Sigur Ros
Untitled 1


4.5
superb

Review

by Young Buck USER (8 Reviews)
January 24th, 2010 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I grabbed my iPod, turned out the lights, and pressed play... I did not expect this short listen to end up being so meaningful.

Everybody has had their "Sigur Ros experience". You know, that time Svefn-G-Englar brought you to tears, or when you were over taken by the epic climax of Untitled 8. After deciding to review this I thought I’d get a refresher of the album. I grabbed my iPod, turned out the lights, and pressed play... I did not expect this short listen to end up being so meaningful. As I lay in the dark I was brought to another place, one more beautiful than the dark room I am sitting in. Sigur Ros have the power to take you away, and that’s just what they do here.

The EP starts off with "Untitled 1 (a.k.a. Vaka)" from ( ). This song is a sprawling landscape of sound. It starts off with a beautiful piano riff and eerie vocal samples. Slowly the strings come in until the song is brought to its epic climax with Jonsi's soaring vocals. Then as all the other instruments drop out the song is brought back down to the lone piano riff and you start to breath normally again. The next track on the EP is one of the most beautiful pieces of music the band have ever created. "Untitled 9A" begins with an otherworldly choir composed of samples of Jonsi's voice. Then a reversed track of his vocals are added and the song continues to build. Then the song takes off into a sprawling section led by the strings and the power of Jonsi's voice. This beautiful climax is Sigur Ros at their best. The second half of the EP is two ambient songs which close out the album perfectly. "Untitled 9B" starts with another alien Jonsi sample which leads into a ping-pong piano line played by drummer Orri Páll Dýrason. As the song fades it is cut off by a large swell which brings the album to its last song "Untitled 9C". A tense mood comes from one eerie note swelling over and over again, changing to a different note only once the entire song. The horns near the end of the song creates the feeling of the aftermath of something big.

As the final song comes to an end I am brought back to the dark room where I sat before I pressed play. In this short collection of songs Sigur Ros still manage to create a beautiful album that can take you to another place. The only thing not perfect about this EP is that it is so short, but every song on it is flawless.



Recent reviews by this author
Nomine Nomine's Sound/SearchingMidnight Jogger MR F
Emay Mind Altering DynamicsWolf Parade Expo 86
Sufjan Stevens The Age of AdzJames Blake Klavierwerke
user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jash
January 23rd 2010


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is my first review so im hoping i didnt do too terrible, any suggestions would be appreciated

Mordecai.
January 23rd 2010


8279 Comments


i don't read reviews sorry, but this band rules.

Jash
January 23rd 2010


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, theyre amazing. anyone else????

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


7126 Comments


Ehh the writing wasn't bad, it's just what you wrote about. As in the only meaty paragraph just basically describes what happens in the songs. Not bad for a first, and I like that you reviewed something that was sigur ros and hadnt been reviewed yet.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


7126 Comments


^And by the writing wasnt bad, I meant the writing was actually pretty good. You have a nice way of putting things into words. I think if you would change up the style of your review it could probably be really good.

ameypv
January 23rd 2010


807 Comments


The opening paragraph is really intriguing.great review dude.

Titan50
January 23rd 2010


4588 Comments


cool stuff

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


31218 Comments


Slowly the stings come in until the song is the brought to its epic climax with Jonsi's soaring vocals.


Lose 'the', typo maybe? I'd caps your i's as well. All in all, damn solid review, debut or otherwise. Easily pos'd



Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

BrandNewBoognish
January 23rd 2010


1021 Comments


Still haven't heard this, i'll check it out

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2010


31218 Comments


Haha, I quoted it and I still missed it. Strings, not stings man

Jash
January 23rd 2010


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks for the tips and feedback. and ill change that typo roght now, thanks for pointing it out, probly too tired to notice cause i did write this at 2am

Nagrarok
January 24th 2010


8256 Comments


Didn't you write/submit this yesterday? How come it's at the top of the page again?

cirq
January 24th 2010


9264 Comments


I boner for sigur ros. Great review

YouAreMySilence
January 24th 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Neverr heard of this, but I love Sigur Ros and Untitled 1 is like my second favorite song of all time so Ill check this out.

Great first review though, the only problem I have with it is that you didnt go through the other 3 tracks enough.

YouAreMySilence
January 27th 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy fuck how did 9A not make it on ( )?!
I dont think I've ever been blown away by a Single Ep, much less to this extent.
4.5 maybe even a 5 with more listens..

Jash
January 27th 2010


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, its amazing. the only reason i dont have it at a 5 is because its so short, but i've been listening to it a lot lately so who knows, one day it could be a 5

YouAreMySilence
January 27th 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I thought about it about it and I don't think itl make it to a 5.
Has to be one of my favorite eps of all time.
Hey so Josh, you know how to convert .rar to .zip yes?

TRMshadow
January 28th 2010


4982 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

where can you get this, I can't even find it around the interwebs.

YouAreMySilence
January 28th 2010


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just ask Josh for it.
He sent it to me.

TRMshadow
February 20th 2010


4982 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Woah, the case/CD for this thing is awesome. Since it is so short, it is just a 3 inch CD. The CD Case is like a small square Hardcover book. Most unique case I've ever seen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy