Vendetta Red
Sisters of the Red Death


4.5
superb

Review

by incubus62086 USER (3 Reviews)
September 8th, 2005 | 57 replies | 6,966 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Vendetta Red has been big in the underground scene for some time, and in 2003 released Between The Never and the Now on Epic Records. The album seemed a disappointment to many fans seeing as it contained almost all the same songs as their previous release.
Now in 2005, Vendetta Red has released their seconds major label album and it will bury away any doubts about them. The album takes its name from a dead cult called the Brothers and Sisters of the Red Death that formed in Japan in the 1700s but was mostly based in Russia. In 1900, they lit fire to themselves and died to purify themselves for an apocalypse they predicted.
Zach has explained that this is a concept album set in the future after a nuclear holocaust. Men are running the world and ruining it as religious wars are raging on. Women are constantly the victims to rape and abuse. Gloria is a women filled with hate for men after being victimized and begins to create a following to rise up. Thus the great castration begins:

1. Vendetta Red Cried Rape On Their Date With Destiny: Oh wow what a way to open the album. The verse makes you feel like dancing along and the chorus is one of the catchiest things I’ve ever heard. The lyrics are extremely brutal, telling the story of a woman that had been brutally beaten. The chorus line “Oh Holy Grace, they made love to your face with a box cutter" really sums up the song and is delivered amazingly. Perfect opening song, one of the best on the album, really prepares you for the ride you are about to go on. 10/10

2. The Body and The Blood: I had first heard this song on an EP they gave out at shows promoting the new album. It flows in seamlessly from the first track and the opening riff is great. Catchy awesome song with twisted lyrics, what really gets me is Zach’s screaming at the end. 10/10

3. A Dark Heart Silhouette: The first softer song on the album. Dark Heart is a twisted little song about witnessing their Sunday school preacher rape someone. Great chorus, great song. 9/10

4. Shiver: Another song off the albums EP, this song is stunning. Nice little bass line and a creepy melodic chorus. Gets more into the albums plot about women extracting their revenge on men, and talks about Gloria (reusing the Medusa Madonna reference in Body and Blood) seducing you and then killing you: “first you shiver, then you die!" I love the bridge where the song really rocks out. 9.5/10

5. In Lieu of Dead Brides...Claustrofuckingphobic
: First time I heard this song was at their show with Schoolyard Heroes. Ryann (the female vocalist of Schoolyard) came out and sang back-up and waltzed with Zach the whole time. I was a bit sad when she wasn’t on the album, but Zach’s high voice for backup is still tight. First line of the song gets you hooked, nice melodic song. 9/10

6. Silhouette Serenade: Everyone knows this one. This is their first single from the album which makes sense as it sound the most ‘radio-ized’ on the album. But that’s not a bad thing as this song still rocks, kicking in from a violin intro to a beautiful love song. 10/10

7. The Banshee Ballet: Straight up, my favorite song on the album. Oh so catchy, oh so dirty. “She had her holy way with me, and made me cum like the clergy" might be the best line on the album. Zach’s vocals really shine on this song, and the drums really get you moving, this song is a must. 10/10

8. The Great Castration: Soft and creepy as all hell. Deals a lot with revenge on the church and men for rape. The title pretty much sums up the female revenge, and the bridge with Zach screaming is really great. Not my fav song but still good. 7/10

9. Gloria: The drum intro on this one is awesome. Tells the tale of Gloria, Zach’s character for the albums story and explains that she has been deformed by nuclear radiation. Upbeat and very melodic, worth a listen. 8/10

10. Run: This song has a nice “punkish" feel to it at the beginning and leads to an eerie verse with a very catch chorus. Good guitar and great lyrics, gives off more of an old-school Vendetta Red feel. 8.5/10

11. Coital Improv: On first listen I didn’t think much of this song. After giving it a few tries I really got into it. This song deals with nuclear war and pretty much the destruction of the world. The soft melodic guitar coupled with the keyboard really makes you feel like you are there witnessing the nuclear fallout described. 9/10

12. Joyless Euphoria: This is a brutal song. Talks about Gloria’s revenge on her rapist in upfront bloody fashion. Apparently she destroyed him “A faceless f*** betrothed to his bedside, a bedpan for a bride!". The ending is stunning, breakdown to Zach talking about the man being facedown in a bloody pool missing his arms and legs. Brutal ending to a very brutal album, perfect way to close it out. 10/10

But wait, there’s more. About a minute after Joyless, a hidden track kicks in. It is only about a minute long and has a very punk feel too it. All about shooting up with a rusty syringe. Amazing hidden track, glad it was there. 9/10

Overall: This is a very solid release by Vendetta Red and surpasses their previous albums and is probably my favorite release this year. Definitely worth checking out, and if you’ve never heard them before, then stop sitting there and check them out.

Recommended Songs:
The Banshee Ballet
Vendetta Red Cried Rape On Their Date With Destiny
The Body and The Blood

Zach Davidson: Vocals and lyrics
Justin Cronk: Guitar
Michael Vermillion: Bass
Burke Thomas Overdrive: Drums
Erik Chapman: Guitar
Joseph Childres: Keys


user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Gaylord Dickenson (3.5)
Despite fully understanding the theory behind a concept album, Vendetta Red lack the musicianship to...

Ben Borneman (5)
Despite their affinity for lyrical grotesqueries, Vendetta Red have crafted a twisted work of genius...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Med57
Moderator
September 8th 2005



1001 Comments


If you're going to include the lineup of the band in reviews, please could you put it at the bottom of your review, rather than at the top, or so it's visible from the main page please. Just a guideline from the admin, so it would be appreciated.

incubus62086
September 8th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea no prob, fixing that now

Rudd13
September 8th 2005



952 Comments


Wow, if this really is THAT close to a perfect score, then I guess it can't hurt to check some stuff out.

Good review. Keep it up. :thumb:

masada
September 8th 2005



2733 Comments


2003 and 2005 are very beefy, full numbers.

cbmartinez
September 8th 2005



2525 Comments


I'll be doing a review for this. I think it's a fantastic album and the concept to it is pretty d[i][/i]amn cool. But it's to samey, radio friendly and unvaried for me to put it above Between The Never...

Okay review.

Rudd13
September 8th 2005



952 Comments


I dont exactly know what this is, but this band is NOT metal.


EDIT- Great tunes though.... :thumb:This Message Edited On 09.08.05

Med57
Moderator
September 8th 2005



1001 Comments


Moved to "rock" as that's what allmusic says and I can't see somewhere more specific where they belong.

incubus62086
September 8th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea i agree they are not metal but thats what they were auto-placed in. rock is a much better home

cbmartinez
September 8th 2005



2525 Comments


Move them to pop-punk.

Cross Out The Eyes
September 8th 2005



42 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think Vendetta Red are sick freaks I feel like I m going to throw up when I listen to this album but that’s just me
great review
This Message Edited On 09.08.05

Rudd13
September 8th 2005



952 Comments


[quote=Cross Out The Eyes]I think Vendetta Red are sick freaks I feel like I m going to throw up when I listen to this album but that’s just me[/quote]

Care to explain????

cbmartinez
September 8th 2005



2525 Comments


He's most likely referring to the subject matter.

incubus62086
September 8th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea the subject matter is rather intense, but then again rape is rather common so why not sing about that rather than do what everyone else does and sing about failed relationships. i respect them for taking a road less traveled and doing something writing about brutality in a real world sense

incubus62086
September 8th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh but thank you on the review matter, this was my first big undertaking and i hope it went well, glad you liked it, sorry bout the brutality tho lol

Cross Out The Eyes
September 8th 2005



42 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don’t think writing about rape and killings and anti Christ is not a very good way to write a song and make an album it just sickens me but I really do like Zach Davidson vocals
But as I said that just me
This Message Edited On 09.08.05

Cross Out The Eyes
September 8th 2005



42 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sorry my computer is glitchyThis Message Edited On 09.08.05

incubus62086
September 8th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its all good everyone is entitled to their opinion, btw nice name cuz Cross Out The Eyes is a stunning song

Cross Out The Eyes
September 9th 2005



42 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i new that was coming

incubus62086
September 14th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so anyone else have opinions?

sucubusforallofus
September 15th 2005



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this album, the vocals are so good and the lyrics while being totally morbid are just amazing. real world issues instead of another whiny emo band, im thankful for that. The Banshee Ballet and Gloria are my favorites, but there really is no bad track. AWESOME review dude!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy