Mastodon
Leviathan


5.0
classic

Review

by Sonnyboy USER (6 Reviews)
December 10th, 2009 | 32 replies | 3,182 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In-depth analysis of Mastodon's second album, "Leviathan"

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

ALBUM RATING--5/5 (Classic)

A band like Mastodon, which promises so much with every coming album, can only improve its style with every release. For this reason alone, I am torn on this albums rating. It certainly is classic, but... the next album simply improves and progresses the style of this one, just as this one did "Remission".

The theme of this album is water. Further in-depth, it tells the tale of Ahab Bligh, and his bout with a great big white sperm whale. Before I even begin to actually describe the songs in musical terms, let me say that the songs give you a remarkable feeling of wetness.

There are different feelings of the songs. Songs like "Aqua Dementia" and "Hearts Alive" are gloomy, murky songs that bring to mind dark grey skies over rolling ocean waves. There are mirthful, catchy songs such as "Naked Burn" that would surely inspire head nodding, there are confusing, technically amazing songs like "I Am Ahab" and "Megoladon", which are very suspenseful and yet provide release almost sexual in its power. You hear "Seabeast", and it frightens you with its confusing licks and powerchords but in the end, you know it is oh, so right... "Blood & Thunder" is probably the hardest rocker, and the rain seems to run off the metaphorical whale. "Iron Tust" is much like the last mentioned song, it is very heavy and very humble, but the song collapses like a tsunami before you know it, and the song is in full speed. And finally, the last song, "Joseph Merrick", is like floating calmly in the sea... feeling the waves carry your person and drifting to neverneverland or wherever you go when you get overwhelmind feelings of calmness.

As for the songs themselves, you will find the catchiest parts in the bridge of "Iron Tusk", just about every different riff or lick in "Hearts Alive", and the screaming parts of "Aqua Dementia" are catchy yet heavy. You will definitely bang your head when you hear the chorus of "Blood & Thunder", and "I Am Ahab" is incredible in how it pulls you into the album... The most technically advanced parts lie in the epics "Seabeast" and "Megoladon", both great songs and both heavier than 3 tons of concrete.

Unfortunately, no review can do justice an album of these wiles. This album is everything I have written and so much more. All I can do is guide you to the highlights of the album and wish you an enjoyable trip.

CRESTS:

Blood & Thunder--Chorus mainly, but catchy throughout

Seabeast--Verses and ending. All of the song is great, though

Hearts Alive--An epic in every sense of the word

Iceland--Not a bad moment in the song

Iron Tusk--Sludgiest song on album

Megoladon--Song rocks throughout
}



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Horsemen Self-Titled EPBig Business Mind the Drift
Baroness First & SecondMastodon Blood Mountain
Mastodon Remission
user ratings (2901)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douchebag
December 10th 2009



3624 Comments


"let me say that the songs give you a remarkable feeling of wetness."

lol

Greggers
December 10th 2009



2375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

PRELUDE TO REVIEW
{
Hello. I hope you enjoy reading the following review. I realize that my last one didn't go as well as I had hoped, so I'm going to shorten this one, and refrain from using the tried and true track-by-track review format.

Here we go.

--Sonnyboy
}

REVIEW
{

ALBUM RATING--5/5 (Classic)


not needed

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2009



30295 Comments


You're so immature Alligator

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Sonnyboy
December 10th 2009



40 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

OKAY!!

Now, before we get into a thing like my "Remission" review, please, comment on my review at least once before you start posting about the album or whatever.

And not just a little facet comment like CrazyGregs please.

bungy
December 10th 2009



8843 Comments


I'm am

Relinquished
December 10th 2009



22366 Comments


A few grammar issues and misspellings especially in the song titles.

Eclectic
December 10th 2009



3302 Comments


There are different feelings of the songs.

Oddly worded. Perhaps There is variety in the tracks
provide release almost sexual in its power
let me say that the songs give you a remarkable feeling of wetness.

O.o
so right... "Blood & Thunder"

Remove the three dots. In fact, you do that constantly throughout the review, its unnecessary.

As stated before, remove the introductory paragraph.
And why the fuck do you have brackets at the beginning and end of the review?

Nevertheless, despite all that has been stated, I enjoyed the review and pos'd

Nikkolae
December 10th 2009



4385 Comments


"let me say that the songs give you a remarkable feeling of wetness"

ohh you naughty boyy, lol

Digging: Corrupted - Paso Inferior

Xenophanes
Emeritus
December 11th 2009



10553 Comments


PRELUDE TO REVIEW
{
Hello. I hope you enjoy reading the following review. I realize that my last one didn't go as well as I had hoped, so I'm going to shorten this one, and refrain from using the tried and true track-by-track review format.

Here we go.

--Sonnyboy
}

REVIEW
{

ALBUM RATING--5/5 (Classic)

He is right, this is very unnecessary. This review needs a little more meat to it. Try to extrapolate a little on other facets of the album. You can liken the songs to the sea and shit, but in the end I know nothing about them, the instrumentation, or really, anything else. Its not a BAD review, I do like the comparisons and how the album makes you feel, just add a little more you know? Good job for a (nearly) first.

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

Douchebag
December 11th 2009



3624 Comments


Sooo I just saw a bunch of Mastodon Cd's really cheap today however I didn't buy any because I'm unsure where to start. Since they are playing BDO I really wanna check them out. Forgive me for asking but what's their most accesible release? I'll give it a download or buy.

TRMshadow
December 11th 2009



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd say get one of their middle albums, Leviathan or Blood Mountain, I personally prefer the former. Remission is a little too rough, and Crack the sky is really progressive.

qwe3
December 11th 2009



21154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

leviathan is the best album theyve done

Douchebag
December 11th 2009



3624 Comments


Sounds awesome. Hopefully I'll hear it sometime.

LepreCon
December 11th 2009



3544 Comments


Reviews pretty alright, can't say much that hasn't already been said. Also, a 5 this is not

FadeToBlack
December 11th 2009



10913 Comments


PRELUDE TO REVIEW
{
Hello. I hope you enjoy reading the following review. I realize that my last one didn't go as well as I had hoped, so I'm going to shorten this one, and refrain from using the tried and true track-by-track review format.

Here we go.

--Sonnyboy
}

REVIEW
{

ALBUM RATING--5/5 (Classic)
you shouldn't really do this, it makes your review look messy and unproffessional.

content wise the review is good though

Slimjim367
December 11th 2009



512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

although you stated you werent using TBT format, you pretty much did
not a bad review
pos'd

Emim
December 11th 2009



26195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"a great big white sperm ____"


I would not have guessed that blank said "whale".

Sonnyboy
December 11th 2009



40 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for the feedback guys.


Blood Mountain is next!!

Sonnyboy
December 14th 2009



40 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just got rid of the prelude. I hope it's better now.

Eclectic
December 14th 2009



3302 Comments


Change the summary, its unnecessary

ALBUM RATING--5/5 (Classic)

Once again, unnecessary.
And there's an out of place bracket down the bottom, remove it.
Despite that, the review is a lot better now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy