Viktor Vaughn
(VV:2) Venomous Villain


3.0
good

Review

by Joe Schmoh USER (73 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2010 | 25 replies | 9,367 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Viktor Vaughn's second record is interesting, but not so much as to cover up the problems.

Venomous Villain, unlike a lot of albums known in today’s world, actually suffers from the formerly often prescribed sophomore slump. Venomous Villain attempts to re-create the drab, cold electronic atmospheres of the excellent Vaudiville Villain, and DOOM attempts to bring out almost fully outside producers for this effort like he did for the last one. The difference between Venomous Villain and Vaudville Villain? Just in degree of effort and consistency.

Venomous Villain starts off at its best, with two of the best songs of the series place squarely at the front: “Back End” and “Fall Back – Titty Fat”. These songs meshing Viktor Vaughn’s streaming off-the-cuff style of MCing and shape shifting, glitch-y electronic atmospheres building up upon layers and almost randomly switching from idea to idea. Under normally circumstances, these ideas would sound jarring placed together, mixing grooving, swaying reggae-esqe parts with robotic funeral walks in “Fall Back – Titty Fat”, but they're built up to perfection.

The album falters, however, in everywhere else that involves consistency. “R.A.P.G.A.M.E.” features boring piano loops and bland ‘tough guy’ underground rappers, while the plastic horns and the Busta Rhymes-esqe pacing of “Dope Skill” make it sound uncomfortable for DOOM to spit. Viktor Vaughn doesn’t rap on Venomous Villain very much, allowing a lot of time for the beats to wander way too much or drone the listener out, and for the guests or worthless sound-bites to interrupt the flow of the record. The back end and middle of the record in particular, is filled to the brim with awkward filler, only brightened up by the spazzy DOOM/Kool Keith collaboration of “Doper Skiller”, a track loaded and armed with fuzzy synths and bombastic verses from hip hops two weirdest MC’s.

Venomous Villain just proves that DOOM is better in the hands of himself or those who have proven themselves, as this seems more of a concoction of fans who happened to have gotten the rappers number. His MCing, although as good as usual lyrically, sounds lazy even by his standards, and not for the lethargic effect of Vaudiville Villain. His issues with the production of the album are even in his lyrics, especially over the albums worst beat “R.A.P.G.A.M.E.”. Overall, Venomous Villain is good, but feels patchy and is only good in pieces, one of the few DOOM records to be rid much with inconsistency. A disappointment, but not epically so.



Recent reviews by this author
Rick Ross Teflon DonKrallice Dimensional Bleedthrough
Method Man and Redman Blackout!Pharrell In My Mind
Freddie Gibbs The Miseducation Of Freddie GibbsE-40 Revenue Retrievin': Night Shift
user ratings (108)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Maximilian Harkness (3.5)
One of MF DOOM's most inaccessible album, but once you get through multiple listens, you will realiz...

related reviews

Vaudeville Villain

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bulldog
February 23rd 2010



3796 Comments


I haven't checked out any of Viktor Vaughn's albums. But good review. Pos'd.

cvlts
February 23rd 2010



8954 Comments


would this be a good album to start with for this guy?

hydeyomoney
February 23rd 2010



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

far from it, this is one of his worsts.

Try Madvillainy, Vaudiville Villain, or MM Food.

Inveigh
February 23rd 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this just as much as Vaudeville Villain -- although I agree R.A.P.G.A.M.E. is a pretty boring track.. I actually think Vaudeville had more filler, and this one kinda trimmed the fat. But either way, good review.

This Life is Genocide: I'd say start with Mm...Food? --- it's DOOM's most accessible record and a pretty good introduction to the sound on most of his albums. Plus, he produces basically every track on it.

EDIT: err, DangerDoom's probably more accessible, but Danger Mouse mans the beats rather than DOOM.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Tits McGee
February 23rd 2010



1876 Comments


I was actually listening to Vaudeville Villian earlier today. Obviously, this is nowhere close in quality.

hydeyomoney
February 23rd 2010



934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Basically

illmitch
February 23rd 2010



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review, this is definitely one of doom's worst albums. honestly i don't think vaudeville villain was particularly amazing either though

Bulldog
February 23rd 2010



3796 Comments


Is this really that bad?

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



15019 Comments


i'd rather masturbate than fuck with vik vaughn.



wrong album but whatever

Inveigh
February 23rd 2010



24946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^that is an awesome track off Vaudeville.

FistfulOfSteel
February 24th 2010



894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

vaudeville villain is one of doom's best albums imo. this howeve, is not.

HighandDriving
February 24th 2010



3288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol no

FistfulOfSteel
February 24th 2010



894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

why is that?

HighandDriving
February 24th 2010



3288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Study your history, while it is a great release it doesn't touch ODD, Madvilliany, or MM Food.

Doom's Viktor Vaughn persona is kind of an outlet for his B-Sides.

illmitch
February 24th 2010



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Study your history, while it is a great release it doesn't touch ODD, Madvilliany, or MM Food.

Doom's Viktor Vaughn persona is kind of an outlet for his B-Sides.


i couldnt have summed up better than that

FistfulOfSteel
February 24th 2010



894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'd agree, id put it below madvillainy and mm food as well. that being said, i think some on the beats on vaudeville are quite fantastic tbh and really keep that album up there for me.

illmitch
February 24th 2010



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i don't remember any songs from vaudeville besides Let Me Watch and the first song on the album

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2010



15019 Comments


i generally dont like the beats too much on vaudeville, except the title track, (kind of) lickupon (adult swim vibe), let me watch, and saliva


which super-coincidentally! are my favorite tracks

HighandDriving
February 25th 2010



3288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mr. Clean is a pretty dope track also.

bloc
March 13th 2011



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Blah, this sucks.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy