The Paper Chase
Someday This Could All Be Yours Vol.1


4.0
excellent

Review

by ziroth USER (3 Reviews)
November 3rd, 2009 | 99 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


Everyday there is another album being released by a band striving to be different, but somewhere in the process something goes wrong. Sometimes a band works so hard to be different that the result instead of being homogenous and boring, is so different that it is inaccessible. Sometimes the idea sounds great on paper, but doesn’t come out as planned. And then there is the blatantly obvious: the idea is just plain bad. Someday This Could All Be Yours falls under the rare group of albums that have ideas that just shouldn’t work, but somehow, they do. Sort of a true “that’s so crazy, it just might work” type situation.

But what makes Someday This Could All Be Yours so different? Sure, there are random sound samples and utilization of the piano and synthesizer, but that’s all been done before.

The first thing an ordinary listener will notice about Someday This Could All Be Yours is that it is chockfull of dissonance. Every song is layered in every possible way, and none of the separate layers sound like they should go together. Unwarranted flats that break the rules in any normal pop songwriter’s playbook plague the album. This dissonance will cause the average pop (actually any listener not familiar with The Paper Chase) listener to raise one eyebrow disconcertedly. This said dissonance gives the album a very demented mood that suits the lyrical content present throughout.

Vocally, John Congleton sounds like a more raw version of The Mountain Goats’ John Darnielle. He rambles through Someday This Could All Be Yours with less precision than one would expect of a pop front man, often missing (or what one would expect to be the next) notes by half-steps in his constricted vocalization. But perhaps the strangest aspect of the music, is that as brilliantly off-kilter as it sounds, it’s catchy, though with choruses like no one’s gonna save you / no one’s gonna save you the lyrics aren’t exactly suitable for a sing-along. The lyrics are mostly depressing, contrary to the way they are presented, but fitting for the universal sound of the album. Even the rhyming is as rough around the edges as they come, adding to the central theme of uneasiness. Often words will be rhymed with the same word, and when there is an actual rhyme…it seems too soon or displaced.

As a whole, all of the layers are pseudo-cohesive, and make for a odd experience, but the experience is one worth having. If out of the ordinary is not your cup of tea this isn’t for you, then don’t bother picking this up, but if you’re ever in the mood for an exotic, new style of indie-pop, Someday This Could All Be Yours should be added to your library immediately.


user ratings (96)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Powerban (4.5)
Possible album of the year for some, Top 10 of the year material for plenty of sputnikers...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ziroth
November 2nd 2009


1252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review




accompliceofmydeath
November 3rd 2009


4302 Comments


The first paragraph has a bit of redundancy and the second paragraph seems like it should flow it into something else, but doesn't. It's a decent first review for sure.

Digging: Snapcase - Progression Through Unlearning

Lions
November 3rd 2009


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm glad someone reviewed this, as it's an excellent and underhyped album. Good for a first review, but you could have said a lot more. There's a lot to this album and thus a lot to be said about it.

Avirov
November 3rd 2009


1206 Comments


I really like how this is written. The transition from second to third paragraph is a little awkward, but that's all I can pick out. Album is amazing.

ziroth
November 3rd 2009


1252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I sorta rushed this, needs a little work. I'm not to great at describing the music in great detail, but you're definitely right, I could of said more. Thanks for comments.. I'll try to improve this in the very near future.

Lions
November 3rd 2009


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well hey, as much as I like writing, I still don't feel comfortable or good at writing about music. You've already proven to be well capable. Keep on reviewing man.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 17th 2009


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh yeah. This album is soooo good! Completely different than anything else.

Avirov
November 17th 2009


1206 Comments


Yeah The Paper Chase is one of the most unique bands around at the moment.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2009


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It still keeps growing on me. 4 => 4.5

Roach
November 28th 2009


2148 Comments


I can really see this growing on me

Phantom
November 28th 2009


8930 Comments


oh
sup george

Roach
November 28th 2009


2148 Comments


nm, just chilling in the jungle
you

Phantom
November 28th 2009


8930 Comments


sweet, how did you fix your hair?

just had beef in oyster sauce and i think i need to poop

Roach
November 28th 2009


2148 Comments


grease from that greasy italian gino

oh nice im gonna go see paranormal activity in a bit and im gonna poop

KritikalMotion
November 29th 2009


2262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

did not see this review, glad someone finally did review this

this album is crazy and manical. so awesome, is about a 4.8 for me.

CrazyFool84
December 1st 2009


1081 Comments


This is a good job for a first review, you should throw out some more. Like others mentioned, maybe mention a little more, but the length itself isn't really a big deal at all. All in all I thought it was pretty well written, pos'd.

edit: Slick, 666th post! Must savor the darkness

Powerban
December 4th 2009


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is win. Should be in my list.

Powerban
December 7th 2009


2380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ALL OF THE BEAUTIFUL BODIESSSS

Just look at the 'members also liked' section to encourage you a bit more.

They're pretty much a sinister take on indie music.



handoman
December 7th 2009


2386 Comments


kane lieks it

KritikalMotion
December 7th 2009


2262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs moar ratings



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy