Deathspell Omega
Veritas Diaboli Manet In Aeternum


4.0
excellent

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (85 Reviews)
December 24th, 2009 | 63 replies | 11,956 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Strange how these French black metalists are completely rearranging the way we look at black metal.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

Strange is a good word indeed of how one could describe French black metalists Deathspell Omega. Firstly, throughout their lustrous career, Deathspell Omega have carved out their own brand of avant -garde black metal through albums and E.P’s such as Fas- Ite, Maledicti, In Ignem Aeternum and Kenose. Secondly, the band has maintained a type of mystique through their strange conceptual albums and lack of media interviews and live shows. However, the band itself has been on to something different since day one, stretching the black metal genre into another dimension of visceral hatred and completely off-the-wall dynamics. Their latest E.P. Chaining the Katechon is a comfortable extension of this already oddball sound and is a great stepping stone into commanding what could be considered yet another branch-off of black metal that these guys have been doing since their debut album.

Going for the Meshuggah approach (2004s E.P. I), Deathspell Omega construct a worthy twenty-two minute beast that offers far more in the way of diversity and making most black metal look like child’s play. Opening with a ripping blast beat that could have been easily lifted off Fas…, they suddenly change gears and everything you knew about this extraordinary band is completely out the window. What follows next can only be described as a form of progressive black metal, complete with stretchy notes and an almost doom-like passage, giving the beginning of this twenty-two minute song a warning of things to come. It’s after this that the E.P. really starts to get good.

Not even for one minute after this can the listener ever claim that this album doesn’t offer diversity because it sure as hell does throughout a multitude of well thought-out routes that transition from one-to-another seamlessly. Even though this is black metal through and through, it’s just not in your traditional sense. These progressive passages weave and twist through deafening black metal, appearing in many forms that come in the way of complex rhythm sections, mind-***ingly awkward counter-melodies, or brief horn sections (what the hell?). Top this off with vocals that sound like they’ve been dragged through the depths of hell and you pretty much get the picture.

I’m sure a black metal E.P. like this will provoke a slew of purist black metal fans to scream “false” due to it’s lack of atmosphere and under-produced ‘kvlt’ compositions, but it’s a welcome shot-in-the-arm to a genre much in a need of a band to pull it from it’s tedious and monotonous roots. Deathspell Omega are defying the genre niches once again and here’s hoping this rubs off on their next full length.



Recent reviews by this author
The Austerity Program Beyond CalculationGodflesh Pure
Sun Worship Elder GiantsLord Mantis Death Mask
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
user ratings (107)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
December 25th 2009



14538 Comments


good review karl, this is one band which i still need to check out. what would be the best place to start?

BallsToTheWall
December 25th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review man. I haven't listened to this in months but probaly should listen to this again.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



17204 Comments


i love this song

jingledeath
December 25th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have become a fan of Mikko Aspa after listening to Fleshpress and Stabat Mater so I definitely will be getting a few albums from these guys, including this Ep. Great review too dude.

BillEco
December 25th 2009



67 Comments


Fas Ite Maledicti pretty much slays. Haven't given this song a proper listen yet.

I just dont get what many people hate about the band...

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what would be the best place to start?

Si Monumentum Requires Circumspice or Kenose are their best.

Nice review Karl, always been a fan of this band.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is one band which i still need to check out. what would be the best place to start?

What Crysis said. This is my favourite by them but I feel you should check out their more black metal oriented stuff before getting into their more stylized black metal (such as this). Thank you for the kind words people. This review does say Dec. 24 at the top but it was intentionally put up at the stroke of midnight on Dec. 25.

Digging: Downer - Downer

DBlitz
December 25th 2009



1690 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea this is my favourite release from them

i didn't really like "Si Monvmentvm" that much, probably need to listen to that again. but "Fas", "Kenose" and this are awesome. their other 20 minute songs are great as well.

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You love these guys? I couldn't tell even though you had Kenose as your avatar for the longest time hahahahaha.

Relinquished
December 25th 2009



24878 Comments


Heard this before once when I was messed up. Gotta give this a proper listen.

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album must be taken in sober the first time through. Too much happening for a pothead to comprehend.

Oh, this will be making my end of the year list.

EasternLight
December 25th 2009



2700 Comments


these guys entar the dryden

got their last album, bout to get this.

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Worth getting.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah my gf gave me a gift card to the record store, gonna pick up a copy of this among other things.

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can I have your gf? hahahahahaha All of my gf's have despised my music and some have even gone out of the way to try and stop me from purchasing such silly music.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

from purchasing such silly music.

hahahhaha bet they listened to country or something, right? oh how hypocritical people can be sometimes

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hell sounds like my town too

Relinquished
December 25th 2009



24878 Comments


mine too, chonga tontas

Wizard
December 25th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahahhaha bet they listened to country or something, right?

Do you possess a window into my life? hahahahaha Scary dude.

alll the girls in my town think theyre black

Make them your slave women then.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2009



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Make them your slave women then.

lmfao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy