Metallica
St. Anger


2.0
poor

Review

by Augusto Catoia USER (3 Reviews)
December 18th, 2009 | 20 replies | 3,254 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


1 of 3 thought this review was well written

"This album and what we're doing with it - that, to me, is what Metallica are all about: exploring different things. The minute you stop exploring, then just sit down and ***ing die."

WRONG.
Lars Ulrich showed an inmense bad aim with this statement.
That was said at the time of the release of 1996's Load, but can be applied to this album too.

Because if he were right, this would be the band at its finest.
And if this were Metallica at its finest, JESUS CHRIST.

Because, honestly, this isn't Metallica, or at least it's far from being assimilable to the band.
But... why?

Because Metallica, in its essence, is thrash metal with fast, thrashy and MEMORABLE riffs (ex. Blackened, Master of Puppets); throaty vocals; long and fast solos; complex musical arrangements; and lenghty tracks compensated with a good level of dynamics, which makes their music an interesting experience.

The fact of not following their essence doesn't mean a bad album. Actually, the Black Album isn't the "true Metallica", but it's still pretty good.
But not the same happens with this release. Maybe they went too far this time.

A long time has passed since James Hetfield abandoned the throaty vocals. But, at this point, Hetfield adopted a vocal style which doesn't fit properly in the thrash metal. They're not bad for hard rock, but Metallica isn't hard rock (at least, that's what their fans think, or want to think. Metallica has become everything less than thrash since the early 90s).

Another chapter of the history is the guitars. Riffs here aren't bad (for ex., St. Anger's riff is nice), but the complete lack of dynamics and, more than that, GUITAR SOLOS, give the feel of a 7-minute lenght song (the average lenght of the album) last like 30. And although the murky, muddled distortion is kind of interesting, it isn't for Metallica: definitely it doesn't fit in their music. I'd understand if it were Nu-Metal, but...is this Nu-Metal? Maybe, but METALLICA ISN'T, or SHOULDN'T BE NU-METAL!!
So, having all that in straight 75 minutes of music, makes the entire album plod along at a slug pace. And so, you have a repetitive and boring listen.

Reviewers's comments on St. Anger's drumming are near to become more generic and cliché than Nickelback, because all of them achieved a consensus: that it SUCKS. It's difficult to find any praise from any reviewer on this part, and as so it is difficult to see a positive point in that tin-can sounding drumming. Because the cymbal crashing and double bass are decent, not bad at all. But then comes that irritating snare drum, that comes to your ears like a kick in the balls, and overpowers everything, consequently messing it all up. It is OK to have snare drumming in your playing and in your drum kit, but not an OVERDRIVE of it, like what we have here on this record.

Not much can be said about the bass guitar. It doesn't makes much presence on the music structure, and it doesn't shows itself much throughout the songs. No memorable basslines are heard here, and the bass work as a whole is seen clearly overpowered by the other instruments. Almost pointless.

Metallica fans, it's sad. But it's the reality: related to this band, they've got the habit to live in the past. Because although Metallica has a very rich latter past, it hasn't a very good present, and not a very promising future. And this album is a good proof of that. Because even if it was released 6 years ago, it is part of the present of the band, which consists basically in selling rights for Guitar Hero games and releasing albums that disappoint those fans who beg for a return to their roots. And they keep failing those requests, over and over.


user ratings (4512)
Chart.
2
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Piglet
December 18th 2009



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ugh.

XulOnerom
December 18th 2009



1818 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Beating a dead horse, aren't we??

This review is pretty lame, in all honesty. Everything you say here we have all heard before countless of times: yes, the snare sounds like a tin can; yes, there are no solos; yes, Hetfield's vocals suck on this record. This sounds more like a "new Metallica sucks" rant rather than a proper review

Mags172
December 18th 2009



127 Comments


This album really has enough reviews already, but yeah, it's shitty.

Relinquished
December 18th 2009



24918 Comments


ugh. [2]

Dreamsoffew
December 19th 2009



1002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review needs a huge proof read.

Piglet
December 19th 2009



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i hate to admit it guys but.. I used to love this album.

ThePalestMexican
December 19th 2009



2816 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this album has like a 1000 reviews, but nice rant

burnafterbreeding
December 19th 2009



1466 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

St. Anger round mah necccckkkkahhh

Emim
December 19th 2009



26611 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Reading these stupid rants (all of which say the same thing) is more painful than actually listening to the music.

Foxhound
December 19th 2009



4570 Comments


lol look at the rating slope.

Asiatic667
December 19th 2009



4648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope chris brown purchases st.Anger loves it, joins sputnik to rate it a 5 and then checks out its reviews

Foxhound
December 19th 2009



4570 Comments


and then tries to write his own review about the album only to realize he can't spell worth rotten spawn.

Asiatic667
December 19th 2009



4648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Then he gets negged, but there's no one else in the house but him, so he beats himself up

Motiv3
December 19th 2009



8923 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

yeah review isnt good tbh.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

Piglet
December 19th 2009



4653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thank you for the comments, the praises and constructive critics of the review. and actually i need to recognize that i got sloppier because i like very much this album and sometimes it's very difficult for me to avoid being that kind of sloppier and subjective, but i'll keep growing in objectiveness and professionalism. and related to my grammar, language use or writing mistakes, maybe it's because i'm brazilian (from Sao Paulo), and i need to improve in my english, which i would rate as "intermediate".

from one of his reviews


KILL
December 19th 2009



71392 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

he never gets respect

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

jybt
December 19th 2009



342 Comments


The thing that makes me wrinkle here is the last few sentences.

"the present of the band, which consists basically in selling rights for Guitar Hero games and releasing albums that disappoint those fans who beg for a return to their roots. And they keep failing those requests, over and over."

What really makes this argument lose power is that after everyone begs for a return to metal, Metallica does it...and then the reviews get even worse. That would make me want to break the band up while recording Death Magnetic and then not release it, which metalunderground claimed on April Fools 2008; the "press release" from "Lars" said exactly the above. That would have been the perfect way for Metallica to go out.

Dig Never Enough (Dream Theater) for more of what I mean.

Pebster49
December 20th 2009



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

This review, doesn't feel like a review. Its a rant, probably more appropriate as a blog post.

zaruyache
December 23rd 2009



6243 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album has some cool riffs, that's about it.

Digging: Emerald Weapon - Part II: Earth Encrypted

jagride
December 23rd 2009



2305 Comments


I hate these fucking reviews more than the actual album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy