August Burns Red
Constellations


4.0
excellent

Review

by daguitarmaster USER (6 Reviews)
January 4th, 2010 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An album that lives up to it's expectations

When a young, small band called August Burns Red released their debut album, "Thrill Seeker," on Solid State records, metalheads all over the globe were completely shocked. Some had even experienced a new meaning to the word "salivate." Maybe it was the dul guitar harmonies that gripped their throats. Maybe it was Josh's howling and unique vocals. Or maybe it was the over-abundant amount of crushing breakdowns. Whatever it was, this debut album showed these young adults potential.

Then, "Messengers" was released. With a different line-up (vocalist Jake Luhrs and bassist Dustin Davidson), a different sound is to be expected. But these Lancaster boys blew everyone away yet again, attracting more people with their diverse setlist. With the neck-jerking "Back Burner" to the melodic "Composure," there was no possible way for any record to ever be released that would blow this one out of the water.

But fans, rejoice! For unto you this day, a new record has been born, and has been named "Constellations." Just hearing the title of the record itself, I knew that this one would be different. To be honest, I expected it to be more of an experimental/atmospheric album, with it's moody artwork visuals. But I was shocked the moment I popped the disc into my cd player (yes, I know, I'm old-school).

The guys kick it off with "Thirty and Seven," giving us a glimpse of what lies ahead. With noticeably fewer breakdowns, and heavier vocals, the album almost seems to push the band out of it's "metalcore" tag, and into more of a "thrash metal" sound. "White Washed" is a personal favorite, with it's gutteral chorus and wailing lead guitar riffs. "The Escape Artist" sounds like something that should have been on "Thrill Seeker," whereas "Meridian" takes the band on a path they have never been down before. With it's haunting chord progressions, and very subtle keyboard parts, it has got to be the best intrumental track I have ever heard.

One thing I really noticed about this album as a whole is that when it is quiet, it is very quiet and somewhat eerie, and when it is heavy, it is heavy all the way. It seems like the album really progresses in more of a thrashier sound than their previous albums. Jake's vocals are killer, which is supposed to be expected after hearing "Messengers." His highs and his lows are much more polished, and he even gets into the gutteral screaming even more than before.

The lyrics remain very positive, displaying their Christian faith without shoving their beliefs down anyone's throat. One thing worth mentioning is that the song "Paradox" even has a Bible verse included in the lyrics. Sure, it may not be a "non-religious" listener's cup of tea, but it is an admirable thing to stand up for your beliefs, and I applaud these guys for it.

So pick up this album and you will not regret it. I guarantee you, it will not leave your iPod ever. Does it beat "Messengers"? Yes, by a long shot. Is it heavier than "Messengers"? But this cd to find out for yourself.



Recent reviews by this author
The Showdown Back BreakerEmery While Broken Hearts Prevail
Norma Jean The Anti MotherCry of the Afflicted The Unveiling
Haste the Day Dreamer
user ratings (2317)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Emim
January 4th 2010


26707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Needs another proofread, but decent overall. Could definitely use some more description throughout however.

Douglas
January 4th 2010


9237 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Another one?



You talk to much about the previous albums, and while I understand that you are trying to compare the

album to them, maybe try and cut that down to one paragraph than instead of half the review. Also not

really enough info other than the "eerie quiet sounds"



Good effort though.

renegadestrings
January 4th 2010


1487 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

reads a little lazy and needs much more info on the actual overall album experience (any thoughts on lyrics?), but definitely not a bad review, just needs improvement.

Also, i see your point with the idea that they're indulging in a more "thrash metal sound," but this is absolutely, inescapably metalcore. its just really really good metalcore.

this is my first album by ABR, and i really like it a lot. "Crusades" is one of my favorite songs ever

Phrike
January 4th 2010


1691 Comments


Finally someone reviewed this. I wish more people knew about this band

renegadestrings
January 4th 2010


1487 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

goddamn teddypicker... that is quite the clever comment. how's that workin out for you?

BigTuna
January 4th 2010


5168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its not it's in the summary

HighandDriving
January 4th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Just what we need, another bad review for a bad album.

daguitarmaster
January 4th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its hilarious how you're saying that when you're listening to Native :P

intothepit83
January 4th 2010


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

daguitarmaster, i'm dadrummaster..... are you the gatekeeper?

TheSpirit
January 4th 2010


18584 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0



But fans, rejoice! For unto you this day, a new record has been born, and has been named "Constellations." Just hearing the title of the record itself, I knew that this one would be different. To be honest, I expected it to be more of an experimental/atmospheric album, with it's moody artwork visuals. But I was shocked the moment I popped the disc into my cd player (yes, I know, I'm old-school).

























Fanboy.

Digging: Volahn/Shataan/Arizmenda/Kallathon - Desert Dances and Serpent Sermons

Emim
January 4th 2010


26707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it has got to be the best intrumental track I have ever heard.




Ha ha ha, no. If it is, you need to listen to more music.



daguitarmaster
January 4th 2010


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes, I am a fanboy :^)



everyone has their own tastes in music, and in my opinion (out of the countless albums I have listened to), "Meridians" is the best instrumental track out there that I have heard as of yet (at least in Christian music, that it)

Emim
January 4th 2010


26707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You should listen to:



"Viento Borrascoso (sp)" - Tourniquet

"Night's Sorrow" - Becoming the Archetype

"Eternal" - P.O.D.

"Nocturne" - Becoming the Archetype

"Immunity Vector" - Tourniquet



Those come to mind immediately. Also, "Meridian" technically is not instrumental, as it includes vocals. "Carol of the Bells" would be a good example of an instrumental track.

Ulsufyring
January 4th 2010


1724 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or maybe it was the over-abundant amount of crushing breakdowns.




Get the FUCK out.

Phantom
January 4th 2010


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.5?

Ulsufyring
January 4th 2010


1724 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah you're right that's way too high

Phantom
January 4th 2010


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope



way to go joe



this is bland bland bland

bloc
January 4th 2010


35539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

*PHUCK

Phantom
January 4th 2010


8961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

are you looking for a phight?

Ulsufyring
January 4th 2010


1724 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is one of the worst reviews i've read lately



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy