Thirty Seconds to Mars
This Is War


5.0
classic

Review

by DarcieRoy USER (1 Reviews)
December 8th, 2009 | 54 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This Is War has triumphed.

With the release of their third album, This is War, 30 Seconds to Mars has once and for all shirked their reputation as an “angst” band. It could instead be argued that, while the wounds of their battle with Virgin Records are evident in their latest release, they instead offer themselves as healthy role models for listeners, channeling their frustration and suffering into songs of hope, optimism, and strength.

“I fell apart but I got back up again,” Jared Leto croons in “Alibi”, first in a soothing tone evocative of a lullaby, later soaring to a cry that is both anguished and exultant. This sentiment of determination and healing echoes throughout the album.

It’s rare for me to like an album the first time I hear it. I’ve always found comfort in familiarity; usually new songs have to “grow” on me. But it was love at first listen for This is War. It’s the kind of music you can listen to with your eyes closed and see the sun rise; the kind of music you blast with the car’s windows rolled down; the kind you sing along to with the enthusiasm of a fevered tent-revival disciple. This album gives you chills from its first notes.

As if it were even possible to do so, following the release of their platinum-selling second album, A Beautiful Lie, the talented men of 30 Seconds to Mars have continued to improve their musical aptitude, producing a more polished and innovative album than the previous two. (Note that I do NOT mean more “mainstream” – despite their producer Flood’s experience with renowned bands such as U2, Depeche Mode, and The Smashing Pumpkins, they continue to admirably deviate from the flow of “pop” music.) One example of their musical pioneering would be the choral accompaniments to many of the songs: the uplifting chants heard in the background of such songs as the title track (also featured in the game Dragon Age: Origins), “Night of the Hunter”, and “Hurricane” are actually the voices of 30 Seconds to Mars’ fans, recorded earlier this year in a “digital summit” (just one of many ways the band incorporates its “army” into the music). These full-bodied compositions will undoubtedly play well in the acoustics of a large venue.

This Is War also contains more of the smoky, sexy, whispered vocals that particularly send Leto’s admirers swooning. Because of this, the album will likely perform well in an intimate, acoustic setting. Regardless of the site, This Is War seems destined for live performance greatness.

Overall, 30 Seconds to Mars has used their strife to demonstrate unparalleled poise and grace, and the result is an album with more depth and intensity than I’ve experienced in a long time.

Darcie Roy
Provehito In Altum


user ratings (889)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
December 8th 2009


16090 Comments


Woah, a 5... This was well written, but I would suggest expanding on your paragraphs more. pos.

zarkinfrood42
December 8th 2009


154 Comments


Not a bad review, especially not for a first, but a little too fanboyish for my tastes.

I am looking forward to this album, tho.

KieranVandRakim
December 8th 2009


332 Comments


i thought daveyboy wrote this for a second

Prophet178
December 8th 2009


6397 Comments


(also featured in the game Dragon Age: Origins)


Just the trailer actually.

Waior
December 8th 2009


11461 Comments


i thought daveyboy wrote this for a second


123

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2009


28831 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

THIS IS WAIOR


Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

TheGreatD17
December 8th 2009


1141 Comments


Some day you'll look back on this and shake your head.

Eclectic
December 8th 2009


3302 Comments


Regardless of the site, This Is War seems destined for live performance greatness.


a: that matters now?
b: the section italics makes no sense.

Still, good review. Pos'd

DiceMan
December 8th 2009


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I sincerely disagree with your opinion. So called uplifting chants can get really really annoying to be honest with you and come off as pretentious more often than not.

Actually yeah what Shortone said. The reviews posted on here should not be like the reviews on itunes where everything always gets high ratings forever. You should bolster your rating more. Typically 5 reviews are longer because the writer has to justify the rating, with a few exceptions of course.

shortone323
December 8th 2009


883 Comments


Agree with pretty much everybody above me: this is a good review, but I'm not too sure this is a 5. I personally have this at a 2 or somewhere around there, but it's fine if you can justify it. And on that note, you might want to add a bit more here, because while you make the album sound great, you really don't make it sound like a classic.

Kronzo
December 8th 2009


994 Comments


Some day you'll look back on this and shake your head.


this.

pizzamachine
December 8th 2009


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A 5? Seriously?

Prophet178
December 8th 2009


6397 Comments


New users should have to fill out a form asking why they think the album is a 5 before being able to rate an album a 5.

KieranVandRakim
December 8th 2009


332 Comments


well he wrote a review, that's good enough

DiceMan
December 8th 2009


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah^. It seems that every new user comes in and writes a review of an album as a 5. Just so happens that said album isn't very good at all.

pizzamachine
December 8th 2009


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just so happens that nearly every new user's 5-rated album is no good.

NOTINTHEFACE
December 8th 2009


1653 Comments


Made me lol

WhiteTieBlackJacket
December 8th 2009


793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Love this record. Good review.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 8th 2009


31632 Comments


So far the only thing this thread has proven is that personal opinions of all new comers need to be taken behind the shed and shot.
Album's not that high for me, but let him have his 5

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

Waior
December 8th 2009


11461 Comments


THIS IS WAIOR


Oh I get it. granted, it took me way too much thought.

Yeah, and the review is fine, album is average - people will heckle you less if you flesh out your review a little more; justify that 5/5!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy