Natalie Imbruglia
Come to Life


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
October 15th, 2009 | 78 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A 2nd gear finally exists, but Imbruglia is still looking for Torn Mk.II.

Back in 1997, Natalie Imbruglia took the world by storm; earning a Grammy nomination for debut LP 'Left of the Middle' and breaking airplay records with its lead single 'Torn'. While television soap stars had previously made a successful crossover to pop music, it seemed Imbruglia was different. Here was a female vocalist who sang with a decidedly indie bent, and one who was even brave enough to kick-start her musical career with a cover of a practically unknown song. You won't see the kiddies on Idol do that!

Unfortunately, since 'Torn', Imbruglia's musical career has coughed and spluttered in between the occasional acting assignments and a tilt at modeling. Recording predominantly safe and unimaginative cuts, it seemed that Imbruglia's problem was that she was so single-mindedly searching for Torn Mk.II that she never pushed herself to moving into 2nd gear. With a little help from some... ummm... friends, the now 34 year old explores that 2nd gear and the results are mixed.

The first acquaintance who collaborates with Imbruglia here is long-ago flame Chris Martin. In fact, 2 tracks are practically off-cuts from Coldplay's critically acclaimed 'Viva La Vida' LP. It's apparent with 'Fun', a cut that is too grandiose for its own good. However, the quirky & unconventionally hooky Brian Eno produced 'Lukas' is a different matter, since Natalie's innocent sounding vocals truly make this her own (although I have to wonder whether Suzanne Vega is raising an eyebrow somewhere). Later, the catchy chorus of acoustic ballad 'Scars' is also a highlight, since it has that same likeable charm.

Half-way through 'Come To Life', listeners should be satisfied, but not surprised. The latter half however, does make an effort to spice things up, as Imbruglia searches for that 2nd gear with some electro-pop. Initial signs are positive since lead single 'Want' (which has been re-worked over the years and was co-written by Martin & ex-husband Daniel Johns) successfully delivers dreamy melodies over a satisfying programmed beat. Unfortunately, it all falls apart from there since Imbruglia lacks both the attitude and vocal strength to pull off dance numbers 'WYUT' & 'Cameo'. Thankfully, the joyous & celebratory 'Wild About It' does end things on a high note.

Originally to be released in Australia & throughout Europe in October, the physical release of 'Come To Life' in the U.K (her most popular market) has been pushed back to February 2010. It is a confounding decision since this may in fact be Imbruglia's most complete package. Cynics will suggest that is not saying much... and they would be correct. However, while she has not found Torn Mk.II and continues to prove her weaknesses as a vocalist, Imbruglia has at least shown some much welcome diversity here. That, along with her hallmark sweet melodies, means that 'Come To Life' is at least worth a listen.

Recommended Tracks: Lukas, Scars & Want.



Recent reviews by this author
Alessia Cara Know-It-AllBe The Wolf Imago
Marianas Trench AstoriaState Champs Around the World and Back
Editors In DreamMeg Myers Sorry
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Jake C. Taylor (3.5)
The fourth, the fresh, the fun and the fantastic – Imbruglia pertains them all here....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, now let's see if I can make this album art work... & then you can all get hypnotized by her eyes.

Tits McGee
October 15th 2009


1876 Comments


Figured this was a John Hanson review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha. Nah, he'd only review the photo of her on the front cover... If I can get it to work damn it.







EasternLight
October 15th 2009


2710 Comments


ITS NOT WORKING NO

The Sludge
October 15th 2009


2169 Comments


Isn't this the only thing she has done since her debut?

The Sludge
October 15th 2009


2169 Comments


Oh, I haven't heard her name around since Torn.

Anyways, good review.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hanson is here... & he likes her again. He's infatuated!



Sludge, she's released 2 albums since her debut (excluding a 'Best Of').



I can't get the album art to work. MODS...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think you have been a little selective as to which of her albums you have rated (ie: the 2 better ones). In other words, you won't sink the boots into her... because you are in lurvvvve. :-)

AtavanHalen
October 15th 2009


17927 Comments


Oh thank Christ it's you CK I thought =( had become staff

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hehe. You are so mean to Jake. You've got him so paranoid that he jumped down my throat the other day when I told him he had over-rated this album. The fact that he had initially entered the wrong rating seemed to pass him by... & it's all because of you DavID. Your internet bullying can no longer go unpunished.

rasputin
October 15th 2009


14830 Comments


i would totally go her

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

... & she'd go you Rasputin... But we can't all be as handsome as your good self!



Ok John, I'll forgive you. I still think you're in love. Changing your avatar was just a way to try & get over her.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What's the difference if you were trying to get over her 18 months ago or yesterday?



Lost love hurts, no matter what the time of the year.

Mordecai.
October 15th 2009


8310 Comments


Those eyes, they are so piercing...

taylormemer
October 15th 2009


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^

Nah man. I added Glorious two months back. Oh and, yeah. My paranoia is cuz of Atavan. Just so predictable that is. Still, great album.

Spare
October 15th 2009


5567 Comments


want to penetrate her face in a sex way

Countorous
October 15th 2009


169 Comments


i want her to slob on my knob

Willie
Moderator
October 15th 2009


16586 Comments


Natalie's music is a lot like the pictures of her posted on the internet - some are awesome and some are pretty bad.

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Flotsam and Jetsam

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2009


22393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mordecai, they are indeed piercing eyes. If you see them on the video for 'Want', they blind you.



Gotta admit Jake, it did grow on me a little. A couple of the tracks like 'Twenty' & the opener revealed themselves a little more on further listens. But the weak songs (tracks 7-9 especially) only got worse.



My my, this degenerated quickly. Maybe it was better that we didn't have the album art up.



I'll have to take your word on that (re: the pictures) Trey. I've never gone a-huntin'.

Willie
Moderator
October 15th 2009


16586 Comments


I did this morning because the picture on her band page (on this site) is pretty bad.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy