Brand New
The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me


5.0
classic

Review

by JackFr USER (6 Reviews)
December 22nd, 2009 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You need to hear this album now. One of the most incredible pieces of art released in the past decade. Brand New when they're good are great, and this is their masterpiece.

There is nothing to say about this album that hasn't already been said. Devil and God is Brand New's masterpiece. The centrepoint between Deja Entendu's teenage storytelling and Daisy's religious name-dropping in every song. Dark, metaphorical lyrics unmatched by any emo band in history. The Devil and God are raging inside Jesse Lacey, and he lets it out in style.

In this album, Brand new channel the quiet-loud dynamic change used by bands like Nirvana. "Sowing Season (Yeah)" is basically announcing to the people who dismissed Deja Entendu as teenage crap that Brand New is a constantly evolving band. On Devil and God, Brand New takes on something that on Daisy got stretched to a breaking point: Religion. "Jesus" is the least subtle, but there are a number of nods to the concept of God. On "Archers" Brand New even gets a little political, but it isn't Green Day-esque random rebellion, it's material like "The God I believe in never worked on a campaign trail".

Brand New go through the emotions on Devil and God. The slow lead-up to utter chaos and explosion on "Luca" is a perfect example contrary to the constant energetic "Not the Sun". Speaking of "Not the Sun", said song is a perfect example of one of the best qualities of this album: the bridges. Songs like "Jesus", "Limousine" (Brand New's epic), and especially "Not the Sun" feature spectacular bridges. I can safely say that outside "Quiet Thing"'s bridge, "Not the Sun"'s is the most incredible thing I've ever heard.

The instrumentals on this album are probably their best; the guitar is clear when it's not distorted and better to listen to than on Daisy, the drums highlight "Archers" and "Not the Sun", and Jesse Lacey's voice is better in range and depth than it was on Deja Entendu. Not to mention that the material on the album is jawdropping, and it would be very hard to screw that up. Vin's guitar is perfect on most tracks, and his solo on "Limousine" is nothing short of legendary.

Check out this album? I'm guessing you already have, but if not, check it out NOW. This is brilliant to every last word, and it's a privelage to hear this super-talented band at their creative peak.

Pros:
-Incredibly dark and witty lyrics
-Great Instrumentals
-The bridges are amazing
-Very well produced

Cons:
-It ends



Recent reviews by this author
Nick Jonas and the Administration Who I AmGreen Day Dookie
Brand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)Deftones Deftones
Brand New Deja Entendu
user ratings (4471)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"There is nothing to say about this album that hasn't already been said."

While I don't care how many reviews go up for an album (you can review whatever you want imo) if there's nothing new to add to the argument for/against this album why review it. But it's definately not a bad review.

SeaAnemone
December 23rd 2009


20515 Comments


A few spelling errors you'll want to clean up, but a bigger problem would be your HUMONGOUS hyperbole (ha) and you might wanna spend more time backing up your points if you're going to say things like, "lyrics unmatched by any emo band in history," (also, that's not an actual sentence that that's quoted from).

Also, just a word of advice, it's fine if you wanna review an album already with 11 reviews, but you may want to reconsider if your review doesn't bring anything new to the table. Try to make yours stand out.

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

Emim
December 23rd 2009


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not going to lie, I really only wanted to post so that my dig would show up here. But reading through the review, what ^these guys say is truth. Nice review, though probably unneeded.

JackFr
December 23rd 2009


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wait, the Devil and God are Asian Inside you?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hehe

Transient
December 23rd 2009


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

why review it


exactly what i was going to say

don't start your review with a statement that makes it redundant, moron

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No need to call him a moron dude

Emim
December 23rd 2009


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@JackFr: It was a (hilarious) joke review that someone (Prophet maybe?) made a few days ago. It got deleted, but not the digs.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was Prophet.

Emim
December 23rd 2009


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I thought so. Did he get banned? I thought I saw him around afterwards.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2 week ban, his twin brother is filling in.

erasedcitizen
December 23rd 2009


716 Comments


This review sucks dick.

Emim
December 23rd 2009


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I see... *strokes beard*

Transient
December 23rd 2009


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No need to call him a moron dude


idk you have to be pretty stupid to start a 3 paragraph review with a statement that screams UNORIGINAL OPINION

also he called it emo

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


31341 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, agreed on the 1st part.
2nd part, wrong genre but whatever

All i'm saying is JESSE LACEY SHOULDN'T INSPIRE NAME CALLING!!!!!

JWT155
December 23rd 2009


9289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea... he just writes songs about those he doesn't want to write about anymore and hopes they come down with something they can't diagnose or find the cure for... :O

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


23900 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not an emo band. Not at all.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2009


7026 Comments


"There is nothing to say about this album that hasn't already been said. "

Stopped reading there.

Titan50
December 23rd 2009


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0


There is nothing to say about this album that hasn't already been said.


so shush

Foxhound
December 23rd 2009


4570 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There is nothing to say about this album that hasn't already been said

lol what everyone else said.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy