Green Day
Dookie


4.5
superb

Review

by JackFr USER (6 Reviews)
January 15th, 2010 | 37 replies | 6,868 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If an album could make you a teenager again, this would be it.

0 of 26 thought this review was well written

Green Day didn't care. They didn't give a ***.

That's why I love them so much.

Before they became what they are now, their superhit was Dookie. Why? Because Dookie is one of the most fun albums I've ever listened to. If you want metaphors and time signature changes, look elsewhere. Dookie's superiority relies on the amazing... well there's not much way to describe it. Dookie is the temper tantrum that every teenager silently has. But Dookie is filled to the rim with talent on every instrument, and every song on it is enthusiastic, and explosive, and fun to listen to.

First thing you'll notice about Dookie is the drumming. Burnout remains one of my favourite songs because of Tre Cool's insane yet intricate drumming. On "Welcome to Parradise", you get a sense of Mike Dirnt's bass chops. And in their early stuff, Billie Joe always sounds like he's too good a singer for a band like Green Day, but it all works. The songwriting is stunning, especially when you consider the limited number of power chord combinations that exist. The lyrics are blunt, unafraid to get dirty, and completely ***ing true. There are plenty of F-Bombs, but who cares? That's how we talk about the stuff, and Green Day takes the parents advisory board to the ***ing limit.

Nowadays, Green Day wear eyeliner and sing about Iraq and post-Bush AmericBLAHBLAHBLAH. I'm not asking Green Day to change. They are what they are. After American Idiot, an excellent album, was released, they rode a road of pretentiousness that's turned them into what they are now. They're not going to sing about masturbation. All I'm asking is for the Green Day haters to listen to Dookie, and instead of bitching about who they are now, or how generic or whatever it is, just become 18 again. This album was made so people could enjoy it. It has no double-meaning, or cryptic lyrics. This is fun music. And I'm glad to have listened to it.



Recent reviews by this author
Nick Jonas and the Administration Who I AmBrand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Brand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)Deftones Deftones
Brand New Deja Entendu
user ratings (2904)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
January 15th 2010



17724 Comments


WAYYYYYYY too short and not nearly descriptive enough.


"The lyrics are blunt, unafraid to get dirty, and completely ***ing true. There are plenty of F-Bombs, but who cares? That's how we talk about the stuff, and Green Day takes the parents advisory board to the ***ing limit."



That among other sentences make you sound unprofessional and childish



"Nowadays, Green Day wear eyeliner and sing about Iraq and post-Bush AmericBLAHBLAHBLAH."

Don't do that.

Digging: Venus Star - Nigredo Expulsion

Erratic
January 15th 2010



1120 Comments


Sure you're not still a teenager?

MindTrain
January 15th 2010



1093 Comments


"WAYYYYYYY too short and not nearly descriptive enough."

Definitely not descriptive enough, but as for being too short, fuuuuuck that. I don't bother reading most of the boring reviews I come across because in the time it takes to read one I could have listened to the album.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2010



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"if an album could make you wish you were finally a teenager..."

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2010



31087 Comments


Yeah I just saw that too lol

Digging: Banks - Goddess

TheEnforcer
January 16th 2010



270 Comments


Neg'd, for obvious reasons.

Titan50
January 16th 2010



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's how we talk about the stuff, and Green Day takes the parents advisory board to the ***ing limit.


FUK DA PARENTZ

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2010



15889 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha...not a good review by any means, but it was honest and made me genuinely laugh.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

bungy
January 16th 2010



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"They're not going to sing about masturbation."

lol that sentence came out of nowhere.

WatchItExplode
January 16th 2010



3227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Seeeeeeventeeen, and strung out on confuuuuuusion"

This lyric pretty much sums up the band for me although I do love this and Kerplunk.

bungy
January 16th 2010



8843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah actually this review reminded me I need to download this for old times sake. Thanks dude

Comatorium.
January 16th 2010



4106 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i roflcopter'd

Asiatic667
January 16th 2010



4648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dood U gotTit WRONG American Idoit was TheRE DAYBYOO

DiceMan
January 16th 2010



7068 Comments


I would pos you for being kind of hilarious, but I don't encourage bad reviews. You sound like a troll.

TheSpirit
January 16th 2010



17724 Comments


This review is Kerplunk

WatchItExplode
January 16th 2010



3227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The review seems legit to me, dude likes Green Day. I Ithink Asiatic is right...we should almost classify them as two bands, I just don't know where to draw the line.

JackFr
January 16th 2010



37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha this is called me late at night, just being weird. I'm not trying to be trollish, this is what I think of the album. No matter how immature and childish it is. I guess I was in the midset that a serious album deserves a serious review, and an album like this respectively should get a childish, bratty one.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2010



31087 Comments


"and an album like this respectively should get a childish, bratty one."

No


JackFr
January 16th 2010



37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was in the mindset of that, ie I wasn't really thinking. Maybe (almost definitely) it doesn't. But what's the harm in it? A guy downloaded the album. Some people had a laugh. Cats went missing. Overall, no harm really done.

WatchItExplode
January 16th 2010



3227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is when the band really started to break, on the strength of "Basket Case" and "When I Come Around". The next few albums are like them deliberating on whether or not they want to full on "Sell Out" and WoW...never expected them to be one of the biggest bans in the worl in 2010. I still give them some props for fairly enjoyable music.

edit: @ JackFr - just do another review and we'll go from there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy