Dr. Dre
The Chronic


4.0
excellent

Review

by Joe Schmoh USER (73 Reviews)
December 12th, 2009 | 33 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hip Hop at it's funnest.

Let me lure you into the solo tip of the master of weed and funky beats, Dr. Dre and the first solo rapping affair of the entirely too famous today Snoop Dogg, the debut of all the talk, The Chronic. The Chronic, in the production sense, creates a completely luring, wondrous effort. The Chronic takes from 70s bouncy funk bass and 80s synthesizers, and mixes them both into a sonic booty shaking experience that pleases your ear and your pants. The albums opening tracks display this gripping funk playground of Dre perfectly, especially “Let Me Ride”, a laid back trip through the average day of Dr. Dre, and “Nuthin But a G Thang”, a fantastic anthem of Snoopy’s sweeping flow and Dre’s pure bravado on the microphone combining to form one of the most bangtastic tracks either rapper has released. At the same time, along with the funky nature of Dre’s production, he brings the record dramatic, thinking man’s points too, like paranoid, dripping atmosphere of “The Dayz the Niggaz Took Over” or the hyper-aggressive groove of “Nigga Witta Gun”, tracks that resemble N.W.A, albeit a little funkier and less pure aggression.

In the rapping sense, The Chronic isn’t nearly as impressive. Dre resembles a gangster Diddy (or better yet, Diddy resembles a completely ungangster Dre), his ghost-written flow is completely unimpressive, and the lines he’s given are mostly amateur (“I can’t slip, cuz if I slip, then I’m slippin” is unfortunately, one of the most memorable lines of the entire album). That’s why Dre gives mostly other rappers a chance to shine on The Chronic. The album is mostly inhabited by the likes of the laid back Snoop Dogg, with his flow and lyricism at their height, and Kurupt, who sounded more inspired on here than he did throughout the entirety of the rest of his career. Lady of Rage, too, manages to impress as well, being the only rapper who manages to drop some worth-while punchlines, but has the least memorable flow (that would be RBX’s off kilter, snake-like slithering flow.). However the constant gangster posturing of the album, it never seems to get in the way of Dre’s perfectly musicality and at some points because of Snoop Dogg’s smoothness and Kurupt’s contrasting aggressiveness, even helps it. The Chronic, in a production sense, is even more relevant now than it was before, and despite the rapping quality, is just as fun as it used to be.



Recent reviews by this author
Rick Ross Teflon DonKrallice Dimensional Bleedthrough
Method Man and Redman Blackout!Pharrell Williams In My Mind
Freddie Gibbs The Miseducation Of Freddie GibbsE-40 Revenue Retrievin': Night Shift
user ratings (1130)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
ZEROthirtythree (4)
...

related reviews

2001
recommended by reviewer
Dr. Dre 2001
Snoop Dogg Doggystyle
DJ Quik Quik Is The Name

Comments:Add a Comment 
hydeyomoney
December 12th 2009


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so much fun.

cirq
December 12th 2009


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

4?

hydeyomoney
December 12th 2009


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah nigga

Eric2009
December 12th 2009


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

classic

Wizard
December 12th 2009


19644 Comments


Really like your reviews dude. This one is up to usual standards which is excellent. Used to enjoy this a fair bit back in the day.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2009


16484 Comments


Dr. Dre + Wizard = 7 divided by zero = ???


It doesn't exist.

cirq
December 12th 2009


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I have to disagree. This is waaaay to influential of an album to be a 4

Wizard
December 12th 2009


19644 Comments


HAHAHAHAHA I used to listen to rap back in my high school days when I thought I was cool. Still a fun album at parties but I would prefer 2001 to this.

hydeyomoney
December 12th 2009


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I disagree on the fact that 2001 is better than this. This is much more consistent than that album, which starts off fantastically but sort of falls apart after about the first half.

somberlain
December 12th 2009


2121 Comments


Well cirq if you listen to his reasoning you understand why he gave it a 4. I think it's a 5 but I see his point and btw influential doesn't always equal great

cirq
December 12th 2009


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I see why, I just don't agree.. But to each his own

Wizard
December 12th 2009


19644 Comments


Do you really think I could tell the difference between consistent and inconsistent rap? hahahahaha Album is just fun and brings back some memories, strictly going on nostalgia ftw.

hydeyomoney
December 12th 2009


934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's a 5 but I see his point and btw influential doesn't always equal great


Oh for sure, i feel like i'd be ready to talk all about it's influentiality, but seeing as this needed a review that talked a bit less about its influence, i guess i wrote more of a technical review.

somberlain
December 12th 2009


2121 Comments


Yeah I get what you're saying I guess most people can't separate this album from the influence that it had. You're absolutley right about Dre's rapping but because it's such an important album, some will automatically give it a 5

wutangpootang
December 12th 2009


97 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2001 and this are equal in quality imo, both awesome

KILL
December 13th 2009


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wizard just admit ur down with this shit yo toke up

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 18th 2009


2618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet beats and rhymes. I love The Chronic.

dopeneil1
February 16th 2010


39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lyrical gangbang and stranded on death row are like the shit

quickly
March 10th 2010


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2001 is better

Mista666
July 5th 2010


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Near classic, thanks to "High Powered","Lyrical Gangbang" whackness for ruining it up



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy