Mastodon
Leviathan


5.0
classic

Review

by Luke M. Jenkins (Confessed) USER (58 Reviews)
August 22nd, 2005 | 22 replies | 4,784 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Mastodon are currently, in my opinion, one of the only metal bands breaking new ground within the scene. They combine crushingly heavy riffs with intricate song structures and concept album themes. Their third offering and second major release, 'Leviathan', is an exceptional album blending all of the aforementioned. Now, I was annoyed with myself when I accidentally rated this album as a 0.5 and I have decided to clear up any issues by typing up this review. I hope you find it interesting in some way.

What is good about the album?

There are several very good things to be said about 'Leviathan'. For starters, there are several pleasing tracks to be heard and some wonderful guitar wizardry courtesy of Bill Kelliher and Brent Hinds. Troy Sanders who also plays bass on th3e album contributes some excellent vocals on nearly every track and the drumming of Brann Dailor is utterly fantastic. The standout tracks on this album have to be Blood And Thunder, Seabeast, Iron Tusk, Aqua Dementia, Hearts Alive and Joseph Merrick. When you consider that is six out of the ten tracks on the CD, that is a pretty good feat in itself.
The album's concept is based on the Herman Melville novel 'Moby Dick', and many of the song titles and their lyrics relate to this concept. In all, it is a really cool concept to write an album on and Mastodon have succeeded in doing a grand job. However, the real standout point here that cannot go unmentioned is the epic 14-minute long 'Hearts Alive'. The song boasts some marvellous riffs, well thought-out lyrics, brutal riffs and a monstrous solo.

What is not so good about the album?

Well, there are a couple of annoying tracks that need mentioning. 'I Am Ahab' is not a particularly bad song but it just riles me for some reason. Perhaps it is because I just have not got a clue what the lyrics are about. It is a good thing it is a short track. Another annoying track is 'Naked Burn'. It starts off okay but the vocals are awful when they come in. 'Island' is crushingly heavy but sort of fades and becomes a little boring. Some listeners may also be put off by the fact that it is hard to hear what Troy Sanders is actually singing bevause he is drowned out just a little by the instruments and he is yelling his socks off. Others may be put off by the main concept of the album and the fact it is based on a book about a whale. I must admit I was slightly apprehensive about it but you can really get into it if you are willing to.

Why buy?

Overall, 'Leviathan' is a rip-roaring album (hence it's perfect score) and it is one of the most ambitious, progressive metal albums you are ver likely to buy this decade. And there are six killer tracks on the CD so it is definitely good value for money.

Hope you enjoyed this review. I will hopefully be writing more in the future.

Track Ratings

Blood And Thunder 5/5
I Am Ahab 4/5
Seabeast 5/5
Island 4/5
Iron Tusk 5/5
Megalodon 4.5/5
Naked Burn 3.5/5
Aqua Dementia 5/5
Hearts Alive 5/5
Joseph Merrick 5/5



Recent reviews by this author
War From A Harlots Mouth MMXPig Destroyer Terrifyer
War From A Harlots Mouth TransmetropolitanDevil Sold His Soul A Fragile Hope
Coheed and Cambria No World for TomorrowPig Destroyer Painter of Dead Girls
user ratings (3078)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ace_of_Bass2112
August 22nd 2005



257 Comments


its a good album but not a 5/5

Priestmetal
August 22nd 2005



542 Comments


This is another one of those bands thats getting lots of adulation from users here. I should check them out but I seriously bet they aren't anything THAT special.

M A D R I G A L
August 22nd 2005



103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're good, and I think they are a breath of fresh air in the metal genre, but the album is no higher than a four. But then again, that's only my opinion.

pixiesfanyo
August 22nd 2005



1222 Comments


this isn't a breath of fresh air.

this is suck.

M A D R I G A L
August 22nd 2005



103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You've been sadly mistaken...Fall Out Boy is suck...

Thor
August 22nd 2005



10178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a great CD, but definetly not good enough to make it a classic. Hopefully their next CD might be worthy of that position. :thumb:

Werny
June 16th 2006



148 Comments


You have no clue what I Am Ahab is about? I've only heard the song once and haven't read the lyrics but I can tell what it's about. Good review too, nice and concise.

necromouse
June 16th 2006



14 Comments


i dont like you

PaulMako
June 16th 2006



12 Comments


This album is amazing. If not a 5 then defiantly a 4.5 . When I first heard it I must admit it didnt hit me as anything special, but when I listend again about half a year later I completly fell in love with it. You need to accept it for what it is, stop thinking Blood and Thunder is the only good song and just enjoy the freshness, skill and sheer heavyness of this band. I cannot wait for Blood Mountain to come out.

Cravinov13
June 16th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review. I do not see the amazing spark in these guys that a lot of other
people see. To me their just average.This Message Edited On 06.16.06

Confessed2005
January 21st 2008



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Phenomenal album. Listened to it again the other night and even the weaker tracks are still kickass.

RJayZ
January 21st 2008



84 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really like this review, and I find myself agreeing almost completely with it. I like your straight to the point approach.

This really is an incredible album, though. I honestly think Hearts Alive is one of the best prog metal tracks I've ever listened to.

Confessed2005
January 21st 2008



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hearts Alive kicks ass. Every riff in that song is relevant and so well written. Structurally speaking, I think it is their best song.

RJayZ
January 21st 2008



84 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree.

The outro riff is one of my favourite metal riffs pretty much ever. It's just incredible.

Wizard
January 21st 2008



19248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I found one of the best tracks on here to be their Pink Floydian sounding song Joseph Merrick. I am Ahab rules too!

Digging: Nachtmystium - The World We Left Behind

Confessed2005
January 21st 2008



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Joseph Merrick was my favourite track from here for a while. I yearned to learn it on guitar but couldn't find any tabs. The amount of twists and turns throughout make it such a remarkable and brilliant little instrumental. Mastodon's instrumentals are all pretty exceptional. Elephant Man from Remission is also awesome.

Wizard
January 21st 2008



19248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have no idea how people think these guys have no talent. I've heard that around here from a few people who claim to be 'supposed' experts on metal.

LifeInABox
January 21st 2008



3708 Comments


This album was amazing. Blood Mountian sucked horribly.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah. Not as good as this but it didn't suck.

HeadCharge123
June 26th 2008



475 Comments


I think I just about prefer this over Blood Mountain.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy