DaisySlain
A Message to Breathe


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hunter Ramirez USER (39 Reviews)
January 16th, 2010 | 15 replies | 1,915 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Message may not be the most original, but it is most welcome.

DaisySlain, is an extremely under-the-radar band. I only heard about these guys from a blog, and proceeded to download their E.P. I was actually pleasantly surprised because, when I heard these guys were from Texas I was expecting a HUGE Pantera influence, and don't get me wrong, it's there, but DaisySlain is not a Pantera clone. DaisySlain can be described as a Southern Metalcore band with comparisons to Maylene, 36 Crazyfists/Killswtich, the aforementioned Pantera, and Deftones. And actually give a refreshing diverse debut.

This is apparently the only album with original vocalist Boogie, and I'm sad he couldn't stay with the band. His screams are raw somewhat hardcore-ish and his cleans have that southern sound that's hard to describe. Sadly enough due to the production quality of the album it's hard to hear over the drums. The guitars take on a direct Pantera influence, and the bass is again hard to hear.

The opening track "Another Day" is a straight up groove metal song, and gives plenty of headbanging pleasures, the riff in this song deserves special mention, as it's perfectly catchy. "That Beautiful Sound" is a the softest/catchiest song on the album, and opts for a more straight up rock song with southern tendencies. "Angels" again shows the groove metal, but even takes up a Deftones-Saturday Night Wrist influence in the vocals, (apparently a guest vocalist named Cliff) gave the Lamb of God-esque screeches in this song which are short-lived, and don't help nor really take away from the experience. "Wilted" has to be the most southern song on the entire album, and is the best song. "Wulfpussy" is apparently fan favorite. I really don't know what the lyrics are about, (if they're deep and have some form of a double meaning) but when the chorus is "Oh yes, oh yes! She's screaming i'm about to cum. I can't hear you scream my name" there isn't much to talk about."Words" opens up with an almost nu-metal rap style, and a very nice drum solo. It's one of the finer songs on the album, and is MADE for all you metalheads out there. "The Silence of You" just reminds me of 36 Crazyfists' "The Great Descent" which isn't bad, and is very nice way to end the album.

Overall, while it may not be groundbreaking, while it may not be particularly original, it is a nice good listen from a very unknown band. The only problems are the album's low production values, and short length. If you can overlook these you'll find something to enjoy. Life is a garden, DIG IT!

Recommended Songs-
That Beautiful Sound
Angels
Wilted
The Silence of You

Songs to Skip-
Wulfpussy



Recent reviews by this author
Mushroomhead Beautiful Stories For Ugly ChildrenBury Your Dead Beauty and the Breakdown
Turbid North OrogenyBeneath The Sky In Loving Memory
Lil Jon Crunk RockKing Conquer Decomposing Normality
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ThePalestMexican
January 16th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Give me your criticisms!
Constructive criticisms!

Nocturnal
January 16th 2010



1329 Comments


Super gay band name.

Good review though, definatly gonna give this a listen.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2010



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok review, could do with more detail though. This seems interesting enough although the lyrics you mentioned in the review make me cringe. I'll give it a shot.

Here's your requested editing though:

DaisySlain, this band is an extremely under-the-radar band
take out "this band" and the comma that's after it, as it has no purpose
I was actually pleasantly surprised here, when I heard these guys were from Texas I was expecting a HUGE Pantera influence, and don't get me wrong, it's there, but it's not a Pantera clone.
take out "here" and the comma after it and replace it with "because" or something similar. then remove the last "it's" of the sentence and replace it with the band's name.
His screams are raw somewhat hardcore-ish and his cleans have that southern sound that's hard to describe, but sadly due to the production quality of the album it's hard to hear over the drums.
put a full-stop after the word "describe". Then take out "but" and start the next sentence with "sadly though". Replace "it's with "the vocals are".
Angels" again shows the groove metal, but even takes up a Deftones-Saturday Night Wrist influence in the vocals, apparently a guest vocalist named Cliff gave the Lamb of God-esque screeches in this song which are short-lived, and don't help nor really take away from the experience.
I'd just put the part that starts from apparently a guest... into brackets.
I really don't know what the lyrics what are about, (if they're deep and have some form of a double meaning) but when the chorus is "Oh yes, oh yes! She's screaming i'm about to cum. I can't hear you scream my name" there isn't much to talk about.
take out the second "what".

ThePalestMexican
January 16th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright thanks styles, my grammar ain't the best lol
I'll make those changes.

bloc
January 16th 2010



34730 Comments


band name is hilarious

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

Emim
January 16th 2010



26570 Comments


I like all the recommended bands, so I shall try to check this out.

Comatorium.
January 16th 2010



4103 Comments


i cannot find this for the life of me. help?

ThePalestMexican
January 16th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm having a hard time re-locating things myself

I still have the E.P on my computer so I'll just upload to it something

I guess if your that interested, you can check out their myspace.
www.myspace.com/daisyslain

Comatorium.
January 16th 2010



4103 Comments


you should email it to me, this sounds pretty nice.

dippel09@gmail.com, if you'd be so kind.

good review too.

bloc
January 16th 2010



34730 Comments


time to spam....

heh....hehe.....baha........HA..........HAHAHAH............MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Comatorium.
January 16th 2010



4103 Comments


BLOC YOU ASSHOLE

ThePalestMexican
January 17th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DaisySlain=Redefining the term, under-the-radar lol.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2010



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok I got this, listened to it, and decided on a verdict rather quickly - it's boring. Pretty much the only thing worth noticing on this album are the drums, which, I admit, are rather kickass at some points. Other than that though, this is boring.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2010



31047 Comments


Yeah, this is....okay tbh. Needs another listen or two before I rate it, probs a 2.5, review's still good though

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

ThePalestMexican
January 19th 2010



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well maybe I'm an easy pleaser.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy