A Voice Like Rhetoric
Ethos


4.5
superb

Review

by Andrew Markowich USER (6 Reviews)
November 4th, 2009 | 33 replies | 7,698 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Voice Like Rhetoric show nothing but absolute maturity in a spectacular debut.

At the Drive-In has been a huge influence on countless modern bands. Their sound is a formidable force that has left a lasting impression on music. A Voice Like Rhetoric, from North Western Pennsylvania, are quite similar in sound to At the Drive-In. They show a similar vibe to their music. The same power and ferocity is present, and spectacular musicianship is thrown on top of that. A Voice Like Rhetoric are a mathier version of At the Drive-In, simply put. Ethos shows the image of a band that sound like they’ve been making music for a long time, and provides a new, fresh sound for those looking for a fantastic post-hardcore record.

The record is produced fantastically. The drums, guitar, and bass are all audible and pleasant to the ear, and the vocals are spot on. The vocals are atypical of post-hardcore for the most part, but they do not hinder the record in any way. Honestly, Ethos would still be great even without the vocals. The songwriting and instrumentation are what make this record shine, and it shines brightly.

The guitar work provided by the two guitarists is nothing short of phenomenal. It seems like there isn’t a second where there isn’t an interesting guitar fill or bass line. There’s always something going on, but it doesn’t tire the listener. The countless flurries and sprinkles of guitar virtuosity throughout Ethos is both surprising, and refreshing. The math-rock influence to their music is very fitting, and a pleasure to hear. They use the complex rhythms found in math-rock, and add more melody and catchiness to make their sound one of a kind.

Ethos is, quite frankly, one of the best debuts of any artist I’ve heard for a very long time. It is unfortunate that the band has gone, for the most part, overlooked by many people that would most likely enjoy their music. One can only imagine where A Voice Like Rhetoric can go from this great effort, seeing as most bands don’t come close to achieving the greatness that Ethos is in their entire existence. If you have a second, just head over to their myspace and listen to a track or two. I doubt you’ll be anything less than impressed.



Recent reviews by this author
The Paramedic Smoke & MirrorsCinema Sleep Make Your Way
A Day In The Life Nine Reasons To Say GoodbyeThe Dear & Departed Something Quite Peculiar
The Paramedic Apollo
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
EasternLight
November 4th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

www.myspace.com/avoicelikerhetoric

yeah wrote this up during english, so yeah it's short. hard to find time for a thorough review.

March_Of_Sand
November 4th 2009


784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not surprised that you would be the one to review this.
Review may be short but its still good.
Still can't wait till I get this in the mail.

EasternLight
November 4th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man, just wish more people would give me feedback you know.
this band is tight people.

if people don't believe me, here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFGJrZNJyDo&feature=related

KritikalMotion
November 5th 2009


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is solid, but sounds too much like a lot of other things to be higher then a 4

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - The Physical World

EasternLight
November 5th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what other groups sound like this? i havent heard any.

March_Of_Sand
November 5th 2009


784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Found a link to listen to their full album in case anybody wants to check it out.

http://www.msplinks.com/MDFodHRwOi8vd3d3LmlsaWtlLmNvbS9hcnRpc3QvQStWb2ljZStMaWtlK1JoZXRvcmljLw==

After my first listen I would agree that this is a solid album. There really wasn't one song I didn't like.

EasternLight
November 5th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

*Cries* no one cares enough to listen and/or read!

KritikalMotion
November 5th 2009


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

):

check out the band im digging eastern. nothing amazing but pretty cool stuff. you can find it on alltimegreatisthits

EasternLight
November 5th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whoa myspace tracks are good man whoa i like

KritikalMotion
November 6th 2009


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah they're pretty interesting. reminds me of la dispute but with a more matured singer. screams are the only weak point, there not bad, just average.

Yazz_Flute
November 26th 2009


18782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I couldve sworn a few days ago this didnt have a review...I was gonna do this one >=/

Aha I still might. Good review is good. Album is excellent, though it starts off a bit slow.

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

EasternLight
November 27th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

do it man, these guys deserve more attention.

Yazz_Flute
November 27th 2009


18782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I just realized the tracklisting I have is way different than what's listed here...

March_Of_Sand
November 27th 2009


784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha, I just checked mine and its also different.

EasternLight
November 27th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my bad probably. album still rules.

Yazz_Flute
November 27th 2009


18782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

My tracklisting is:

1. Billy Enforcie
2. Never Trust a French Auto Mechanic
3. Please Don't Call Me a Mindless Philosophy
4. Breathing Is Believing
5. Familiarity Breeds Contempt
6. Man, Multiplication is Hard!
7. Psst, Our Vestige is Showing
8. Foxhole
9. I'm Sort of a Perfectionis...Perfectionis...T
10. The Dutch Are Practical, It's a Hub
11. Your New Disco-Tech

Their song titles are kind of like FoB gone mathcore...

Yazz_Flute
November 27th 2009


18782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

btw, Man, Multiplication is Hard! Is such a fucking great song. I was a bit underwhelmed at the first half of the album then that
song came and just blew me away, the two that follow it are also excellent.

March_Of_Sand
November 27th 2009


784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My tracklisting is the same as yours.

Yazz_Flute
November 27th 2009


18782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Okay good. Familiarity transistions into Multiplication way too well for it to be the wrong tracklisting.

KritikalMotion
November 27th 2009


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's written as "Never Trust a Fench Auto Mechanic" on their myspace.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy