Black Cobra
Chronomega


4.0
excellent

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (81 Reviews)
December 14th, 2009 | 40 replies | 8,531 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Because everybody needs their sludge packed by a Black Cobra.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Ignore this perverted summary and focus people. Black Cobra have been kicking around the circuit since 2002 and you could almost swear they’ve been doing this longer after one listen to the groovy sludgefest that is Chronomega. Releasing their self-titled in 2004 to very little recognition, it wasn’t until the band signed with the ultra black metal label Southern Lord Records in 2009 that *** began streaming. Once more people catch onto this album, I predict good things for the new kings of the throne that Mastodon have already been sitting on, four years too many.

Speaking of Mastodon, if you absolutely adore Leviathan as much as the rest of the metal community, go out right now and buy yourself some depends before engaging in Chronomega. One listen to this monster will reveal a heavily influenced Leviathan, minus all the dweedly-dee, dweedly-doo and pointless filler. Black Cobra take everything from modern sludge bands and packs this *** tighter into a nine song juggernaut that condenses a crushing array of huge riffs and pounding drums into the best thirty-eight minutes any metalhead could ask for. It’s not just about the riff for these guys too, competent and neatly woven Kyuss-like melodies are intrepidly placed over these fast, groovy licks, reminding us of the good old days of when sand-blasted melodies ruled. Diving more into the meat of this album (the riffs that is), the listener will be pleased that the riffs come across with rubbery elasticity, syncing with the rhythm patterns in a vortex of suffocating claustrophobia and beating the living hell out of anything that moves. Complementing this slick ***-storm are the vocals of Jason Landrian who gives Brent Hinds are run for his money with his gruff-yelling style and mind altering lyrics. One final note should draw attention to the song “Catalyst” for its immense chugging riffs that lead into a bridge that annihilates with an atmospheric blow; definitely the highlight song on this stellar album.

It’s hard not to compare this band to the slew of modern sludge bands that play with speed and finesse, but there’s just something satisfying and refreshing about Black Cobra that will indeed call for repeat listens. Silently creeping into the last breath of 2009, Chronomega will be one of many final testaments to 2009 as a year that wasn’t until the final quarter approached with a roaring number of great metal releases. Add this one to your list and prepare to have your sludge packed by that big Black Cobra.



Recent reviews by this author
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
Body Stuff Body StuffShining One One One
HellHammer Demon EntrailsDysrhythmia Test Of Submission
user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, just realized someone posted a Mastodon review before this LOL. Sputnik's metal community, I'm looking at you: YOU WILL LOVE THIS. Any feedback is always appreciated. Sorry about the length of the review, but I wanted to make this tight/ concise like the band. Reviews should always be a reflection of the bands values hahahaha. Enjoy.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2612 Comments


Nice review, man. Not only though would I say it has moments of old mastodon, but it also has moments of High on Fire. And considering this is a two piece band, they really rock.

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I read a review not too long ago that compared this more to High on Fire and I completely disagree with that. This is far more Leviatian/ Remission Mastodon. Yeah, I forgot they were a two piece band. Thanks for the compliments.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2612 Comments


I don't know, I hear High on Fire in there as well. I mean, not completely, but it is there. No problem, dude.

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do hear it but it's not as prominent as Leviathan. Not worth mentioning anyways in the review.

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I KNOW!

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2612 Comments


They just played a show in Chicago recently, I wish I went because these guys crush live.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2009



30297 Comments


Stellar as always, pos'd.

Played this constantly when this came out, will have to jam it later on tonight

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good to see some people know who the fuck this band is.

jingledeath
December 14th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think danny posted this on celestial manifest, will get it now. Excellent review as usual dude

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think I told Danny about this hahahahaha.

Edit: I just realized my next review will be the big 50! Prepare for a surprise (I can guarantee you, no one will ever do this for a 50th either).

rasputin
December 14th 2009



14504 Comments


great band, i haven't heard this album yet though.

awesome review as usual Karl

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That is one of the best compliments coming from a man who is like the be-all, end-all of all things sludge/ doom. Thank you good sir.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2612 Comments


Maybe I am in the dark, but I don't see much love for doom/sludge on this site. I have had to add albums and bands that were missing. But I love it.

KYZAR
December 14th 2009



513 Comments


cool sounds great

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maybe I am in the dark, but I don't see much love for doom/sludge on this site. I have had to add albums and bands that were missing. But I love it.

In the dark dude, refer to rasputin.

KYZAR, I love how you have the complete artwork to Leviathan as your profile picture. Awesome!

FistfulOfSteel
December 14th 2009



894 Comments


heard Bestial and liked it, how does this compare to it?

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard it so I can't compare hahaha. I should get on that. I've heard a few tracks from their debut and I can tell you they've stepped up their game if that helps?

Wizard
December 14th 2009



18778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, I really need to get into the loop.

Relinquished
December 14th 2009



22377 Comments


Nice you got this one down too. Great review as usual. Yeah I liked this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy