To-Mera
Earthbound EP


1.5
very poor

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
November 17th, 2009 | 29 replies | 9,738 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The band continues their musical deterioration.

To-Mera came onto the scene in early 2005 as one of the few bright spots in female-fronted metal. Granted it doesn’t take much to be a bright spot amidst all the generic crap, but for To-Mera the praise was mostly justified. It was justified because the band featured a collection of capable musicians that were actually good songwriters as well as skilled at their respective instruments. The problem was that one of the ways they showed it was through extended jams and random transitions. While this worked pretty well for the debut, the band just took it too far on their sophomore release. This lead to an album that was good in small doses but unlistenable in its entirety. Using that logic it seemed that an EP would be the reasonable way to fix the problem since four great songs shouldn’t have time to become tiresome – too bad they forgot the great songs.

The actual fact of the matter is that not only are these songs not great, they’re not even decent. The biggest issue with this album is its complete lack of energy. The band’s previous releases contained tracks that were full of vigor, heavy riffs, and quick (if occasionally superfluous) transitions but none of that is found here. In their place are four songs that can best be summed up as lethargic, directionless garbage. A lot of this can attributed to the repetitive riffs that lack any real power or definition, but an equal amount of blame has to be placed on vocalist Julie Kiss. The band’s previous two albums proved that she is a competent front woman, but that isn’t shown here at all. Here her vocal melodies are weak and her awful, lifeless delivery takes an already mediocre album down to new lows. When this is combined with a rhythm section that seems content to deliver a completely generic performance the result is an album that has absolutely no redeeming qualities what-so-ever.

With all of the talent that this band has (despite line-up changes) it was a total shock to discover that there is not one exciting moment, memorable section or positive aspect to be found on this EP. Instead the band dropped an album full of bland riffs, tedious transitions, lethargic percussion and terrible vocals. Considering the fact that their previous album was already a drop in quality compared to the one that preceded it, this EP is not only a bad release but also a bad omen for the band’s future.



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (6)
Chart.
2.1
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Another quick 15 minute write-up for a 2009 release without a review.

The reccomendations are for female-fronted progressive metal albums you should check out instead of this.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2009



8318 Comments


good review. Also, hahahaha, Julie Kiss? I don't know but that makes me lol quite hard.

Willie
Moderator
November 17th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Then you'd probably give this a 1 or .5

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 17th 2009



2910 Comments


Didn't realise this even existed.

Loss of their bassist meant this was gonna suck regardless

BallsToTheWall
November 17th 2009



44164 Comments


Not really, he was just a bassist albeit a good one. This sucks to hear I really loved the debut. Second album had a few awesome tracks and a whole bunch of ZZZZZZZZZZZZ.

SnackaryBinx
November 17th 2009



2309 Comments


I want my time back I wasted reading this review. I was not given a sufficient enough warning of the time I would waste reading about this.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2009



16242 Comments


Female fronted metal just doesn't work too well.

Phil
November 18th 2009



1473 Comments


I liked their first album, obviously. Luckily, I haven't checked out anything else they have done to tarnish my opinion of it.

Willie
Moderator
November 18th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Loss of their bassist meant this was gonna suck regardless
The loss of their drummer and keyboardist after the first album was the big problem. The replacements just aren't as interesting (and they're actually bad on this).
I want my time back I wasted reading this review. I was not given a sufficient enough warning of the time I would waste reading about this.
Man, I tried my best.
I liked their first album, obviously. Luckily, I haven't checked out anything else they have done to tarnish my opinion of it.
That's the best option.

ameypv
November 18th 2009



807 Comments


i was gonna check this out.not anymore.review is apt.

Willie
Moderator
November 18th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Review is what?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2009



8318 Comments


the meaning of apt: good, fitting, dead-on

sheesh Willie, do you actually need foreigners to teach you your own language ;)?

Jim
November 18th 2009



5110 Comments


i have an album by these guys and yeah it's pretty forgettable.

trey, i took your advice and didn't read the review ;-)

Lions
November 18th 2009



1015 Comments


wow, I remember hearing this band like 4 years ago and thought they were ok; granted I'd a pretty laughable taste in music. shame to hear they suck.

ameypv
November 19th 2009



807 Comments


"sheesh Willie, do you actually need foreigners to teach you your own language ;)? "

lol

Willie
Moderator
November 19th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

trey, i took your advice and didn't read the review
Thus your time was not wasted by me or the band.
"sheesh Willie, do you actually need foreigners to teach you your own language ;)? "

lol
Yeah he got me. I don't know why but I read "apt." as an abbreviation when I skimmed the comment.

Ulsufyring
November 20th 2009



1725 Comments


probably because that's the common american abbreviation for apartment

Willie
Moderator
November 21st 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Maybe that's it. Sounds like as good of an excuse as any.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2009



8318 Comments


somebody once said that excuses are like assholes ;)

Willie
Moderator
November 21st 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Look at you getting all quick and shit!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy