Brand New
Deja Entendu


5.0
classic

Review

by JackFr USER (6 Reviews)
November 15th, 2009 | 22 replies | 3,997 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It may not be the best album technically, but emotionally Deja Entendu is spectacular, providing that you've lived it.

This review used to be a long detailed track-by-blah blah blah blah

I missed the boat on that review. This album shouldn't be treated as a technical work, this album is art. Deja Entendu is a description of teenage life, and it's very good at it. In a lonely, isolated summer, I connected to this in a way that I've never connected to music in my life. There's some beautiful music to be had on this record, but the lyrics are the standout. No, they're not "immature". And if they are, that's okay. The people who love this album are the people who lived this album, and I'm one of those people. I have the entire lyrics to this album stored in my head not because I'm great at memorizing, but because they stuck with me. So if you're looking at this album from a technical standpoint, no, this album won't win any Grammys. If you look at it as a work of emotion, and if you've lived it, this album will remain with you.



Recent reviews by this author
Nick Jonas and the Administration Who I AmGreen Day Dookie
Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside MeBrand New Fight Off Your Demons (The Demos)
Deftones Deftones
user ratings (3366)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
scotish
November 15th 2009


835 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

review is pretty "this track then that track then the next", which make boring reads tbh. you can describe what's going on technically pretty well - as in, with accuracy - but again, it's not exactly interesting. not exactly badly written, but there's not much to appreciate either.

/constructive feedback :p

JackFr
November 15th 2009


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'll keep that in mind for future reviews; I was mostly trying to write a review that I would find interesting. I like the track-by-track format, but I understand that most don't.

Cesar
November 15th 2009


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is awesome etc etc etc

YouAreMySilence
November 15th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe I don't enjoy this as much because I dont have that nostalgia.
But I didn't read the review cause its sooo long, but seems well written.

Masochist
November 15th 2009


8019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

12 reviews, and only 2 of them below a 4 rating. Just saying...

Anyways, review wasn't bad, especially for a first, but keep scotish's advice in mind for next time. Also, we have differing opinions about "Okay, I Believe You...;" I'm surprised it works with as long as it is, and how long it takes to actually build up, but boy does it work! Oh, well.

Here's to another review ;-)

Knott-
Emeritus
November 15th 2009


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

very little wrong with reviewing something popular and perfect as your first contribution.

don't make it your last. you need mostly to self-edit a bit; lines like "instrumental-driven tune"are just 'eh?' and although your points are usually correct they're sometimes redundant or not concise enough; writing non-track-by-tracks will help you in this. try to stick to 4 or 5 paragraphs, and elaborate on the points that pop up more than once in one place rather than dotted around.

i obv disagree with you ever so slightly on the rating but just try and mix it up slightly and youll be a great writer

(album is just wow.)

asaf
November 15th 2009


885 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review. Never really understood the hype with these guys. Is this album going to reviewed until the end of time? It seems as if every time a new user comes in its "OMG, like, can't wait for the new Brand New...."

scotish
November 15th 2009


835 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah, keep writing, you'll get better with practice - everyone does. except me who keeps delving farther into the realms of drivelling fanboyism

YouAreMySilence
November 15th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@asaf Agreed this isn't that good, have you heard TDAGARIM though?

Prophet178
November 15th 2009


6397 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good writting youngin.

handoman
November 15th 2009


2386 Comments


this and yfw are getting close to 5 for me

Gyromania
November 15th 2009


15686 Comments


Not as good as TDAG but still amazing.

sspedding
November 15th 2009


4761 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i dont like this

Pessimist
November 15th 2009


191 Comments


Good review. However...

"After the quiet, subtle Tautou, the senses are hit with a crash cymbal and a basic yet powerful drum beat, signalling the beginning of "Sic Transit Gloria... Glory Fades". The meaning of the song (date rape) is handled non-traditionally."

"STG...GF" is not about date rape. It's about a teenager having sex with a (presumably) experienced girl because he thinks it's a step towards adulthood despite not really wanting sex.

DiceMan
November 15th 2009


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've never actually listened to this album despite liking all of their other stuff a ton. and YFW should never in a million years be a 5 for anybody. But it is alright pop-punk.

handoman
November 15th 2009


2386 Comments


oh okay

qwe3
November 15th 2009


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I've never actually listened to this album despite liking all of their other stuff a ton. and YFW should never in a million years be a 5 for anybody. But it is alright pop-punk."

YFW rules, opinions etc.
also this is an amazing album so i'd listen to it were i you

JackFr
November 16th 2009


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'd say that STG... GF isn't about complete date rape. Not literally. I'll agree with you here, but I really didn't feel like explaining the entire concept. Basically the rape factor is that he was pressured to do it and is uncomfortable with it but yet is unable to stop it.

EasternLight
November 16th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

actually my leaast fav brand new album

JackFr
December 4th 2009


37 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I updated the review, well re-wrote it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy