No-Big-Silence
Starstealer


4.5
superb

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
December 13th, 2009 | 20 replies | 2,607 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


I remember when I first heard Starstealer's single "Chain Me" this summer. Right away, my first thoughts were: "Damn, Estonian industrial really sucks compared to American indu bands". Needless to say, I was having a huge hangover that day, my mood was ***ty, and I just wanted to throw on my favorite Crossbreed album. Still, No-Big-Silence is known as one of Estonia's premier metal- and live acts, so curiosity got the best of me soon after, and I proceeded to check Starstealer out. I had previously heard No-Big-Silence's last album before Starstealer, War In Wonderland, and suddenly I remembered I really used to dig it 3 years back when it came out, and for a good reason as it turns out, because both War In Wonderland and Starstealer are excellent industrial albums.

"Chain Me" actually is a very good song, although it's questionable if it's the best representation of the album. It falls a bit too much on the metal side, leaving the mesmerizing electronics, which are so prominent during the rest of the album, out a little bit. What’s interesting about this album is that it’s very versatile for industrial metal. At one point you are greeted by the metallic “Chain Me”, and at the other, you are already in amidst of funky bass lines and soothing vocals (excluding the harsh chorus) from vocalist Cram in “Kiss The Beast”. There are many surprises along the way, especially in the guitar department, as extended guitar lines here aren’t what you'd call few and far between, and the song “505 Signs Of Chaos" even features a solo. Also admirable is the band’s skill to make every song different, yet retain the same cold and harsh atmosphere throughout the album. That is most definitely due to the fact No-Big-Silence are no amateurs. Being on the scene for 20 years already, these guys definitely know their chops, and then some.

No-Big-Silence are very good in adding the catchy funk touch to their brand of industrial metal. Just take “Radioactive Paradise” for example. Guitars are blaring in the background, and Cram’s harsh, Estonian accented vocals are in the forefront, but at the same time, it’s all admirably catchy. You can headbang/mosh to this album, you can kick back to it, or hell, you can even dance to it if you’re feeling like it.

While the guitars are always blaring, and Cram is continuously presenting his raspy vocal work, one can’t help but to admire how well the electronics are mixed. They are never protruding, never tackling into the spotlight, but as far as atmosphere goes, the electronics sound perfect. Lingering and cold-sounding, the adamantine electronics are a true pleasure to listen to.

While I tend to agree with sputnik community's decision that The Shizit's self titled album is probably the best industrial record of the year, No-Big-Silence's album is definitely the most varied one and isn’t far behind. It’s harsh, it’s cold, yet it’s very catchy at the same time. When bass is present, it brings the funk, and when it’s not, the extremely well thought-out electronics make up for it. I really like how another Estonian critic Marko Mägi has already said before me about No-Big-Silence, and I quote: ”It is a great achievement in itself – to sound tough and delicate at the same time". Starstealer is a must-have for any industrial fan out there, and is a great addition for someone, who is looking to find some last minute 2009 releases to blast.



Recent reviews by this author
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
Iskald Nedom Og NordPsyclon Nine [Order of the Shadow: Act I]
Wolfheart WinterbornZemial Nykta
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for my 50th review, I decided to add a little bit of Estonia to sputnik. Hope you all enjoy the review and here's to another 50 more.

Willie
Moderator
December 13th 2009



15781 Comments


I have this in my list (on your reccomendation), but I'll bump it to the front. Good review.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks and yeah, it's definitely worth your time

Nagrarok
December 13th 2009



7966 Comments


Won't like this and all, but I have to congratulate you on a happy 50th. Have a pos for the accomplishment. Band name is kind of... meh.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man. Band name is interesting when you know the background. Go read the band's bio I created for them (don't worry, it's short)

Nagrarok
December 13th 2009



7966 Comments


Hmmm yes.. now I see, but that doesn't mean I'm gonna like it any better, hehe. Wanna race me for the 100?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahahaha, I'm no racer, and besides, your lead is far too great. And yes, you won't like this, thank you for reading anyway

Nagrarok
December 13th 2009



7966 Comments


and besides, your lead is far too great


That's why I asked, hehehehe.

And yes, you won't like this, thank you for reading anyway


No problem. I guess you could also have a go at the review I posted just now then...

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm going to read it right away, I didn't do it earlier already because I was searching for a picture for this artist I added and it turned out to be a bit of a B**** to find haha

Wizard
December 13th 2009



18799 Comments


A very splendid way to celebrate your 50th review, adding some cultural punch to this site (and no, Orphaned Land does not count as cultural punch hahahahaha). This sounds mighty fine and I will indeed be looking into this.

Digging: Lord Mantis - Death Mask

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man, and glad you're interested, although idk, it might be a bit problematic to find this album. I live in Estonia so it's easy for me to purchase it, but idk if it's on sale in Canada. Of course there is also amazon and other sites like it, so I guess you'll find a way :-)

Wizard
December 13th 2009



18799 Comments


I can't find it but that's because it hasn't been released here yet. I might just order it from the bands website.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

alright, sure, I promise you shant be disappointed!

MassiveAttack
December 13th 2009



2684 Comments


Hi Metal =)

Ponton
Emeritus
December 14th 2009



5775 Comments


2009 definitely seems to be a good year for industrial metal.

Good review man. I probably won't check this out though as I couldn't get into the shizit or crossbreed albums.

Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2009



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah, 2009 really has been superb for industrial

thanks man. This is not really much like The Shizit, although there are similarities with Crossbreed. Idk, if you want to you could give soem preview songs a go on myspace, like "Radioactive Paradise", "Chain Me" and "Kiss The Beast"

TheEnforcer
January 2nd 2010



270 Comments


Wow, see this is what I am talking about. I'm interested in the album enough to download it later, pos

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2010



8223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank you very much, and if I can bring people to check things out, then my work is well done and I can be satisfied.

TheEnforcer
January 3rd 2010



270 Comments


Told you, check this one out.

TheCrazedSquirrel
October 17th 2011



29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember finding this review several months and checking this album out on their site. Awesome tracks, but it's friggin' hard to find any physical copies of their discography where I live.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy