Lone Ninja
Burnt Sector


4.0
excellent

Review

by David Foster Wallace USER (72 Reviews)
February 19th, 2010 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While it has its flaws, Burnt sector is an outstanding debut effort from the assassin known as the Lone Ninja

The Lone Ninja. One of the most underground names in hip-hop and rap music makes his first full length album, Burnt Sector. Released in late 2009, this record still gets plays in my music library today. This record has its astounding parts and its weak parts. Basically, Lone Ninja is a love-him-or-hate-him artist.

This album is wonderful musically. The production (courtesy of Lord Gamma) is raw, stripped down, yet so thick and layered at the same time. Cuts like hazardous duty and feudal Japan have layers of instrumentation upon them and hazardous duty in particular, has pitched changed soul vocals as part of the music. The music sounds very traditionally Asian mixed in with a post-modern hip-hop sound. All the tracks have some sort of sitar on them and a lot of Japanese melodies are played here. Also, did I mention that every song has samples of old samurai/ninja films and documentaries?. Basically, Lord Gamma is an outstanding producer and does a phenomenal job here and could show off some more skills on later releases.

Now, the actual rapping of Lone Ninja is where the love it or hate it comes in. The man has a voice similar to DOOMs and has lyrics about ninjas, warfare, assassination tactics, weaponry, and more implying that he is a modern day ninja. His voice is monotone and thick but the ninja can flow and rhyme with any of the best underground rappers out there today. The ninjas speed can change from a super fast lyrical strike to a stealthy slow drawl. The man’s rapping is quite incredible to some and average to others. The problems however is that sometimes the music and the rapping doesn’t fit well on some tracks and if you don’t have the time to pay attention you can get bored easily.

Good {+}
+Lyricism
+flow and rapping
+killer guest spots
+amazing production

Bad {-}
-The rapping (as much a curse as it is a blessing)
- Music can clash with vocals and sound like complete chaos
- Could have used more tracks

http://www.myspace.com/lone_ninja



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionBody Count Manslaughter
The Black Keys Turn BlueBosnian Rainbows Bosnian Rainbows
Tyler Brown The HollowsLone Ninja Rogue Agent
user ratings (4)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Urinetrouble
February 19th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i had spacing in my word document but it didn't show up here. can i edit this review somehow?

Edit:First review to, i did the best i could

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010


31341 Comments


Go into your profile and on the left hand side under your prof pic it'll have the option to edit

Urinetrouble
February 19th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im on a school laptop and editing is blocked for porno some how lol. ill just leave it here as a first review, and improve on my next ones

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010


31341 Comments


Well it's edited now haha

Willie
Moderator
February 19th 2010


16049 Comments


I have nothing better to do - sue me ;)

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010


31341 Comments


Thought you might've been involved, it appeared on the front page too quickly haha

Urinetrouble
February 19th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks a bunch. i advise everybody to chec k out his myspace. (link in review) before you download or buy the album

Zettel
February 19th 2010


599 Comments


I am never able to hear anything off MySpace, do not know why. YouTube is a lot easier.

Bulldog
February 19th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

123 ^

Bulldog
February 20th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i really need to find this.

hydeyomoney
February 20th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the beats and lyrics are awesome, but it's so jarringly uncomfortable and clashing that it gets in the way of listen-ability.

JulesWin
February 20th 2010


993 Comments


hey weedbeater you know there's a link to this review on Lone Ninja's myspace page?
good for you man
liking this btw


Bulldog
February 21st 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i need to listen to this. right. fucking. now

or i just might end all of humanity.

Urinetrouble
February 21st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i sent him the message about it being on sputnik through my myspace. ltheres ablog to download the album but i bought my copy from an online store

Bulldog
February 21st 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Okay, just listened to a single song, what the HELL? Is he even AWARE of what instrumental he's rapping over???

Urinetrouble
February 21st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeash it feels weird at first but you get used to it. like i siad, its either love it or hate it. you understood that before you listened right?

Urinetrouble
February 21st 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i also qoute from my own review

"- Music can clash with vocals and sound like complete chaos"



Urinetrouble
February 27th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Bring carnage and terror your squadron's bombarded
With pressure I'm harshest In forest and desert
The sergeant will sever Your head from your body
I spar with contenders beware of the volley
You can never stop the violence I won the brawl
Shoot your helicopter pilot you plunge and fall
I've come for war I'll slay at Armageddon
Thunder roars I'll maim and harm your brethren
Spear, knife and axe fear my attack
On your dear life you're snared by the traps
We're fighting back when it's time to retaliate
I'm climbing the alley's gate I find and decapitate
The treacherous traitors they're slaughtered at will
It's death to invaders they're tortured and killed "

sick lyricist

Urinetrouble
March 24th 2010


5764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_03_burntsector.html

review that doesnt make it seem like total shit but not perfect either

hydeyomoney
March 25th 2010


934 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Stop bumping your own review please.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy