Prong
Cleansing


4.5
superb

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
December 12th, 2009 | 30 replies | 10,676 views


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A too often overlooked album that borders on classic

Prong basically came together in the mid-eighties because a bunch of people that worked at CBGB’s wanted to start a hardcore band. After releasing a couple of independent albums they were noticed by Epic. They released a few albums under Epic, the third of which being Cleansing, which saw Prong playing with samples and some industrial influences. Cleansing was the closest Prong ever came to commercial success, and also the closest they ever came to a classic album. Prong will go down in history as one of those bands that will forever be an influence to more popular bands, which is too bad, because they put out some amazing records, with this one standing at the top.

Tommy Victor has always been Prong. Band members came and went, yet Tommy was always there. Prong was his baby. Their albums were always in his vision, incorporating the many genres he enjoyed into the songs. Some songs would be based in thrash (“Cut-Rate”), some in Groove (“No Question” and “One Outnumbered”), and sometimes even a reggae feel (The intro to “Broken Peace”). The ability to meld these genres is what set Prong apart from other bands with multiple influences. The one thing Tommy Victor has been always able to do, however, is write heavy songs with catchiness.

The songs on Cleansing are continually interesting, and has its share of stand-outs. “Whose Fist is this Anyway?” is strong headbanger with a mesmerizing guitar line to anchor the song. “Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck” is the one song from Prong that most people have heard and for good reason; the bassline behind the song is undeniably catchy and the chorus explodes. “Home Rule” is a song that starts off almost like a track off an old school rap album, with bass and a man just talking, but very quickly picks up into a fantastic metal song.

What is make or break with most people is Tommy Victor’s vocals. He doesn’t sing songs, it is more less he angrily says things, which can turn many people off. If you don’t mind his vocals, or can at least get past them, then this album should be easy to digest. The production is definitely dated, with the cheap early nineties metal sound. One last thing that can detract from the album is the fact that, due to the mixing and production, the guitars start to sound monotonous.

Overall, this is a prime example of early alternative metal. The album contains a catchiness that makes the album very easy to listen to and very fun. Songs like “Cut-Rate” and “Whose Fist is This Anyway?” show off the heavier side of Prong and makes for a unique listen. No band has ever been able to sound like Prong and, if you can get into them, Prong will reward you with a very enjoyable listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyPowerman 5000 Builders of the Future
Lord Mantis Death MaskChuck Ragan Till Midnight
Perfect Pussy Say Yes to LoveTwin Forks Twin Forks
user ratings (102)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A criminally underrated album that needed a review

Emim
December 12th 2009



26506 Comments


Didn't Demon Hunter cover "Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck"? I don't really like DH, but the song sounded cool. I think I shall check this out, nice review btw, pos.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah DH covered it on Triptych

Emim
December 12th 2009



26506 Comments


Ha ha, I just looked and I have that song actually. Not too bad.

Relinquished
December 12th 2009



24468 Comments


Band and album rule.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, yes they do

ThePalestMexican
December 12th 2009



2816 Comments


Good album, though I liked Demon Hunter's version of Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck better....though Dry Kill Logic's version was godawful.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, Demon Hunter's sound surprisingly made perfect sense for the cover.

Asiatic667
December 13th 2009



4647 Comments


I liked that cover. I'll try this some time

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009



8318 Comments


well, I'm going to start working on a review right now, and afterr that I'm trying to find that Amen album (again, as I failed yesterday), but if I can't find it, I'm definitely going to get this instead. Good review again man.

Willie
Moderator
December 13th 2009



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I've never been able to get into these guys because I'm not a fan of Tommy's vocals.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that is the main thing that turns people off of these guys

Wizard
December 13th 2009



19231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know you're not around a bunch, but you have just jumped over so many people on this site for reviewing cool industrial metal such as this. This is what I like to read for the most part, not 50 + Mudvayne reviews all saying the same thing (you obviously did the more accurate for that album might I add). As for this album, it's good but they did far better stuff through Beg to Differ and Rude Awakening. I need to listen to this again because it has been years.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a lot Wizard, I appreciate the praise. Bands like Prong and Ministry get zero respect here, it is too bad.

Wizard
December 14th 2009



19231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

People around here follow to many trends my friend.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree. Half the people on this site's best albums of all time look like the decade lists. Music WAS made before 2000

Wizard
December 14th 2009



19231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Half the people on this site's best albums of all time look like the decade lists.

And all look the fucking same as well. If it doesn't include Animal Collective, Circle Takes the Square, Converge, or Opeth, the list is invalid.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

HAHA exactly! The Sputnik influence overwhelms so many users

Wizard
December 14th 2009



19231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't even begin to count the number of kids who started out here within the last two years and think they are top shit because of the overwhelming Sputnik juice-to-the-face (pseudo elitists are what I like to call them).

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2009



7970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like being elite while also repping the occasional nu-metal album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy