Unsane
Unsane


4.5
superb

Review

by David Foster Wallace USER (72 Reviews)
March 7th, 2010 | 18 replies | 10,492 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An outstanding debut from the masters of noise

1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Unsane are a harsh, violent, noise rock band fron the deepest pits of the lower east side of New York. They formed in 1988 under the oniker of lawn chair blisters before changing their name and they put out a few singles. This however was their first focused full length album.

unsane at this point consisted of

Chris Spencer-vocals/guitar
Pete Shore-bass
Charlie ondras(R.I.P)-drums


The music was loud and violent. Unsane covered their records in amounts of distortion. the vocals consist of loud angry shouts with not very clear lyrics yet some of them can be heard. Oh yeah, the lyrics normally consist of depressing and/or violent themes. For instance, on the song Vandal-x chris yells with all his might
"shut up, f**k you, im just a piece of s**t like you"

The guitar playing is interesting because chris plays a blues rock-hardcore punk hybrid style that, while covered in layers of distortion, is still audible and some improvised bluesy solos can be found as well as catchy punk riffs. The odd thing is, is that Spencer plays it all on a fender telecaster which is normally meant for country music. You can even detect hints of twang in there. One riff i found to be really solid is the blues explosion-esque riff in "Action Man".

The bass, done by Pete Shore, is very loud and rhythmic. It acts kind of like a second guitar and it only provides to make the music heavier. He keeps a well thought groove that compliments the guitars nicely.
Now Charlie Ondras is one of the most insane noise rock drummers out there. He plays a very tribal style reminiscent of sepultura circa chaos A.D.-era. His playing is so hard-hitting yet aggressive but he manages to keep his place and provide the perfect drum rhythms.

My only problem with the album is the very bland song "white hand". I dislike this single song because it drags on and goes nowhere. Thankfully it's the last track on the album and you get all the good stuff beforehand. This album as a whole is worth the listening experience for anyone interested in hearing an awesome, underrated band or if they just want to check out the nyc noise scene. The songs are good, hard and catchy and everything is in place.

Favorite tracks:

Action Man
Vandal-x
Hll
Slag

Bad Tracks:

white hand



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionBody Count Manslaughter
The Black Keys Turn BlueBosnian Rainbows Bosnian Rainbows
Tyler Brown The HollowsLone Ninja Rogue Agent
user ratings (49)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Urinetrouble
March 8th 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im hoping my review was good. no one has reviewed an unsane album so im tackling some of the discography

Urinetrouble
March 8th 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

waddya think of the review anyone?

DeleriumTrigger
March 8th 2010



416 Comments


You should edit your second comment, don't post 2 in a row like that, it looks terrible. Also:

Make sure to capitalize proper nouns (nyc,chris,ect)

Italicizing lyrics looks way better than what you did.
Italicizing = [i]whatever you want to italicize[/i
and then put an end bracket on the end of the i.

Hold on I'll have the review master explain the rest lol.

TheEnforcer
March 8th 2010



270 Comments


All in all though I did like your review as a shorter one anyway, not all reviews have to be super descriptive but beefing up your paragraphs won't hurt at all.

"Bad Tracks:" - I really like that idea actually and haven't seen it done before.

Also it doesn't hurt to look at a more experienced users review and mimic some of what they do, it's not cheating it's just how you get good. I probably wrote 10 bad reviews before I got a good flow going.

All in all though this is a decent review but take extra time on the next ones listen to peoples advice and you'll get loads better trust me. I'll give you a pos but only off one of my alts, I don't wanna make you feel too good lol.

Wizard
March 8th 2010



19344 Comments


covered their records in ________ amounts of distortion.

What kind of amount?

thought groove that compliments the guitars nicely.
Now Charlie Ondras is one of the most insane noise rock drummers out there. He


Is there a paragraph that starts after "nicely"? If so, add a space.

reminiscent of sepultura circa chaos A.D

Capitalization needs to be done here.

im hoping my review was good. no one has reviewed an unsane album so im tackling some of the discography

Well, I will give you props for reviewing an underrated band but the review needs some serious work. Firstly, I think a lot of people will agree that the personalized statements scattered throughout really don't help your argument as to why this this is good or not. It's an unintelligent way of making a correlation in my eyes. My advice, go read a few staff or contributor reviews to get the jist of things and put your own creative spin on the review.



Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

IGotShotInTheFace
March 8th 2010



444 Comments


Yeah, I negged (sorry!) due to bad grammer etc etc. Commas needed here and there, punctuation etc etc.

porch
March 8th 2010



8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

negged him for his bad grammar even though you can't spell grammar

album rules

IGotShotInTheFace
March 8th 2010



444 Comments


You negged him for his bad grammar even though you can't spell grammar


Hm, never noticed that i can't spell grammer. Oh shit, I've done it again. And yeah, congrats for aknowleging... (MrPorchular, sort out my spelling) this band. =)

porch
March 8th 2010



8453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

we cool

IGotShotInTheFace
March 8th 2010



444 Comments


Awesome. Btw, check out Blended Puppies

They're streaming they're EP on their Myspace, it's like 2 minutes long, so check it out.

Urinetrouble
March 8th 2010



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i ll fix it when im not at work

DeleriumTrigger
March 8th 2010



416 Comments


You're damn right you will. Do you realize how insanely hard it is to find a job anymore!?! It took me 3 months! Don't mess it up, don't post while at work broseph.

liledman
March 28th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

surprised at the lack of votes, this rules.

Urinetrouble
March 28th 2011



5760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed. then again, im the one who reviewed this lol.

KILL
June 12th 2011



71566 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is good

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

BigBlob
February 7th 2012



1638 Comments


What the hell is with the album artwork?

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 10th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is really awesome

DreamingWithTheDead
July 23rd 2013



207 Comments


Is the album artwork real?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy