The Fall of Troy
In the Unlikely Event


1.5
very poor

Review

by Joel Barish USER (8 Reviews)
October 13th, 2009 | 81 replies | 8,018 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I ASKED FOR A MASTERPIECE AND THIS IS WHAT YOU GAVE ME??

15 of 21 thought this review was well written

Who wasn’t excited for the new The Fall of Troy album? After getting rid of Tim Ward (previous bassist and screamer) and getting the super talented Frank Black (current bassist and screamer), I know I was. Hell, I was dying to hear something new from them after they did a great job rerecording their Ghostship Demos. I was even a little excited when I heard Panic Attack!. So when the stream came out, I listened to it.

Damn, this is bad.

Ever since I got this, I have wanted to write my first review on it. Its been difficult for me because I STILL have not been able to listen to the whole album in its entirety in one sitting! After three or four songs, I have to take a bathroom break to rid myself of the crap that I shoved in my ears.

Vocally, this record deserves a 0. No joke. Thomas Erak (lead singer and guitarist) cannot sing and whoever told him that he could needs retire from the music industry. Throughout the record, Erak chokes out his poorly written lyrics with a voice that makes my cat's scream in heat sound like Freddie Mercury. It's just painful to listen to and almost as painful to read the lyrics. Here is one of Erak's gems from the eighth track entitled Dirty Pillow Talk:

Hit or miss, hit or miss, hit or miss it.
Get a fix, get a fix, get a fix quick.

Wow, sorry but that is baaad. So bad that even the great Rody Walker's (singer for Protest the Hero) cameo could not save it.

The ONLY reason that i didn’t give this a 0, if that would be possible, was because these boys can flat out play their instruments. Erak is a god among babies when it comes to shredding on the guitar. Listen to Walk of Fame and DONT have your face melt, I triple dog dare you. Andrew Forsman is still as reliable as ever on the kit and the addition of Black on the bass gives this band a bit of a funky feel.

Overall, if you are able to ignore the garbage coming from Erak's mouth, this isn’t bad. I'm not able to do that so its just that bad and i would recommend that you get this, and see if you can tell me why The Fall of Troy thought it was okay to release this.



Recent reviews by this author
TGT 3 KingsCurren$y Covert Coup
Frank Ocean Nostalgia, UltraThe Cool Kids Tacklebox
The Whitest Boy Alive RulesKiD CuDi Man On The Moon: The End Of Day
user ratings (701)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
Joe Schmoh (3)
where the fuck is Vomiting Winter?...

Comatorium. (3.5)
Not as bad as people make it out to be, the genre is called progressive for a reason, people....

Ryan Flatley EMERITUS (2)
In The Unlikely Event proves to be an underwhelming, grave disappointment....

David Driver (2)
An awkward mix of pop and post-hardcore that boasts plenty of style but carries no substance....


Comments:Add a Comment 
cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

pretty bad 1st review but its fitting for how shit this record is. give me advice please cuz god knows i need it. and if youre gonna neg it, tell me why

Prophet178
October 13th 2009



6397 Comments


Is being a god among babies a good thing?

I enjoyed the review, I don't know why you're getting negged.

Relinquished
October 13th 2009



24919 Comments


I pos'd

EasternLight
October 13th 2009



2700 Comments


well. ok. ill be posting my first today as well.

Prophet178
October 13th 2009



6397 Comments


2 Sputnicherries popped in one day.

johnnyblaze
October 13th 2009



2602 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

After listening to this, I really don't think Frank adds much of anything to TFOT. Tim's screams were much better, and the bass playing on this really isn't that good. I actually thought that was his voice on Dirty Pillow Talk; it's too bad Rody has to sing the same lyrics three times. I think Erak might commit suicide after the reception this album, and his vocals particularly, has received.

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Cherry poppin time!!

dylanthedesertpea
October 13th 2009



587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

isnt joel barish the name of jim carrey's character in 'eternal sunshine of the spotless mind?'

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Shhh

EasternLight
October 13th 2009



2700 Comments


NO WAI DOOD pos

dylanthedesertpea
October 13th 2009



587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ha sorry. its a b-a movie though. thumbs up for that

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

My favorite of all time

dylanthedesertpea
October 13th 2009



587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

its up there for me too, not quite my fav though... also not a bad first review at all. kind sums up my whole opinion of the band in general

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Beautiful, thanks for the feedback

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

That's what she said

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

jk?

Ragez
October 13th 2009



150 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sup bro.

cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

@foxxxy: well i could stand manipulator, actually, i liked manipulator. but this is over the top bad singing

whats up ragez

Emim
October 13th 2009



26614 Comments


Time for grammatical nit-picking!

"Hell*,* I was dying to hear something..."

"So ever since I got this I have wanted to write my 1st review on it." Bit awkward, maybe "Ever since I got this, I have wanted to write my first review on it."

"It*'*s just painful to listen to..."

"Listen to Walk of Fame and *DON'T* have your face melt, *I* triple dog dare you. Andrew Forsman is still as reliable as ever on the kit*,* and the addition of Black on the bass gives this band a bit of a funky feel."

"I'm not able to do that so *it's* just that bad and *I* would recommend that you get this*,* and see if you can tell me why The Fall of Troy thought it was okay to release this."

Eh, it's all little stuff, but it makes the flow of the review better. Try to avoid slang like "sooper" and "1st" in the future. In any case, pretty good first, man! I'll pos.




cirq
October 13th 2009



9263 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Hahah I appreciate it! I'll fix it when I get to a comp!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy