Z-Ro
Let the Truth Be Told


4.0
excellent

Review

by Bulldog USER (114 Reviews)
February 15th, 2010 | 22 replies | 5,410 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And I thought I had problems...

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

We’ve all heard the overused cliché “Life is a b*tch.” Despite its lack of dexterity in its often unsupported form, it’s a statement that resounds firmly within everyone. Whether your wife divorced you, or you’re $10,000 in debt, life has seriously screwed over everyone at one point or another, and Joseph Wayne McVey is no exception. The rapper we know as Z-Ro has had more than his fair share of knockdowns, disappointments, and miseries. Whether it be his problems with the law, society, or his personal life, Z-Ro has just been dealt a bad hand, and on Let The Truth Be Told, he expresses this with a melancholy passion.

The lyrical aspect of this album is best described by Z-Ro himself. On ‘Another Song,’ he states, “I'm sorry for not havin’ any songs about happiness or bein’ in peace and sh*t like that. See, I can only display my personal feelings and experiences, and so far I ain't felt what happiness feels like and experienced anything but hard times and heartache.” Having been in the positions himself, Z-Ro tells tales of senseless violence, minority suppression, and the atrocities of poverty via the art of political rap. In a three-pronged attack of sadness, Z-Ro supports his gloomy lyrics with dreary, soulful soundscapes complimented by his deep, hopeless voice and his brooding, half-singing style of rapping in a seeming attempt to induce tears. Let The Truth Be Told may not make you dance, or may not make you smile, but its vivid, sad, and pure, and that’s really all Z-Ro wanted.



Recent reviews by this author
Young L DOMO-KUNRaekwon Shaolin vs. Wu-Tang
Lupe Fiasco LasersSaigon The Greatest Story Never Told
MF DOOM Operation: DoomsdayLil B Angels Exodus
user ratings (28)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
related reviews

Cocaine

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bulldog
February 16th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not much to say about this album, other than that it is quite awesome.

Once again trying the kingsoby1 format. Tell me how it worked out. Constructive criticsm is warmly welcomed.

hydeyomoney
February 16th 2010



934 Comments


lurrve Z-ro, need some of this stuff.

Bulldog
February 16th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved his song "Haters Got Me Wrong."

illmitch
February 16th 2010



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hm i think even for a soby-style review its a little short, good though

think ill review this when i start writing reviews again

Bulldog
February 16th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, not much need be said about this album. This basically sums it up. BUT IT'S SO GOOD.

JulesWin
February 16th 2010



993 Comments


a bit short for my taste but you said a lot with very little

Bulldog
February 16th 2010



3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well when you have albums that have a common theme it's easier to condense your review.

Idnuf
August 30th 2011



1491 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh fuck this is too good

Tupik
August 31st 2011



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still need to hear this

gabethepiratesquid
April 30th 2012



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God Z-ro is just too good. Possibly the most consistent rapper ever.

ShadowRemains
July 27th 2012



20232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shit is chillin illin

Inveigh
July 27th 2012



24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea this rules

Storm In A Teacup
July 27th 2012



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like his older stuff and Cocaine most.

Inveigh
July 27th 2012



24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard this and Joseph McVey. I'll have to check out Cocaine (and also the album by the same name).

EyesWideShut
July 27th 2012



3095 Comments


havent jammed this in years, but i do remember diggin Mo City Don, Help Me Please, and Its A Shame.

Producer Mike Dean is totally underrated and surprisingly is white.

joesmoe4000
November 15th 2012



367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude is severely underrated/underappreciated!

FuncrusherPlus1
November 15th 2012



116 Comments


I haven't heard this but I really like what ive heard from Z-Ro. Do you listen to K-Rino? you should check him out if you like Z-Ro, Southern aswell but even alot better.

Storm In A Teacup
November 15th 2012



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If I was on a late night talk show or something I'd give Z-Ro a shout out and tell people check out the Cocaine album

Polymath
May 20th 2013



3836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is too good

ShadowRemains
August 14th 2013



20232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so good yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy