Attack Attack! (US)
Someday Came Suddenly


3.5
great

Review

by Nick Habisch USER (53 Reviews)
November 11th, 2009 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A catchy, fun album, that while not anywhere close to metalcore's elite, is still worth a listen.


In the Internet age we live in opinions and judgments seem to get spread like wildfire, plaguing every credible “source” the everyday person frequents. These rumors can add anticipation and excitement to an event (See the Call of Duty MW 2 craze) or in the case of Attack! Attack!’s debut album, Someday Came Suddenly, these same rumors can cause unwarranted mass hatred and backlash.

I’m sure by now everyone on Sputnik, and a lot of other people, have seen the infamous Stick Stickly video which branded Attack! Attack! with the term “crabcore”. Many people were quick to write off this band, as their antics in the video created much backlash among viewers. Not many people really took a close listen to the album as a whole, which in spite of all the hatred spewed at the band, is actually a solid, enjoyable metalcore album.

Right off the bat I’l go ahead and say that Attack! Attack! is not a musically technical band. Songs are pretty much based off the same formula: large amounts of breakdowns, power chords, and octave chords, autotuned clean vocals mixed with harsh screams, typical metalcore drumming, and the occasional keyboards coming in and out. Sounds like something that would put to sleep all but the most metalcore obsessed listener right? Wrong, although the bands ideas are relatively basic, they make up for it by writing catchy, easily digested tunes.

Songs like Stick Stickly, and What Happens If I Cant… are just a few of the catchy songs found on Someday Came Suddenly. Using the simplistic guitar work to create riffs that get lodged deep into your brain, such as at the 40-second mark in Dr. Shavargo Pt. 3, Attack! Attack!’s guitarists, while not being at the technical level of say August Burns Red, get the job done in a proficient manner. Keys play an important role on this album, from the techno break at the 2:40 mark in Stick Stickly, to the 2 minute and 7 second interlude, which is entirely keys, the keyboards play a prominent role on Someday Came Suddenly. The drums, when not being electric, are your standard metalcore drums. Not amazing, but good enough to keep the album moving. Bass is as always, inaudible.

Now for the single thing that may irk listeners more then the “crabcore: antics, the vocals. Mixing harsh vocals with obviously autotuned clean vocals, I personally think Attack! Attack! boasts one of the more unique (well not so much anymore) vocals combinations in metal. The screamer, while not being as good as say Spencer Chamberlain of Underoath, is not as bad as Oli Sykes is on Suicide Season, so I can’t say I’m complaining. The autotuned vocals are another issue. Many people find this is just a cover for a vocalist who cannot sing, and although I agree with this theory, I enjoy the use of autotune on this album. It seems to work well with the European dance style keys that are used, and gives the band a unique element between heavy parts and the more dreamy atmospheric sections.

Although many of you will quickly neg me on this review because of your bias’, I hope I at least convinced a few souls to give this album a closer listen. While not the best metalcore album I have heard (or even in the top 15) it is still a fun album to listen to every once in a while.



Recent reviews by this author
Lights SiberiaAnimal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
Breathe Carolina Hell Is What You Make ItAnimal Collective Water Curses
Animal Collective ODDSACMichael Andrews Donnie Darko
user ratings (1214)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
WhiteWallStargazers
November 11th 2009


2647 Comments


Kinda long, and I doubt many will read the whole thing before negging, but I hope I made my point.

cirq
November 11th 2009


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't read it

BSX
November 11th 2009


1634 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Bass? What the hell is that?

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

hydeyomoney
November 11th 2009


934 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

crabcore

cirq
November 11th 2009


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Crabbycoreee

americanmusicmachine
November 11th 2009


3953 Comments


spidercrabcore

shortone323
November 11th 2009


883 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes to this review. Like the fact that someone on this site wrote a review without just watching the video for Stick Stickly. This stuff is fun, catchy and while you're not going to listen to the entire album on repeat that often, it's good for an every so often listen. All the people who gave this a 1 or a 1.5 don't like fun, or they don't like the genre, and shouldn't be rating it in the first place(that might be debatable).

And pos'd. But fix the single l in "I'll" in the first sentence of the third paragraph and close the quotes on "crabcore in the begining of the fifth paragraph.

BigTuna
November 11th 2009


5161 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree, it's catchy. But catchy doesn't get a 3.5 for me. Still, definitely doesn't deserve ALL the hate it gets, just some.

Fapper
November 11th 2009


649 Comments


Agreed ^

Mordecai.
November 11th 2009


8282 Comments


i give this album a Jewish "eh"

Waior
November 11th 2009


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

HAH

ninjuice
November 11th 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Crabcore more like crapcore amirite

Mordecai.
November 11th 2009


8282 Comments


yes, you are right

PinkBlackberry
November 11th 2009


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have to agree.

this album isn't going to make the top 100 list. they aren't going to win any awards for changing the scene for ever. but they are still going to fill your head with fun music.

i agree 100% with the music being easily digestible, you can listen to the entire CD, and feel like you have listened to something fun, while not having to pay attention to every intricate detail. every fill isnt perfect, but who the fuck seriously wants to sit down to a CD and pick it apart for its flaws and positives. if you did that then you aren't really enjoying music as it was intended. and that is a way to enjoy what a person is trying to portray, be it teen angst, or anger. it's a fun way to tell people about it.

and i agree 100% with shortone too. if you don't like it, then bloody don't review it (or listen too it)

Mordecai.
November 11th 2009


8282 Comments


and the Nobel Peace Prize goes to...

ninjuice
November 11th 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

if you don't like it, then bloody don't review it (or listen too it)

Can you spot the newbie?

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
November 11th 2009


8019 Comments


Nice review, but this album is beyond terrible

PinkBlackberry
November 12th 2009


2346 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Newbie, yes. but i do read alot of reviews. like...alot, and the thing i have seen countless times is the bashing of the genre for the sake of bashing on the genre. hear double kicks being emphasized and or a auto tuned part played in a song, and they're horrible musicians. I just wish Sputnik diddnt have to rag on Metalcore as hard as they (we) do.

that being said, my approach was balls out for the simple fact that i am not known on here, so i apologize for that. but the fact remains that i wish people diddnt judge and criticize metalcore =)

Blindsided
November 12th 2009


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm glad I'm not the only one that likes this for a fun listen.

EasternLight
November 12th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this isnt the worst out there, but i cant stand autotune



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy