St. Vincent
Marry Me


3.5
great

Review

by Leslie W USER (4 Reviews)
March 7th, 2010 | 10 replies | 2,926 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'm on your side when nobody is, cause nobody is. Come sit right here and sleep while I slip poison in your ear

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Oh, our little St. Vincent. With an innocent, frazzled look on the cover of Marry Me, she appears to be so sweet. Doe-eyed and vulnerable, yet so charming, how could you resist her? But then again….under every cover is a secret. With St. Vincent, or truly known as Annie Clark, she holds a bit more of a sinister side. But then again, who ever said catchy, likable songs had to be all sugar, spice, and everything nice? Marry Me, especially looking back from where she’s at now, with a sophomore album already, was a fantastic debut. No questions should be asked.

Instantly, she takes a stand against someone, singing “I'm not your mother's favorite dog/
I'm not the carpet you walk on”. Through this opening track, “Now, Now”, St. Vincent starts all sweet and innocently, working her way to frenzied guitar riffs and panic, ending with a bang. It’s back to sweet again though, with “Jesus Saves, I Spend”, with a choir in the background cheerily going “ba-ba-bum, ba-ba-bum”. At the same time, St. Vincent’s voice shows a hint of corruptness. It’s as if the background singers were trying to keep things optimistic, while she’s letting us enjoy her oh-so rebellious nature.

She takes over the choir, as if it were a battle between the brains with songs such as “Your Lips Are Red” with sinister, evil words such as “This cities black from all the ashes in downtown/Ashes in downtown, ashes in downtown”, then following up with songs such as “Marry Me”, that’s a bittersweet, slightly obsessive love song.

The real magnum opus and brilliant show of Clark’s seething with evil side is “Paris is Burning”. You see the streets of Paris burning, with ash thrown into the air. You feel the panic as the citizens flee, while the destroyers throw themselves into a waltz, dancing in joy. With a variety of instruments, St. Vincent is able to convey this feeling of joy of the destroyers (with dread on the part of the citizens as well) very well. She destroys the nice side, letting evil wreak havoc in the streets unadulterated. And what a feeling it is.

Her good side returns though, and with vengeance to kill the bad. Between the elegant, classy “All My Stars Are Aligned”, as well as “We Put A Pearl In The Ground”, with the hectic, yet contained (and brilliant with its chorus) “Apocalypse Song”, each shows the best of St. Vincent, be it evil or saintly.

But then the two sides really start to merge, with it being good at times (“Landmines”), and sub-par at times (with lyrics such as “Little lamb, what's your plan? Greener pastures in the sky?” Just….no, Annie, no.)

By the end, St. Vincent has created a wonderfully enjoyable album, letting us enjoy our both of our sides, evil and kind, being appeased. She uses both sides of herself to her advantage, and she knows this, as she says this at the end of the album.


"Have I fooled you, dear?
The time is coming near when I'll give you my hand and I'll say,
"It's been grand, but... I'm out of here
I'm out of here"”


user ratings (236)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Benjamin Altomari (3.5)
St. Vincent's Marry Me is a beautiful, surprising album that employs unending subtlety and sincerity...

Lewis P. STAFF (4)
Spree as a bird....


Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2010



2809 Comments


pretty good review but it just sort of ends, ya know? a good closing paragraph to sum up the review is always nice.

but other wise this does seem like something worth checking out

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2010



14983 Comments


if i wanted to post/write the most generic st. vincent review ever it'd be a little something like this. no offense, it's generally well-written and i'm sure youll be a good addition to the site, but damn dude, have you ever NOT read a st. vincent review that starts with "she has a sweet/innocent appearance" (usually referencing the cover of the album being reviewed). and then the part about innocent vs. darker undertones...ya. i mean it's not necessarily your fault but every review i have read of this or actor basically speaks the same thing you wrote.

still, it's good enough.


great album.

robin
Emeritus
March 7th 2010



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

um, it's his 2nd review and i don't reall get what is wrong with him having a shared opinion on st vincent. it's not even that dull.

i still love st. vincent for no real reason.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2010



14983 Comments


i dont care about it being his second review


but it's not that his opinion is shared as much his layout and approach to those ideas just feel like the one ive seen over and over

i been im not trying to diss but perhaps if it branched out or something it would be more interesting

robin
Emeritus
March 7th 2010



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

obviously the review is sort of incomplete in the eyes of this site, which is why im mentionign it being a 2nd review. but seriously, your critisism above doesnt really suggest you want him/her to branch out since it's basically just really abrasive with some accounted for niceness thrown in at the end. i like the ideas thrown around and if you dig deeper there are obvious signs of attempting to execute the dark vs. innocent thing more than most st vicnent reviews (where it's an afterthought or a useful aside, if you actually read a couple) since essentially that is what the review drives home.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2010



14983 Comments


"but seriously, your critisism above doesnt really suggest you want him/her to branch out since it's basically just really abrasive with some accounted for niceness thrown in at the end."

what are you talking about here is my criticism: 'this feels like every st. vincent review because usually it's 1. st vincent is sweet/innocent take a look at the cover of insert album 2. she also has a dark side 3. here are lyrics to prove' i mean im not saying ALL st vincent reviews have this or this is ALL this review has or whatever im just saying it feels like ive seen it before. the branching out would be, say, taking a different approach or something. i mean not every review has to be the most Original Piece of Art Ever Created but i just lost interest because i saw what was coming. idk how my criticism being 'abrasive' made it that i didnt want him to branch out or whatever it was you said

i mean i aint tryin to hate and i see now that i was a little harsh but ya

robin
Emeritus
March 7th 2010



4241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i get what you mean but why would 'branching out' be taking a different approach and ignoring what you think of the album? surely just execution is important.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2010



14983 Comments


ok maybe it's hard to tell for me whether it's just the dude 'thinks unoriginal thoughts' (not really but you know what i mean) and thats unfixable or that he can just put his thoughts in words that are more 'original'/appeal to me more (lol) haha ok this message makes no snese

basiaclly i just felt like i had read it before and whether thats a result of what he thinks of the album or how he says it idk but ya

Sejine
March 7th 2010



62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To be honest, I will say this isn't me at the top of my game. I do find my Bitte Orca review to be a bit better (even though it's way shorter. Guess I should stick to shorter reviews). This album was a bit of an interesting one to write about, and sometimes I do get stuck in a bit of a corner. I'd suppose there's always good with bad. What can I say, I'm not the best review starter! LOL.

And speaking about the good vs. evil thing, that's the main impression I got from this album, like she was showing both sides of herself.

BTW, I'm still in love with "Paris is Burning". CATCHY AS HELL. :D

RobotFrank
March 7th 2010



344 Comments


I like the ending. Don't do short reviews because you think your shorter was better - you'll only limit yourself if you do that. The more you write, the better you'll be. Just keep at it, you're doing fine.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy