Circa Survive
On Letting Go


2.0
poor

Review

by TheWayfarerElectric USER (7 Reviews)
February 25th, 2010 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Circa Survive show as much disparity from one album to the next as The Real World does with seasons.

After garnering much praise for their debut LP, Juturna, Circa Survive made quite the name for themselves in the progressive-tinged indie scene. However, many claimed that the amount of praise that had been handed over to the new Anthony Green and Co. on a silver platter was unjust. Several people pointed out the band's habit to meander; others critiqued the tedious and superficial aspects of the band. Some even said that the progressive element to Juturna's sound was sheer. Despite this, Circa Survive decide to rehash the most impotent elements from their less-than-desirable debut and exemplify it. To add insult to injury, Circa Survive neglected the most memorable and original segments from Juturna when constructing their unnecessary carbon-copy. In short, Circa Survive show as much disparity from one album to the next as The Real World does with seasons.

This rings true with the vocal stylings of Green. Rather than expand his vocal range, Green takes the route of safety into the land of mediocrity. Green alternates between an angelic croon and a similar vocal style that has a “vengeful” aftertaste. Therefore, he is as utterly predictable as the trite lyrical stylings this album has to offer. Instead of taking the tasteful route of introspect via present conviction, Circa Survive decide to pin themselves down as another band with a bleeding heart. Disappointment is guaranteed when discovering such pretentious, cliché lyrics as,

“If blood is thicker than water,
Then you’ll drown quicker than we intended;
And you’ll know where you can find us in the end
So we can begin again.”

Unfortunately, the musicians do very little to improve the listener's conceptions about the band. Any interesting musical concept that is approached on On Letting Go is either too watered-down to be interesting, or too “been-there-done-that” for even Mitch Lucker. Sure, there's an occasional flourish of technicality, but for the most part Circa Survive are comfortable with riding the train of predictability. Such is noted when examining the album's lack of dynamics. “Mandala” is a prime example of the placidity that transferred from Juturna to On Letting Go. Even though “Semi Constructive Criticism” and “Your Friends Are Gone” are in stark contrast to the aforementioned flaw, their individual punches are delivered too little too late. This leads to a more stale version of what Circa Survive does best, faux-exoticism without bite. Even the most original aspect to the album, ethereal and soothing soundscapes, is plagued by Circa Survive's incapability to craft memorable moments. Therefore, it seems that Circa Survive's incompetence in terms of progression and originality has made itself all the more obvious on this album. It's a sad fate for Circa Survive, but a very real one.



Recent reviews by this author
Harlan T. Bobo SuckerCirca Survive Blue Sky Noise
James Blake The Bells SketchMerzbow 1930
Merzbow MerzbearJohn Zorn The Crucible
user ratings (1591)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Channing Freeman STAFF (4)
I fixed myself up nice but you never came....

John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF (2.5)
This album quenches the fix for Anthony Green; but also a fix for incredibly lazy and stale songwrit...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
February 25th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disagree a lot. I enjoyed this so much more than Juturna.

Plutonio
February 25th 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is a more tedious carbon-copy of Juturna.

Plutonio
February 25th 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Lol at the recs.

TheWayfarerElectric
February 25th 2010


154 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

In Fear And Faith makes Juturna better than this.

AtavanHalen
February 25th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Difference Between makes this better than Juturna.

Ire
February 25th 2010


41822 Comments


the rating is correct

Acre
February 25th 2010


847 Comments


I've only heard Juturna, and really disliked it. I'm guessing I'll never listen to this, and if I do it'll only be to justify my belief that these guys aren't very good.

natey
February 25th 2010


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like this a lot

sspedding
February 25th 2010


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thought both are decent.

Digging: Devil Sold His Soul - Belong ? Betray

Plutonio
February 25th 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Circa Survive is sooooooooooooooooo fucking boring.

Plutonio
February 25th 2010


474 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I mean literally, this is the most contrived, tedious, bland band ever. The musicianship is garden-variety, the vocals are monotonous, the song structrues are repetitive and complete rip-offs of Dredg, Cave In, and TMV. They even rip off themselves. This band is just vomitous.

Ire
February 25th 2010


41822 Comments


I wouldn't say awful just kinda boring and watery.

botb
February 26th 2010


9760 Comments


i honestly agreed with plutonio for the longest time but they have grown on me over time

Digging: Solstafir - tta

elephantREVOLUTION
February 26th 2010


2784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a really good review. i'm just such an anthony green fanboy...

NOTINTHEFACE
February 26th 2010


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You guys are all idiots.

ebay
February 26th 2010


501 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i totally agree with you. although circa survive have their moments of being a pretty good band, everything in the end begins to blur together. the review could have been a little longer though and could have gone a little more in-depth on the actual album your reviewing. props for having an original opinion though ha.

TheWayfarerElectric
February 27th 2010


154 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Elephant: why thank you.
Ebay: well, I mean all I really wanted to say was this is a rehash of so many other projects and it's really boring and what not.

cirq
February 27th 2010


9265 Comments


Bitches.

trent429
March 15th 2010


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I do not agree with anything you said. Some people don't like their music they are a band either you like it or you don't. They have such soul in their music. I saw them live and if you were there you would change your minds I promise I got to meet and talk to the whole band. They LOVE their fans and most bands now days just write and play for money but not circa. Circa loves his fans and loves to make music also circa has a friendship and loving peace with each other! Just wait Circa will start the new Indie revolution and indie music will be in. Peace off!

AtavanHalen
March 15th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do not agree with anything you said. Some people don't like their music they are a band either you like it or you don't. They have such soul in their music. I saw them live and if you were there you would change your minds I promise I got to meet and talk to the whole band. They LOVE their fans and most bands now days just write and play for money but not circa. Circa loves his fans and loves to make music also circa has a friendship and loving peace with each other! Just wait Circa will start the new Indie revolution and indie music will be in. Peace off!


What the fuck is this shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy