Lustmord
Heresy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kyle Ward STAFF
October 26th, 2009 | 140 replies | 15,363 views


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the essential dark ambient albums.

If there is one thing which is conveyed through Brian Williams’ music, if there is one word to describe what it is like to listen to, it would be fear. Williams’ project Lustmord is often cited for creating the dark ambient genre, and is still one of the finest at perfecting its minimalistic noise which entrances the listener with droning, almost suffocating bass reverb and eerily unnatural noises. Lustmord’s 1990 album Heresy is widely renowned as a classic among the genre, a masterpiece of fusing together music and human emotions. There are places where the music is nothing more than background noise one would hear in a horror film, however the difference between the laughable film genre of horror and the dark ambient of Lustmord is the fact that it really and truly makes you feel uneasy.

Ambient music is quite difficult to describe and critique because it can be interpreted in a vast number of ways. Take, for example, the second piece on Heresy, a ten minute saunter through a scarily (pun intended) simple piece of songwriting which comes across with about the same impact as sleeping alone for a night in a medieval graveyard. Indeed, Williams has gone to great lengths to illustrate the seriousness and atmospheric qualities of his music. Through such methods as sampling recordings in catacombs, mines, crypts, and places where many people were killed, the music almost transcends the line between reality and just another track in your music library. The only real noticeable instrument on the album is a Tibetan horn, awash in a thick cloud of rumbling bass. There is something unnatural and paranormal about Heresy which I simply have not seen replicated.

The album is a compilation of actual recordings from 1985-1989 carried out on site, and then fed through a computer to have sound levels tinkered with and recordings mastered to have the fullest impact, making the listener feel as if they too are sitting next to Williams in whatever desolate and morbid place he chooses as inspiration for his music. The incessant droning of sounds whose origin remain a mystery plays mind games with the listener, and to spin this album before falling asleep is surely asking to do exactly the opposite, because without a doubt you will be left wide-eyed, staring at the ceiling as this one hour trek through the darkness plays out before your mind’s eye.



Recent reviews by this author
Ainulindale NevrastSargeist Feeding the Crawling Shadows
Vindensang AlphaInnsmouth Consumed By Elder Sign
Behemoth The SatanistWoods of Desolation As The Stars
user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow short review. This was harder than I thought to write.

Digging: Tiamat - Wildhoney

fireaboveicebelow
October 26th 2009



6837 Comments


I disagree strongly with the summary but the review is really good, and surprisingly out of your element kudos

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks.

Any rec's for this genre? I only have precious few albums but this is by far the best one I've heard.

fireaboveicebelow
October 26th 2009



6837 Comments


dahlia's tear - harmonious euphonies
atrium carceri - ptahil
burial hex - initiations
zoat-aon - the triplex bestial
brian eno - evening star
coil - musick to play in the dark vol. 1

AlexTM510
October 26th 2009



1396 Comments


Sweet review man.I only have "Other" from Lustmord-and based on your review i'll def. give this a listen tonight. anything else i should check out from him?



Digging: Daniel Blomquist - measureless oceans of space

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only heard this album and "Other" and this is better IMO

dahlia's tear - harmonious euphonies

Just read your review for that, I'll get it ASAP.

Si1v3RfaNg
October 26th 2009



801 Comments


Very nice review man... pos'd. It's funny because I just downloaded this the other day, and made the mistake of trying to fall asleep to it. Not m best idea. I figured ambient, easy to fall asleep to, scared the shit out of me. But it's awesome nonetheless.

Wizard
October 26th 2009



18757 Comments


Your shortest review to date? Still well written and I pos'd. I will admit though, this sounds like it might make me feel uncomfortable.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this sounds like it might make me feel uncomfortable.

As was intended. And yes, probably my shortest review to date.

Si1v3RfaNg
October 26th 2009



801 Comments


It's short... but very well written. And yeah I think when music manages to make you feel creeped out that's an extreme achievement.

BallsToTheWall
October 26th 2009



44164 Comments


Raison D Etre. Oh shit Crysis droppin da ambient on our bitch asses. And not really a short review when compared to my SSS. one

Wizard
October 26th 2009



18757 Comments


Ambient is so metal.

BallsToTheWall
October 26th 2009



44164 Comments


Is it just me or did your avatar just shrink karl? Or is my Summoned Skull stats 2500/1600 too bulky?

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I believe your avatar is larger

Wizard
October 26th 2009



18757 Comments


Is it just me or did your avatar just shrink karl? Or is my Summoned Skull stats 2500/1600 too bulky?

I don't know about my avatar but I think my penis got bigger sampling this. If you like this album Crysis, you would love Leviathan's A Silhouette in Splinters.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've seen that in the store a million times but never bothered buying it. I'll definitely check it out now, though.

Wizard
October 26th 2009



18757 Comments


You know how Wrest does all of those creepy sound-effects? It's an hour of that if you can withstand it. Creeps the shit out of me. Might review it.

Crap, this album is creepy as well. You can stream the whole thing on Youtube hahahaha. Once again, I've found away around downloading.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2009



15983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wizard avoids downloading once again! Props haha

Wizard
October 26th 2009



18757 Comments


Prize?

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 26th 2009



3743 Comments


glad you're streamlining your reviews and cutting out all the stupid stuff, your last few have been some good stuff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy