Frank Ticheli
Sanctuary EP


4.5
superb

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
October 25th, 2009 | 59 replies | 7,400 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A 12 minute journey to the centre of your heart.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Pure and utter emotion; while it can be found in many different ways and in different places, there is no doubting the gut wrenching feeling that comes with it. Emotion can be good or bad, heartfelt or complete disappointment and as human beings we feel the highs and lows of all these throughout our lives. When Frank Ticheli put pen to score in the early days of writing his epic piece Sanctuary, the feeling of joy from a birth of a new child was pulsing through his heart, and descended on an epical 12 minute journey of pure emotional symphonic pleasure.

As a percussionist in a Wind Symphony ensemble and heard from our conductor that we were going to play a piece with very little use of percussion, of course I was disappointed, but when our conductor put Sanctuary into the CD player so the band could hear the piece, I was blown away by the sounds that were coming from the speakers. At the time I thought this was a purely sad but wonderful arrangement of music.

After many days and hours of rehearsing the piece, my love for Sanctuary just kept on increasing. I began to hear new melodies from the woodwinds and how they blended so warmly with the quiet long notes coming from the trombones, and the subtle vibrato being played by the saxophones. Slowly the piece became less sad to me, and grew as quite a happy piece of just pure and utter emotional joy.

Sanctuary itself follows a simple melody played originally by lower end brass, and then throughout the piece it is shared with the band as call and respond is used. This all eventually builds into an amazing climax that is built by the flutes, and layered by large amounts of various woodwind and percussion. Then the heavy brass takes it to another level giving it the full sound that only a band with 40 odd members can give you. After the initial climax we are presented with quite an impressive flute solo that is then handed to the clarinet and links back into the simple minimalistic melody that was first heard at the start.

Sanctuary can be heard in many ways. It can be felt as pure joy by the listener as you delve deep into the intricacies of such a simple piece, or it can be heard as a sad melody replaying a memory of the past. But all I know is that this piece is a 12 minute journey into the depths of the listeners emotional bearing, and it hits hard. If there ever was a piece of music that moved me, it's this. Sanctuary is a 12 minute journey to the centre of your heart, filling the voids that gape there, spilling with large amounts of emotion and testing your view of the way you feel or view it, be it sorrowful or emotion of immense joy. It is really open for the listener to perceive.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (6)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Since finding a hard copy of Frank Ticheli's work is ridiculously hard, here is a link to a live
recording of a band playing the piece from Ticheli's website.

There is a link here:
http://www.manhattanbeachmusiconline.com/frank_ticheli/html/mp3_ticheli.html

You just right click it and save the piece, (need to scroll down to sanctuary).
I suggest getting the 2nd one since it is played by a better band.



YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I need more classical, and you've convinced me.
Shall give it a listen.
Pos'd.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That you should! Will this is not strictly classical since it is quite modern, and symphonic.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well obviously since you now have it as 5.
I checked the link, is the piece downloadable so I can listen on my ipod later?

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

There is a link here:http://www.manhattanbeachmusiconline.com/frank_ticheli/html/mp3_ticheli.html

You just right click it and save the piece, (need to scroll down to sanctuary).
I suggest getting the 2nd one since it is played by a better band.

CrackTheSkye
October 25th 2009



726 Comments


"so the band good hear the piece" I don't understand, or is it suppose to be "could"?

Other then that good review. Posd.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers missed that one. Thanks buddy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2009



20829 Comments


Is this really an LP or an EP?

If it's technically a single, it's going to get deleted.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

No it was released on it's own as an EP. Ticheli releases his music
as single track EP's since every piece he writes is either 8 or 10 plus minutes, making it hard to
create an "ALBUM" as such. I best list EP on the end, correct Davey.

Eclectic
October 25th 2009



3302 Comments


Wow, dougie, you seem to be quite hyped about this.
Its a great review, you just need to do some major editing.

"Emotion can be; good or bad"
I may be wrong here, but that semi-colon just doesn't feel right to me.

"As a percussionist in a Wind Symphony ensemble and heard that we were going to play"
not too sure what you meant there, but I know it needs fixing.

"so the band good hear the piece"
Obviously needs to read "so the band could hear the piece"

" a sad melody replying a memory of the past"
I assume "replying" should be "replaying"

Other than that it was a marvellous review for a great piece.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers Michael, I will be on those straight away!
But yes hyped is correct, I have a strong connection with this piece of music.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That was breathetaking.
After almost 3 listens I'm still blown away.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great to hear! I'm glad some one is enjoying it as much as I do.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So I need more classical from your, preferably neo classical or even just more modern.
I mean I respect the greats, of course but I just don't see myself listening to Beethoven on regular basis, you know? haha.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well definitely dig further into Ticheli's collections, Howard Shore does a fabulous job with the Lord of the Ring trilogy soundtracks and Philip Sparke has a great range of scores. Ask user thebhoy for some more recs though, since he seems to be the most apt sputnik user with symphonic/orchestral music.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh thanks maan.
Have you heard Mono and World's End Girlfriends split?

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The only Mono I have heard is their latest release which I find fantastic.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

HTTIW is a classic!
But the split is much more neo classical, something you may enjoy that I even consider better than HTTIW but their very different records.
If you want check out my sound off for it and if intrigues you, you should def check it out.

Douglas
October 25th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'll look into it, thank mate.

YouAreMySilence
October 25th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No probably and I'll definatly look more into Ticheli.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy