Sleep
Dopesmoker


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
February 28th, 2010 | 304 replies | 31,775 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Follow the smoke toward the riff-filled land

It would be a safe assumption to say that for most of the music listening populous Sleep's opus, Dopesmoker, would be the musical equivalent of undergoing trephination while overdosing on Ambien, but for those with an open mind and a spliff it is nothing short of nirvana. Originally recorded in 1995 and released as an unauthorized and bastardized bootleg entitled Jerusalem in 1999, Dopesmoker finally saw the light of day in its true form in 2003. It's not hard to understand why the album was shelved. Being a single song and clocking in at 63 minutes long, this unholy ode to god, weed, and more weed is daunting. Not only that, but the behemoth track can appear to be static in its construction. Built around the slow, churning, low end from current Om masterminds Al Cisneros and Chris Hakius and the droning, near stagnant riffs of Matt Pike, now the creative force behind High on Fire, Dopesmoker moves like molasses at twenty below. Ironically, Dopesmoker's greatest assets are the very things that make in so inaccessible. The ebb and flow from disparaging and vacant lead guitar work to thunderous crunch is akin to some forbidden, ancient holy mantra, leaving the listener lost in the supernatural, only to be violently thrust back into the here and now. This macabre ceremony is beautifully orchestrated by Cisneros' captivating vocals, whose long drawn out howls are downright shamanic.

For many heavy music fans, the members of Sleep are better known for their musical exploits in High On Fire and Om, but what they produced on Dopesmoker can never be matched. Perfecting what Black Sabbath first hinted at decades ago, Dopesmoker is the crowning achievement of the Stoner Metal movement.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (519)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Nexion (5)
...

Anthony Hoch (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice soundoff. Nobody gives a shit about Sonic Titan.

combustion07
February 28th 2010



5328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, straight to the point. I love this album.

charles2000
February 28th 2010



450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i give shit

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

everyone who is digging the new High On Fire (or any High on Fire for that matter) should spend some quality time with this.

charles2000
February 28th 2010



450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that's a silly statement

Relinquished
February 28th 2010



24375 Comments


good album... when I'm high

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 28th 2010



4938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just cant get into this. ive tried so many times.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

shhhhh! I'm just trying to get more people to listen to this. They don't know that this really doesnt sound that similar.

charles2000
February 28th 2010



450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

matt pike

Relinquished
February 28th 2010



24375 Comments


pork rinds

gonna try to listen to this in one sitting without falling asleep

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

a bong und a blintz

charles2000
February 28th 2010



450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just got nostalgic

Blindsided
March 1st 2010



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am quite weary of trying this out but I will just because of this review.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If you want a crash course in Stoner Metal you should get this and Electric Wizard's Dopethrone. the latter is a lot more accessible (look up the song Funeralopolis)

charles2000
March 1st 2010



450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yuck

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2010



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I didn't like this at all upon first listen. I won't rate it yet though because I'm sure I'm missing something...

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

hastapura
March 1st 2010



56 Comments


Nicely concise - but shouldn't that totally eliminate even the possibility of typos?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 1st 2010



17195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You'd think, but I'm really tired and didn't proofread so whatever errors you find I apologize and
I'll try to fix them tomorrow when I'm not being kept awake by a mixture of caffeine and
spite.

jingledeath
March 1st 2010



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i heart this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy