Finntroll
Nifelvind


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
February 18th, 2010 | 52 replies | 12,798 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With Nifelvind, these Finnish trolls bring us catchy and goofy folk metal, and even if it’s a bit too flippant, it is most certainly fun to listen to

With Nifelvind, Finntroll promised to bring us their most mature and refined record yet. After listening to it, I must say that Finntroll’s understanding of "mature" is definitely unique, as this may sound mature to Finntroll, but to everyone else, Nifelvind sounds like Finntroll always have - goofy folk metal that changes between galloping rhythms and slower, more vocal-based tracks.

When I heard Finntroll’s new single "Solsagan", I considered myself officially pumped for this record, as "Solsagan" is the best folk metal song I’ve heard so far during this year (it’s only possibly rivaled by Metsatoll’s "Vaid Vaprust"). The bad news is that it’s the best tune on the album. The good news is that other tracks are still good, even if they aren’t as great as "Solsagan". What I love most about these guys, is their tendency to mix entertaining, cartoon-like sounds into their overall folk metal sound. On this album, they may be a bit overdone, as on more than one occasion they entirely bury everything else, but their usage is something that makes Finntroll stand out in the crowd. The best example of this is the song "Under Bergets Rot", which has some Ensiferum-esque guitarlines (played a bit slower that Ensiferum does, though), but also has some goofy accordion lines and fun percussion. The orchestration backing up most of the tracks is also kind of fun, but it’s also of disservice, as it may, and most likely will become tedious when giving the album repeated spins.

As for the overall arrangements, I feel this album could have done with more guitar punch. The guitars are unexpectedly low in the mix, greatly overshadowed by the vox and orchestration. I feel that Finntroll were trying too hard to sound fun, and forgot to mix things properly. As it stands now, the listener will remember this album after goofy tunes and good orchestration, but not by much else. Taking into account Finntroll are presenting themselves under the black/folk metal label, this album lacks a good punch to the groin. Nifelvind is like the classic Tom and Jerry cartoon, where the cat always chases the mouse, but never decisively catches him for the disappointment of the viewer; it’s the same deal with guitars here – this album is fun to listen to, but after a good amount of tracks, you really wish a flashy, protuberant guitarline would come already. Still, while I do break songs into bits and pieces when I'm reviewing albums, it must be noted that even though guitars aren't as prominent as they could be, the songs all work, and thus, excessive critique is unwarranted, and it's better to take the songs on Nifelvind like they are - fun pieces of folk metal

With Nifelvind, Fintroll have created a folk metal album that most likely will go down as one of the better ones in its genre this year. Nevertheless, a feeling that this could have been more, remains. Yes, it’s rather original, and yes, it's also fun to listen to, but Nifelvind's slighly weak replay value and lack of guitar punch keep it from being anything more than good. Still, a good album is nothing to yawp over too much, and it’s better to forget all could’ve been’s and would’ve been’s, and just concentrate on the decent music on display. Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia, Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia Haiaaiaia Solsagan!



Recent reviews by this author
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
Iskald Nedom Og NordPsyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
Wolfheart WinterbornZemial Nykta
user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a mere 3 seemed too low, even if this isn't anything extra-good

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Ponton
Emeritus
February 18th 2010



5775 Comments


Nice review, though your focus on negatives makes this read like a 2.5-3 in my opinion.



Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

jingledeath
February 18th 2010



7104 Comments


well, that was fast. haven't listened to this yet but i'll get to it, tomorrow or the day after.

Meatplow
February 18th 2010



5524 Comments


Good review.

I'm not much of a folk metaller, but I am curious about the genre. I've heard Borknagar's The Olden Domain and enjoyed it a lot.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review, though your focus on negatives makes this read like a 2.5-3 in my opinion
well it really is tied between a 3 and a 3.5. I can't really decide. On one hand ist is extremely fun to listen to, on the other, the overwhelming cartoony bits and lack of guitar punch hurt this. I really can't decide. I'll probably lower it down to a 3 so it would sync better with my descriptions, but I shall leave my 3.5 personal rating.


Thanks Irad. I honestly can't see you enjoying this too much, so if I'd be you, I'd youtube some songs first to see if they pique your interest

Plow - this is well worth getting if you're new to the genre, as it is a really fun listen

SCREAM!
February 18th 2010



9555 Comments


Sound like more nu metal with folk instrument....jk mang :P

Still gonna avoid this methinks. Nice review though

Ponton
Emeritus
February 18th 2010



5775 Comments


The polka parts of this band's stuff have always turned me off, so I can see what you're saying there. Still, it's a good place to start, as are Ensiferum or Eluveitie.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

softened my criticism a bit because I really want to give this a 3.5 lol

Observer - still listen to that single "Soulsagan". It's awesome, better than any track on that Eluveitie album.

Nagrarok
February 18th 2010



7946 Comments


Nice work styles, I agree that the review seems a bit more negative than the rating though. Pos'd.

SCREAM!
February 18th 2010



9555 Comments


MAgnus youve ignore my newest review. Get on that shit

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks Nag, although I did soften my criticism, possibly while you were reading (not sure though), in order to give this a 3.5 which i do want to give it.

Oh sorry Simon, didn't see that one :P

SCREAM!
February 18th 2010



9555 Comments


Fun metal...what is this nonsense

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol, it's good nonsense

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Excellent review, summed up my thoughts on the album. It's a fun piece of music which you simply can't take seriously. I enjoy it though.

Nice work dude.

Digging: Tiamat - Wildhoney

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man, appreciated =)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No problem, yeah I thought this album was going to be worse than it actually turned out to be, some of Finntroll's past material I don't like that much.

I'm not much of a folk metaller, but I am curious about the genre.

Give Ensiferum's s/t a try.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



8221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem, yeah I thought this album was going to be worse than it actually turned out to be, some of Finntroll's past material I don't like that much.
I Couldn't agree more. Usually their albums are very hit and miss. And yeah I also expected this to be average, but then I heard the single. Was waiting for this to drop ever since lol

Zoo
February 18th 2010



3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the only thing I can listen to is Jaktens Tid, everything else is eh

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2010



15977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jaktens Tid is definitely their best. Give this a try Adam, you may be surprised.

Zip
February 18th 2010



5313 Comments


haha Flippancy ftw.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy