Sub Dub Micromachine
Auferstanden!


3.5
great

Review

by Magnus Altkula STAFF
October 25th, 2009 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist


Sub Dub Micromachine is an industrialized alternative metal act from Germany, similar to their fellow compatriots, Rammstein. The only big difference between the two is in the lyrics - Sub Dub Micromachine's lyrics are also fun and all that, but they just don't contain the vulgarity, shock value, and mind-numbness found in Rammstein. Musically though, the two bands are very similar.

Auferstanden! contains 11 songs of fun industrialized metal. It is meant for easy listening; most of the songs are about 3.30 long and to the point. Still, they contain many hooks, and the fast-paced style they are played in keeps things interesting till the end. Auferstanden! is fun, speedy, and the big chunky riffs that dominate the album are all well played out. Two songs that greatly differ from the rest of the album are the dark, almost sinister "Fly" and the slow, industrialized ballad (yes I know, "industrial" and "ballad" sound weird in one sentence, but Sub Dub Micromachine are able to make it work) "Slave Of My Mind". Both songs only benefit the album, giving it more diversity and making it all the more valuable. "Truth Is A Lie" is also a slower song, and while this album's weakest song, is still good enough.

A thing that I feel should be brought out too is the bass work. Both the guitars and bass are very low-tuned and deep sounding, but the bass is especially powerful. It's even a little bit Korn-ish in parts; it's exceptionally low-pitched and since the strings are very flaccidly fitted, the bass sound is very gurgling and growling. I can even take the Korn references a little further as while the style of Sub Dub Micromachine is alternative metal mixed with industrial elements then they do have a nu metal influence that is best (and probably only) shown in songs "Naked" and "No Time". Though, unless you are a close-minded ***, the nu metal influence is easily digestible since it’s very minor.

Auferstanden! is just an easy, speedy and plain fun industrialized metal album. It is an easy listen and doesn't need a lot of time to grow or digest; on the contrary, Auferstanden! packs a punch and strikes the listener on the very first listen with its energetic, up-tempo tunes. Fans of Rammstein, German metal scene, and industrialized metal should eat this up easily and it will be interesting to see where Sub Dub Micromachine goes from here.

Songs to try out before purchasing:
“Power’s Cummin’ Home”
“Fly”
“No Time”
“Grobschlaechter”



Recent reviews by this author
Atrum Tempestas NeantEluveitie Origins
MiXE1 Starlit SkinDoom:VS Earthless
Nocturnal Breed Napalm NightsThyrien Hymns of the Mortals - Songs from the North
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

possibly the shortest review i have ever written (maybe only excluding my first which sucked).

Great album, great band, check them out!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


16480 Comments


Good review (just get rid of that first sentence about you not thinking of anything, it sounds dumb), although the fact you gave this a 3.5 makes it not too high on my list of things to get. I'll look on youtube at some tracks though and decide from there.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright, i took it out, and yes, you are right, it did kind of sound dumb. Idk, i just probably wanted to stretch the opening paragraph a bit longer or something.

RobotFrank
October 25th 2009


344 Comments


Never heard of these guys, but I might be into this. You dig RAMMSTEIN but no Ministry? (Have you heard "THIEVES"?) Regardless - short, but to the point.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You dig RAMMSTEIN but no Ministry?
I'm a complex person ;)
(Have you heard "THIEVES"?)
probably not tbh, i might look into it if it's really good.

Wizard
October 25th 2009


19644 Comments


lyrics are also fun and all that, but they just don't contain the vulgarity, shock value, and mind-numbness

They are meant as satire but whatever, people will always continue to bash their lyrics.

This sounds good dude. Another fine review to boot! Have you ever listened to Wisconsin Death Trip by Static - X? Also, that Symbol of Obscurity band has some good tunes.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yep i have heard Wisconsin Death Trip. Haven't listened to it in a long time now but i remember liking it. Will dl the album later on to remind me some good old times.

Also, i'm not bashing Rammstein's lyrics, i think they are awesome in their own "special" way hahah.

Oh and thanks for the compliments and good that your are enjoying Symbol Of Obscurity.

jingledeath
October 25th 2009


7104 Comments


Great review as usual dude, probably not going to check this out. I've got too much on my plate :P

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

won't hold it against you even though i really like this :-)

Fugue
October 25th 2009


7354 Comments


Might be short but it's still a good review dude.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man. There wasn't too much to say about this, i obviously could have stretched my review, but I think I said all what's necessary about this.

Fugue
October 25th 2009


7354 Comments


Haha yeah, why take up 900 words if you can say it in 500. Tbh thats probably my main problem, all my reviews are pretty long and they seem to be getting longer.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep, that's why i made this review so short. Wasn't even a full page in word, barely crossed the half page mark.

i think length is not a problem when the review is well written and doesn't repeat itself and your's definitely don't. Your last three have all been excellent reads.



Ponton
Emeritus
October 25th 2009


5820 Comments


Good stuff. Tbh, I don't think I have ever heard a Rammstein track before so I'm not too sure what this would sound like.

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

Fugue
October 25th 2009


7354 Comments


haha thanks Magnus. Observer check out their new one, its so funny.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YOU HAVEN'T HEARD RAMMSTEIN???

dude i almost fell off my chair. Oh well, maybe it's because they are not so popular in the states but they are most definitely one of the most popular industrialized metal bands around.

Also, what do you mean you have NO IDEA how this sounds like? did you not read the review haha? I definitely described how this sounds like.

And yeah, Ross is right, check out Rammstein's new album Gregory, you won't be disappointed (and get this too btw)

Ponton
Emeritus
October 25th 2009


5820 Comments


And you definitely did, but you referenced Korn (sadly another band I haven't heard before) and Rammstein a lot. Also, I'm really unfamiliar with the industrial genre. In fact, that Crossbreed album may have been my first listen to anything like that.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009


8391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok so i understand you don't know industrial that much - it isn't the most widely known genre, but how (just seriously tell me as i can't stop giggleing) on earth haven't you heard Korn? The inventors of nu metal? one of the most famous metal bands of all time (even though they are also criticised a lot - nu metal afterall haha)? In all seriousness, that doesn't ring a bell to you?

Ponton
Emeritus
October 25th 2009


5820 Comments


Heard of them? definitely. Heard a track by them? Nope.

Growing up I always listened to classic rock radio, and since branching out I haven't had a huge desire I guess.

Must be pretty hilarious haha.

Fugue
October 25th 2009


7354 Comments


http://www.rocktube.us/index.php?module=content&id=adlcRffweae

NSFW




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy