Converge
Axe to Fall


3.0
good

Review

by Zettel USER (37 Reviews)
November 3rd, 2009 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Converge returns to please their fans, with a rather predictable album.

The times comes when a band doesn't know what to do about themselves. They experiment a little down the road, but they ultimately don't feel comfortably with the direction the band takes. It doesn't feel right, they chicken out. The result? They come back to "their roots", and try to get back to a more familiar sound, which most of the time is closer to their best record. It feels natural, and somehow, fans are happy with it. It doesn't mean the result is bad; in fact, it can be pretty good. Good memories are always welcome, and when you get somehow the chance to re-live them, you take it. So you missed "Jane Doe"? You got it.

Ok, "Axe to Fall" is not "Jane Doe", and it's not intended to be. But it gets closer to it than anything after
their landmark album, and surprisingly enough, it gets the more entusiastic reviews since the aforementioned album. The comparisons are not in vain. In "Axe to Fail" you find Converge doing what they do best, and maybe that's the problem. The albums feels too safe. It doesn't want to dissapoint. It gives you what you want. The band becomes predictable.

Will I attempt to describe the album's sound? It would be redundant. It sounds like Converge. There are hints to "Jane Doe", to "You Fail Me" and to "No Heroes", and pretty much everything they've done before. The band is well aware of this, and maybe it's one of the reasons they got some guest musicians to "fresh" the sound. The album is not without great and interesting moments, especially towards the final three tracks (anything previous is old school Converge), but it's no spectacular stuff. "Cruel Blood" sounds for a moment like a Neurosis track, and guess what? Steve Von Till provides the vocals. "Wretched World" is the most interesting song on the album, and is featured at the very end. It sounds almost great just because it sounds so different from the others songs, but still it doesn't make up for the entire album.

If you want old school Converge, you have it. You'll find the drumming, the guitars, the screaming, the intensity you love. But very little else. For most people, it will be enough, but this is not a great album. I'd like to think Converge can continue to push the envelope a little more. But I don't know, maybe they're happy with their achievements. Maybe this is Converge's sound, once and for all. I'm pleased with the album, and I'm afraid it will be the reason I'll forget it in some months.



Recent reviews by this author
Fhloston Paradigm The PhoenixIntegral Sercosa
Field Rotation Acoustic TalesCristian Vogel All Music Has Come To An End
Saschienne UnknownPleq My Life Begins Today
user ratings (2314)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
YouAreMySilence
November 3rd 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I don't understand, this is nothing like old school Converge..

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 3rd 2009


24090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Prepare to get negged into oblivion. (I didn't neg, I'm just saying, look out for the Converge fanboys aka Sputnikmusic.com).

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

shortone323
November 3rd 2009


883 Comments


Reviews not too great, and that's with me having only rarely listened to Converge. Say goodbye to your approval rating.

ninjuice
November 3rd 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In "Axe to Fail"

Freudian slip?
Even though I know at least half to 3/4 of the site know the band, a review should still describe the album's sound, which you didn't do at all
I'm on the fence with negging this, mainly because it's your second review.

Comatorium.
November 3rd 2009


4195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Review is kind of horrible. You did nothing to justify the low rating. This album sure as hell deserves more than a 3, and if you're giving it a 3, JUSTIFY it with more than four paragraphs.

BassDemon333
November 3rd 2009


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Review is bad, album is amazing. It deserves a much higher rating than a 3.

Zettel
November 3rd 2009


604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for you comments. I'm pretty new here, and I liked the site a lot, since there's a lot of interesting writing and diverse opinions, and you're allowed to participate.
I suppose "negging" the review means something like voting me down, but I don't understand why someone would do that, since I don't think it's a terrible review.

Thor
November 3rd 2009


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you want old school Converge, you have it.

Except that this album doesn't sound like old school Converge at all.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

ninjuice
November 3rd 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reading over it again, you have the skeleton of a good review here. If the writing was stronger and/or there was more detail I'd probably pos this. It feels like you want to like this but just because it sounds like their previous albums, it's somehow disappointing (which doesn't exactly make sense to me). Plus, you called the album Axe to Fail and the song Cruel Blood, which says you rushed this.
I'm surprised this doesn't have more comments tbh. edit: nevermind

shade
November 3rd 2009


1198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ everyone said what they needed to say on all the other reviews

Zettel
November 3rd 2009


604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I don't think 3 is a low rating. It's more than a 4 or 5 stars is too high. I didn't know there was a paragraph minimum to justify an opinion. I thought I made myself clear about why I think this album is just good. I didn't feel like writing a long winded review just to make across my point. Again, thanks for the comments.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2009


31611 Comments


Imagine i've never heard Converge before, how would this review help me?

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 3rd 2009


3780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You just gotta be careful around popular artists man, you're giving this a 3, and it doesn't really even describe the sound. You admit as much in the review but that doesn't make it ok.

ninjuice
November 3rd 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't know there was a paragraph minimum to justify an opinion. I thought I made myself clear about why I think this album is just good. I didn't feel like writing a long winded review just to make across my point. Again, thanks for the comments.

There isn't, and I've seen excellent reviews that are this long or slightly shorter. Pretty much all this review says is "This sounds like Converge being Converge and I don't like it that much". That's a soundoff.

Zettel
November 3rd 2009


604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ninjuice and Streetlight: thanks for the constructive criticism.

WarAllTheTime988
November 3rd 2009


360 Comments


So yeah - I'm not trying to be a jerk, but this once again does not prove your point. This reiterates your initial statement without any justification and does so in four paragraphs. I completely respect your opinion man, but I don't see your point because you don't back up what you're saying.
In one post (on the other review) you say you're "a newbie" to Converge - and than go on to say "A newcomer might find the album impressive, but a long time fan knows this is average for Converge". If you are in fact a "newbie" to Converge, why are you trying to justify your opinion as a long time fan? None of this adds up to a (insert whatever rating). Like I said - I respect your opinion and my life will certainly go on with wherever you hold this - but maybe try putting your reasoning into this review or even posts at that if you are going to make such bold statements.

Zettel
November 3rd 2009


604 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hi again, War. I really appreciate your comments, but I guess we can't understand each other. I agree on one thing with you: I haven't listened to this album for long enough to make a definitive statement about it. It doesn't stop other reviewers for giving it 4 or 5 stars, though.

Time can change everything and maybe in a year I'll think this is their masterpiece, who knows. I was just trying to give a different perspective, coming from someone who doesn't feel the need to herald it as a great album, and who is very pleased to have discovered this band. And with all due respect, I don't think reason proves anything in music. If you still think my opinion is unfounded, there's nothing I can do about it. I can't do better.
I appreciate your respectful manners, since we can have a healthy discussion, but I'll admit you know the band better than me. Still..it's just a good album!

WarAllTheTime988
November 3rd 2009


360 Comments


I appreciate the good conversation as well, so thanks. Also - I 100% agree with the fact that it does work both ways - and a lot of times people give things too high of ratings too soon so I understand where you're coming from!

Avirov
November 3rd 2009


1206 Comments


Yeah unless you're a fanboy and it really appeals to you there's nothing that objectively amazing about this album.

handoman
November 3rd 2009


2386 Comments


so basically you like it or youre a fag



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy