Panacea
A Mind on a Ship Through Time


4.5
superb

Review

by Bulldog USER (114 Reviews)
January 23rd, 2010 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Life can be a thing that's always changin'. Sometimes I really feel it's always rainin'..."

Panacea, the Greek goddess of healing, carried around a potion that healed the sick. Perhaps not coincidentally, the rap group of the same name is the Washington, D.C. healer of rap. The District of Columbia has been a frail weakling when it comes to rap, preferring to be a strong giant in the local genre of “go-go.” The District has never had widespread success in the rap game, and has only recently garnered an artist that is the “face of” the city’s rap scene (Wale.) But, the duo comprised of MC Raw Poetic and producer K-Murdock called Panacea has been trying to heal Washington, D.C. rap since 2003, and A Mind on a Ship Through Time is just one of their remedial potions which they use to do so.

The atmosphere of this album is spectacular, akin to that of a secret forest. The production is so fresh and organic, lacking the pop synths or modified bass that most rap possesses, substituting them with the beautiful sounds of real instruments, resulting in the beats being like big, green trees. The gentle voice and relaxed flow of Raw Poetic is like a calm trickling stream flowing through the woods, and the lyrical ambience is the rich soil from which everything grows, and it really makes for an awing album with no real flaws.

But, all the while, there are no standout songs from the cohesive blend which propel the album to classic status, only epic tidbits within the songs themselves. And this certainly makes for really good songs, however with no signature track, the album seems like it’s just one awesome run-on, rather than a fun roller coaster ride with highs and lows (and the latter, this album doesn’t have.)

In the modern rap game, where synths, bass, and drums are over-prevalent elements and it’s a lot about possessions, violence and drugs talked about in an angry way, it’s refreshing to see natural, uncommon instruments, abstract lyrics, and relaxed MCing heavily present and coinciding together in harmony all on one album.

In essence, this is an exceptional album that you can play through over and over again, and at the same time, nothing with an individual song that makes you want to put your iPod on repeat. A Mind on a Ship Through Time is a 5/5 at heart, but doesn’t manage to express itself in a way that proves it as such, therefore conveying itself as highly respectable, incredibly enjoyable 4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Young L DOMO-KUNRaekwon Shaolin vs. Wu-Tang
Lupe Fiasco LasersSaigon The Greatest Story Never Told
MF DOOM Operation: DoomsdayLil B Angels Exodus
user ratings (42)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
recommended by reviewer
Madvillain Madvillainy

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bulldog
January 23rd 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

like my 6th or 7th favorite album of all time.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


8394 Comments


Already a mistake in the fist sentence. Replace the hyphen with a comma.

Eclectic
January 23rd 2010


3302 Comments


Your reviewing has improved greatly, pos'd

Bulldog
January 23rd 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks ecletic, I appreciate it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


8394 Comments


ok good. Otherwise this is a good review and I agree with eclectic that you have improved a lot. There's still a lot of potential to grow though ;). Keep working at it!

Bulldog
January 23rd 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man, I appreciate it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


8394 Comments


oh yeah pos'd, I forgot earlier. My only suggestion left, would be to merge the last final paragraphs. They both work as a conclusion so I see no reason to keep them separated.

O.J. Simpson
January 23rd 2010


408 Comments


I've heard a couple songs by these guys and love em, but that cover is seriously lulzy.

Zoo
January 23rd 2010


3759 Comments


Is Is My Drink is phenomenal which is hilarious considering I never bothered to check this out.

BaconStarship
January 23rd 2010


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thx for reviewing this, its very well written and i agree with a lot of what you said (except i really couldnt have said as well as you). Very nice my friend, very nice indeed.

Bulldog
January 23rd 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks BaconStarship and no problem, I thank you for introducing me to the album.

Also, I like the cover.

Bulldog
January 24th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

BaconStarship - what's your rating for this.

fromtheinside
January 24th 2010


19224 Comments


still need this but Ink was fantastic. great review, have a pos.


Digging: Techno Animal - The Brotherhood of the Bomb

BaconStarship
January 24th 2010


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, I probably need to give it a relisten though (which will probably change my rating). Remember lovin it when i first heard it though.

Bulldog
January 24th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@fromtheinside - Thanks man. I have not heard Ink Is My Drink yet, though. It's not on Rhapsody :/

@BaconStarship - I like the shortness of it too, only 46 minutes long, which makes it even better.

somberlain
January 25th 2010


2121 Comments


good job bulldog, probably your best review, ill have to check this out

Bulldog
January 25th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man, i appreciate it. and im starting to think this is a 5 maybe...hm...

Psilocyanide
January 27th 2010


1823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album, good review. I prefer Ink is My Drink to this though.

Bulldog
January 27th 2010


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, and yea I need to check that out.

iisblackstar
January 31st 2010


431 Comments


ahh i really want this.. and ink is my drink



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy