Bark Psychosis
Hex


4.5
superb

Review

by Sam Feldman's Rating USER (66 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2010 | 89 replies | 18,059 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Hex" was one of the first albums in history dubbed post-rock and rightfully so; there was nothing like it before it was released and to this day influences a multitude of artists associated with the genre.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

The tale of Bark Psychosis is an unpredictable one. Formed in 1986 from East London, they started out as an uninspired Napalm Death cover band (and attempting to be popular) still in high school only to evolve into more lush soundscapes and evolving song structures. The obvious originality at the time garnered a multitude of critical attention which only pushed Bark Psychosis even further to the edge of the creative spectrum. After a few demos and 2 separate singles stretching 8 years, it was time for this talented group to release their full-length debut; thus we have "Hex", a sprawling masterpiece of beauty and complexity, unheard of at the time in it's atmosphere and still relevant to this day. "Hex" was one of the first albums in history dubbed post-rock and rightfully so; there was nothing like it before it was released and to this day influences a multitude of artists associated with the genre.

The real beauty in "Hex" is in its ability to stay tightly controlled while maintaining a free spirit; at times "Hex" will drift along using eerie tones and ambience to create a wonderful atomsphere only to crash into a tight melody, sometimes in the same song. The Loom starts in a similar fashion; finely honed yet lush, it starts the album off in an uplifting and creative manner. From there on "Hex" only gets darker and more mysterious; instraments bounce sound off each other, waves of sonic exploration rain down on the listener and the result is complete and unmitigated euphoria.

"Hex" is not only one of the pioneer albums in the post-rock genre, it's also one of the best albums of the 90's. It's blend of melody and structure contrasted with a smooth ambience make this an original listen. This is a remarkable and puzzling achievement made even more so by how Barking Psychosis got to this point, starting out as a Napalm Death cover band. "Hex" is essential for any post-rock fan.



Recent reviews by this author
Women Public StrainHip Hatchet Coward's Luck
The Roots undunTwo Door Cinema Club Tourist History
Real Estate DaysJenny Hval Viscera
user ratings (196)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Neoteric (3.5)
An original and excellent album brought down by a rather lackluster second half....

related reviews

Codename: Dustsucker
recommended by reviewer
Jesu Jesu
Fans Of Post-Rock

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Emeritus
February 22nd 2010



5790 Comments


Awesome review, Sam. I'm sorry people haven't commented, though. The way you bring the album's importance with the intro and get right to it in the second paragrah without wasting words is really great.

I noticed that "instraments" in the second paragraph should be instruments. Other than that, awesome. Pos.

YouAreMySilence
February 22nd 2010



3727 Comments


Record is so good, would be better if it wasnt for Laughing Stock, which seems to me to be kind of just a better version of this.
Which is my one disagreement with this, is you play the "post rock pioneeer" card too much when their really not, obviously its original but just not to the extent you suggest imo.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes this is wonderful, but piggybacking on YouAreMySilence, I don't think it's as pioneering as you make it out to be. Sure it was the first record to be flat out called "post rock," but it came well after Talk Talk's "defining" records. To me this sounds like a well executed version of what Talk Talk did when they combined jazz with ambient rock. It's kind of like what Souvlaki is to Loveless: both are fantastic records, but one clearly has more influence regardless of which one you like more simply because one of them came first and introduced a whole new sound.

SeaAnemone
February 23rd 2010



20019 Comments


so I should listen to this? I read this review the other day.

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh definitely it's a fantastic album, great sound. A Street Scene is my early favorite

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



28436 Comments


FIRE IN THE DISCO!

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Relinquished
March 20th 2010



24923 Comments


Revisiting an old friend here.

qwe3
March 20th 2010



21355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Loom is one of the all time best post rock songs. Actually my bad it's Pendulum Man. oops

Polymath
February 17th 2011



3836 Comments


Such a relaxing album, perfect for going to sleep. Pendulum Man is some great work

demigod!
May 9th 2011



44149 Comments


90's post-rock is sooo much different from more modern post-rock. I think I prefer it. more originality

Digging: Failure - Magnified

acorncheese
May 9th 2011



7119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

demigod!
May 15th 2011



44149 Comments


i think this is too experimental and weird to be labeled post-rock personally

Psychopathologist
May 15th 2011



1924 Comments


not really

bab808
August 12th 2011



456 Comments


street scene is such an amazing song

fsharptrit0ne
August 12th 2011



4814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a good short review dude

album rules

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2011



18311 Comments


Umm can somebody please explain to me why the FUCK no one ever recommends this in post rock discussions?

Digging: Shed - Shot Selection

Relinquished
September 19th 2011



24923 Comments


I would have if you asked

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2011



18311 Comments


this is essential if you like post rock at all

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
December 22nd 2011



3663 Comments


People have seem to have forgotten about this album

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 22nd 2011



18311 Comments


do


it


now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy