Hot Chip
One Life Stand


2.5
average

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
January 28th, 2010 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For a band that created hype with electro/pop, it is a sad demise.

Hot Chip has no doubt had a large impression on the electro/pop scene. If there was a particular song to exemplify this it would be, “Over and Over” from the 2006 album, The Warning with its smooth but tantalizing sound, bringing a new way to how listeners would view the genre of electro/pop. Though this is a new decade, and the direction of electro music could lead anywhere, in just one year (2009) this genre got a major facelift, with the likes of La Roux, Passion Pit and countless others changing the way we perceive this style. So is Hot Chip at the fore pioneering the new sound of the decade like they did so before? If One Life Stand is anything to go by than the answer would be no.

Thankfully, opening tracks, ‘Thieves In The Night’ and ‘Hand Me Down Your Love’ give us a promising start. ‘Thieves...’ is an upbeat disco number, that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, while ‘Hand Me Down Your Love’ is completely different, with soul like vocals that could make you think that Aretha Franklin is in control, giving a Mo-town feel. At this stage, you could be thinking, that maybe Hot Chip has done it again. Though unfortunately, things begin to go downhill. Fast.

Monotonous and lacking in consistency are words used for many albums, though listening to the middle section of ‘One Life Stand’ they would be the words that come to mind straight away and probably quite an apt description. Middle tracks, ‘Brothers’, ‘Slush’ and ‘Alley Cats’ are one big letdown, as they all build and build into one big anticlimactic slump. ‘Brothers’ sound is to try hard, while ‘Slush’ and ‘Alley Cats’ are an attempt at a Miike Snow sound, which fails terribly. (There is nothing wrong with Miike Snow, though it is hard to try and sound like Miike Snow when you are not Miike Snow).

Hot Chip’s saviour for One Life Stand is amazingly the ending tracks, ‘We Have Love’ and ‘Take It In’. They rescue the album from utter disaster, and lighten up the drabness that the rest of the album added. Both tracks get your blood pumping and body moving, creating an electro/pop sound that we have come to expect from Hot Chip, as new things are tried and are pulled of perfectly, as different synth sounds are tried and scrambled bass patterns work well into the mix. These tracks literally soar high above the rest of the album, giving it some substance and actual listening value.

One Life Stand is an album that really lacks consistency as the middle part of the album just really sounds uninspired and is nothing different to what has been heard or tried before, and just drags to a stand still. Though Hot Chip give us something in 4 songs at least, creating a new sound that they haven’t tried before and it works in their favour. So Hot Chip if you are listening, don’t try and be something you are not, continue on your merry path of being different, creative and interesting. Like you were in the past, thanks.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (131)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Josh Gimblett (4)
Remember the saying? Sometimes, less is certainly more....

Eric (2.5)
Hot Chip manage to create an album with the same fun, carefree vibe as always. Unfortunately, everyt...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There is a stream, link is on Eric's review.



klap
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2010


10545 Comments


miike snow reference +10

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Haha thanks man.

Also, struggling to think of recommended by reviewer artists, thoughts?

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cool. Ghost pos, Suppose I'll take it ahah

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2010


20857 Comments


Good stuff Douglas. Apart from some favourite track discrepancies, you & Eric pretty much agree on this abum by the look of it.

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks mate, yeah well there is not much good in this album, so you have to squeeze as much goodness out of it... if you get what I mean haha

Nikkolae
January 28th 2010


4867 Comments


i've never really cared that much about hot chip, good review none the less so yeah pos'd

Digging: Giant - Song

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Nik, yeah I know what you mean, though I did enjoy The Warning.

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2010


10545 Comments


that was my pos bitch

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nah there was two after your comment it was very wtf.

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2010


10545 Comments


yeah i hate it when i get posed

Nikkolae
January 28th 2010


4867 Comments


idk, hot chip to me seems like that kind of band that you know about them but you don't really care about them

Douglas
January 28th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol you know what I mean Rudy.

Yeah I agree with you in some way's Nik, though as I said before I did find some enjoyment of The Warning.

AtavanHalen
January 31st 2010


17927 Comments


Manny review: It's not Paul Dempsey 2/5

Douglas
January 31st 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You're pretty good at this review prediction thang.

MrBobDobbelina
February 9th 2010


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Please don't let this review keep you from checking this album out.

If you like your music with a good beat, well composed, finely crafted and with depth be sure to listen to it because it is well worth it.

For me this Album is a huge step forward for hot chip and it could just be one of the high lights of the year!

Douglas
February 15th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

But the review is right. 2.5

kkluver
March 5th 2010


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wow, someone is clearly only into singles.
Can you give a review a rating? Because I'd give this review a 2.5 just for the lame ass sentences: "Middle tracks, ‘Brothers’, ‘Slush’ and ‘Alley Cats’ are one big letdown, as they all build and build into one big anticlimactic slump. ‘Brothers’ sound is to try hard, while ‘Slush’ and ‘Alley Cats’ are an attempt at a Miike Snow sound, which fails terribly. "
WHAT?! I LOL'ed. Sorry.

Douglas
March 5th 2010


9174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cool thanks for that constructive feedback, much appreciated.



PandyBear87
March 10th 2010


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As a Hot Chip fan, I feel that One Life Stand is a far more consistent album of melancholic electro-pop than the majority of the users commenting here seem to believe. While the middle section of the album has a few questionable moments, the songs themselves are still hugely enjoyable and contribute to the album as a whole, allowing One Life Stand to flow as a complete work rather than merely a collection of songs.

I have to say that anybody who rates Mumford & Sons highly has no right to comment upon music, let alone Hot Chip. I'm sorry, Mumford & Sons are so cringeworthy that I've been crying myself to sleep at night just thinking about them . . .



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy