Boris
Heavy Rocks


4.0
excellent

Review

by Travis Marmon USER (32 Reviews)
November 19th, 2009 | 87 replies | 14,190 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Brace your eardrums...

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

Album covers are a strange art form. Ranging from simple, mind-imprinting images (like In the Court of the Crimson King) to overly cluttered visual debacles (such as Iron Maiden's Dance of Death), they are almost always designed to give the listener an impression of what the band is about and what the music will sound like. As simple as it may be, few covers do that better than Boris's Heavy Rocks. It's ingredients are just three things: The band name, the album title, and the brightest orange perceptible to the human eye. All you need to know is right there. Boris wants to play music as straightforward as they are capable of doing, and they will play it as loud as possible.

That isn't to say that Boris aren't complicated. Heavy Rocks is the fourth of 23 full-lengths that the band has put out since their 1996 debut, and they are widely regarded as one of the most eclectic bands in modern music. However, I am of the opinion (and I am not in the majority here) that Boris are at their best when they play simple, fuzzed-out garage/stoner rock at maximum volume with little regard for musical diversity. This is where Heavy Rocks delivers.

Songs like "Dyna-Soar" and "Waruride" are the essence of what I'm talking about here. Guitarist Wata's riffs are crunchy and distorted. Drummer Atsuo Mizuno pounds away like Dave Grohl and John Bonham in a fit of rage. Bassist Takeshi Ohtani plods along on the super-low end, while simultaneously yelling his lungs out in Japanese (as if it matters what language he sings in). The band lets up occasionally, like on "Soft Edge," which is a much needed breather as well as a cool little song in its own right. But these moments don't last for very long.

If Boris can be accurately compared to any band on this album, it would have to be sixties proto-metallers Blue Cheer. Aesthetically, Blue Cheer are like Boris in that they are a power trio with a bass-playing frontman. More importantly, both bands are among the most fuzz-drenched, acid-dripping, noisy-ass bands of their respective generations. What Blue Cheer were doing in the late 1960's may sound tame today, but this is the Vincebus Eruptum of the new millenium. While 2004's Pink gets far more visibility, it is impossible to enjoy one of the two Boris classics without liking the other. So give your ears a break after listening to Pink, then go acquire this album ASAP. Just don't stare at it for too long.



Recent reviews by this author
Electric Wizard DopethroneEntombed Left Hand Path
Dead Kennedys Fresh Fruit for Rotting VegetablesNeil Young After the Gold Rush
Lucifer's Friend Lucifer's FriendThe Allman Brothers Band Idlewild South
user ratings (240)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
illmitch
November 19th 2009



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album. nice review - short, but i think you captured the album in a nutshell pretty damn well.

NortherlyNanook
November 19th 2009



1285 Comments


how odd, for some reason before even seeing this posted i decided to listen to this right now

but yeah obv sick album

Zettel
November 19th 2009



590 Comments


I don't know. It's not clear to me why this is a 4 star album, other than "Boris are at their best when they play simple, fuzzed-out garage/stoner rock at maximum volume with little regard for musical diversity".

erasedcitizen
November 19th 2009



716 Comments


You should have expanded a bit since you're already a good writer, I wouldn't mind reading a few more paragraphs.

Mordecai.
November 20th 2009



8277 Comments


those who like this sort of music should check out Nunchukka Superfly

HenchmanOfSanta
November 20th 2009



1857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You should have expanded a bit since you're already a good writer, I wouldn't mind reading a few more paragraphs.


I know. I was sort of throwing this review together to kill some time before the Office, so I didn't really sit down and listen to the album like I normally do. Dyna-Soar came up on shuffle earlier and reminded me that there was no review.

I might add another paragraph later.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, if you don't like rock...then, I may understand why you wouldn't like this album. This album is a monster in my opinion. "Korosu" and "Rattlesnake" for the win.

Roach
December 14th 2009



2149 Comments


lol but Nine Inch Nails are awful and Boris fucking rule

TricksterGRex
December 14th 2009



2087 Comments


"Just noise basically."

wat

illmitch
December 14th 2009



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just noise basically.


lolol

boris definitely rule and NIN definitely suck tbh

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

must not like rock n roll.

SteelErectedb4you8er
December 14th 2009



2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

or should I say lock n lorr.

illmitch
December 15th 2009



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

boris is too edgy for NIN crowds

Roach
December 15th 2009



2149 Comments


Boris are better than any of the boring as shit bands you listen to so **** off you large bundle of sticks!

Relinquished
December 15th 2009



24919 Comments


Says the guy who rated The Faceless and The Black Dahlia Murder albums 5's.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2009



15014 Comments


"Pffft... as edgy as a sphere."





holllllyyyyyy shiiiiiiiiiiiiit lol

any14doomsday
April 1st 2010



679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I Think those venues where Boris played with NIN were way to big for there sound to really be enjoyed. Because I have seen Boris live 4 times now and they absolutely laid waste to anything and everything in a 3 block radius.

As for heavy rocks not one of my personal favorites, but still pretty awesome none the less. I think rattlesnake might be my favorite track on here.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2010



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, but you could have been more descriptive with regard to the female guitarist.

Her solo on the drone/doom hymn Heavy Friends is HUGE.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

Terrifyer
November 29th 2010



3403 Comments


rules

alachlahol
November 29th 2010



7484 Comments


yea this shits the fucking



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy