullshit, you can just stop it right now), and Time of Land more or less captures the essence of Deathconsciousness without the stand back holy fuck moments that made that album a vital discovery in 2008.

So, how much did you like Deathconsciousness?

Did you not mind the extensive ambient exercises that repeatedly sedated an already sedate album? Because those are here on Time of Land. Or that one drum beat, the one where the bass hits sound like grinding gears in a machine and the snare hits the exhaust pipe? Because those are here too. If these aspects of Deathconsciousness didn’t appeal to you, turn back now, because on a surface level, Have A Nice Life’s aesthetic isn’t really all that drastically altered here; in fact it’s very much intact. The slow burning, reverb drenched loneliness that defines Deathconsciousness also defines Time of Land. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Also carried over from Deathconsciousness is a great sense of unity, a feeling that these four songs are meant to go together to create something greater than their parts, though it’s hard to see if that’s anything but a Deathconsciousness cliff notes. Still musically ambitious, Have a Nice Life make Time of Land a sprawling teaser of their identity, covering in about 20 minutes everything that Deathconsciousness covered in about an hour and a half.

Being so conceptually and sonically linked to Deathconsciousness puts Time of Land inescapably centered its predecessor’s massive shadow, thus its impact upon you the listener is directly linked to how you felt about what Have a Nice Life did on Deathconsciousness. It’s a simple critique, but an unavoidable one. I mean, how can you not recall “Hunter” while submersing yourself in the mire of “Wizard of the Black Hundreds” or hear that groggy bass in “Woe Untos Us” and not think of “Waiting for Black Metal Records to Come in the Mail?” Those apathetic, reverb drenched vocals again appear to soak the EP in despair, still airily playing off one another to create dissonances and gorgeous harmonies as if by accident, and those droning bass lines and teasingly post rock chord changes are as droning and teasingly post rock as ever. This isn’t a forward movement, or necessarily a lateral one for Have a Nice Life, but rather an entire lack of movement in any direction whatsoever. They’re standing still, content to settle in the aesthetic they created for Deathconsciousness, which is wonderful for their fans, but will do little to win over any skeptics.

So, how much did you like Deathconsciousness?



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Slang Cheap Thrills On A Dead End StreetThe Men Tomorrow's Hits
Macintosh Plus FLORAL SHOPPEThe Dismemberment Plan Uncanney Valley
Justin Timberlake The 20/20 ExperienceThe Men New Moon
user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

shit EC it's like you're not even trying

Prophet178
March 9th 2010


6397 Comments


Not very much.
Not very much.
Not very much.

Won't listen.

SeaAnemone
March 9th 2010


20941 Comments


I wanted to like it.
Not much really.
What Prophet said.

Won't listen (mostly because the art on this isn't as cool).

Digging: Viet Cong - Viet Cong

robin
Emeritus
March 9th 2010


4261 Comments


about as much as you like rhetorical questions and repitition

BallsToTheWall
March 9th 2010


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

EyesWideShut
March 9th 2010


3208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Deathconsciousness is a classic to me and this just seemed like pointless b-sides of that album. Voids are all left overs but they were great, this is nothing more than average.

still cant wait for that new album though..

iarescientists
March 9th 2010


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ugh

you're reviewing this like there was supposed to be some huge progression when it's just a compilation of b-sides

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's not they said it's something they "kind of fell into" when they were recording their next full length so it's not b-sides, just an ep they put together.

iarescientists
March 9th 2010


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

see definition of "b-side":

# a song not considered good enough for the album
# a song that was stylistically unsuitable for the album

qwe3
March 9th 2010


21369 Comments


[img]http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_u-8jsnr-IjE/SbbkoehtZkI/AAAAAAAACzw/J8UDXGq-yAs/s400/do_want.jpg[/img]


although i don't have very high hopes for this.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


15080 Comments


negged the shit outta this one

EyesWideShut
March 9th 2010


3208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope that new album has some progression. I liked those samples on Voids so I hope thats something to look foward to.

qwe3
March 9th 2010


21369 Comments


eyeswideshut talk about the review jesus it's only the first page stop spamming


Actually, if there's heaps and heaps of ambiance maybe I won't even bother. I didn't like a few of their more ambient tracks on deathconsciousness so...hm.

edit: awesome

iarescientists
March 9th 2010


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ambiance? more like ambivalence

iarescientists
March 9th 2010


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[img]http://www.sportsbusinessdaily.com/content/Image/04-09-2009/Jack-Edwards.jpg[/img]

NortherlyNanook
March 9th 2010


1285 Comments


this is pretty good though i'd maybe say 3.5

Cesar
March 9th 2010


2732 Comments


First album was very good, but I really want to see progression from this band. They have the ability and the potential to be really great. Hope they don't blow it.

Odal
March 9th 2010


350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Icon and the Axe is one of the best songs they've done. People expected too much from this, EP is actually pretty good. But then again...I LOVED Deathconsciousness ;)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


17945 Comments


this review is like something i would do only not as good, like the first question shouldn't have "So" at the beginning, and the last one shouldn't be there at all

you'll get there downer

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2010


15080 Comments


edit: just realized that this is pretty similar to what you said, though i do think the last one fits pretty fine.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy