The Contortionist
Apparition


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nikkolae USER (21 Reviews)
February 20th, 2010 | 81 replies | 21,448 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


4 of 5 thought this review was well written

Upon first listen It dawned on me, this band is "It",
the exact reason why some people still claim that deathcore is a genre thats not as stale as most people paint it to be,
Mixing up ambient clips that could rival any of DMST’s best yet still bringing a masterfully crafted death-core sound;
how the HELL did this happened?

Infection kicks thing open with a soft guitar build up that suddenly fades out and gives way to the chaos, the vocals are in the average range, mostly in the mid tone, not going too high nor too low (though eventually it happens),
second breakdown in this tune is the most enjoyable, mixing the quintessential chug sound with a superb drumming background and ambient sound that makes you feel in outer space

The guitars are top notch sound, not too technical to melt your face but show they got what it takes to keep things fairly technical (and you certainly get a feeling of them holding back a bit at moments)
the drums are some of the best out there, technical yet chaotic enough to fit the music well, take Realms for example, about a minute in a half in the whole song switches from a slow and steady build up to a frantic and almost galloping like sound complemented by the franticness of the guitars, only to switch back again to a slower more sludgy tempo

The breakdowns, the only detraction from this whole band,
they are not bad, but they are nothing new
if only this band would take a page off of Within The Ruins when it came to writing a breakdown then this whole album would be flawless, since they do slow down the music in an unnecessary manner (unnecessary since the songs do have their occasional breathing moments on each one of them, to add a breakdown right before this just feels badly juxtaposed)

Now onto the stellar track here Eyes: Closed, the most heavily BTBAM influenced track on this entire album,
It starts off with a nice sweeping arpeggio repeated twice only to launch itself to a breakdown-like riff, it keeps going like that until it changes gears at about 3 minutes in, from a aggressive and in your face song to a more mellow and calm section only to build back up to the opening riff in a more slow and sludgy way

I think that in the end this is by far one of the best deathcore releases out there along with classics like “We Are Gathered Here Today” and “The Price Of Existence”.
To best describe this album, and band for that matter, I shall take a passage off of their very own “Infection”

“Is this just paranoia that has shaken me, shaken me right down to my core?
Or is this just the beginning of worse things to come?”



Recent reviews by this author
Teen Flirt Welcome HomeIDYLLS Prayer for Terrene
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherSwallow the Sun Emerald Forest and the Blackbird
Grieved AgeingXbalanke Iridio
user ratings (239)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Ian W. (5)
The Contortionist are doing something right, something that goes beyond just being a stellar metal a...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

typos point out and constructive criticism is much welcomed

Digging: We Came Out Like Tigers - Ever-Crushed at Pecket's Well

combustion07
February 21st 2010



5340 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why is your rating a 3? I'm guessing this is a grower?

Zettel
February 21st 2010



582 Comments


On a first listen, I must say it sounds very promising. I will comment later.

AbyssalCreation
February 21st 2010



2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this album.One of deathcores best.

Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rating was from when i had only listened to a few songs, now its the actuall rating i will give it

combustion07
February 21st 2010



5340 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I just finished this, pretty cool stuff. I'll definitely listen again

Zip
February 21st 2010



5312 Comments


doesn't sound that good actually

Pebster49
February 21st 2010



2991 Comments


nice, about time someone makes some good deathcore again.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2010



20655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are a good amount of grammar mistakes here and there. Primary example:

The breakdowns, the only detraction from this whole band, they are not bad, but they are nothing new, if only this band would take a page off of Within The Ruins when it came to writing a breakdown then this whole album would be flawless, because they do slow down the music in an unnecessary manner (unnecessary since the songs do have their occasional breathing moments on each one of them, to add a breakdown right before this just feels badly juxtaposed)


That's all one sentence...

Wait... every paragraph is just one sentence. Not one period to be found.

But yeah, I didn't like this album much.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there fixed

bloc
February 21st 2010



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yay! You did the review!

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sure did cus ;)

bloozclooz
February 21st 2010



1770 Comments


lol i wanna check this out know. what's their sound similar to?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2010



20655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Emmure.

bloc
February 21st 2010



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not even nigg, don't compare this band to Godliness.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2010



20655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They're pretty close though, especially Shapeshifter.

bloozclooz
February 21st 2010



1770 Comments


Never heard of either of them. Looks like i've got some research to do lol. oh by the way i voted yes on your review. i don't like saying pos'd. because that looks too much like POS, which is piece of shit. :D

Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

emmure is shit, the contortionist is not, stay AWAY from emmure unless you want your ears to get raped and not in the good way, as for how the contortionist sounds idk how to describe it, there really isnt any other band that sounds like them, but if you want a wild guess it could be the faceless with a little less technicality

bloozclooz
February 21st 2010



1770 Comments


aren't emmure the ones who run around yelling "you make me fucking sick"?

Nikkolae
February 21st 2010



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no idea what so ever, but i wouldnt be suprised if they were



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy