Editors
In This Light and On This Evening


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
October 9th, 2009 | 191 replies | 24,343 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Editors jump on the electro bandwagon & crash to earth with a thud.

When Franz Ferdinand released their 3rd album earlier in 2009, they certainly were not the first band to combine post-punk/indie-rock with electronica. However, by riskily incorporating synths into their already established and successful sound, the Scots have arguably paved the way for others to follow suit. Make no mistake about it, the bandwagon will soon fill up… And one of the first groups to jump on board is English quartet, Editors. Unfortunately, where Franz integrated the new musical components very well, Editors let it run wild and ultimately eliminate many of their strengths.

The “all or nothing” approach which Editors have taken can literally be heard just seconds into their 3rd LP ‘In This Light and On This Evening’. Remember when ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’ opener ‘Ulysses’ began with a slinky bass line before dramatically launching into its electronica? Well, the opening title track here shows no such subtlety, immediately giving away its intentions. While it is effectively moody and builds up decently enough, it then inefficiently spreads its entire 37 words of lyrics over a duration that exceeds four minutes. To make matters worse, it is followed up by a six minute cut that is equally inefficient. Stock-standard beats… Average lyrics… The occasional impressive synth flourishes… It practically sums up the entire album!

With electronica taking over, the previously impressive rhythm section and soaring guitars have all but disappeared. Even the expansive anthemic sounds of the polarizing ‘An End Has A Start’ are missing. That leaves Tom Smith’s striking baritone voice as the only ingredient which even characterizes this as an Editors release. There is only so much one man can do, and even then he is handcuffed by mediocre lyrics that will fail to resonate with the majority of listeners. Furthermore, the constant references to God get annoying, while the food fetish that surfaces towards the end of the album is flat out weird. Penultimate track ‘Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool’ is the most experimental track here… It is also the most ridiculous.

‘In This Light and On This Evening’ is not a total write-off, with lead single ‘Papillon’ easily being the most satisfying cut on the LP. Synths propel this body-moving piece in a manner that is sorely lacking elsewhere, while Smith is on top of his game here knowing exactly when to alter the tone of his voice for the tracks betterment. When he recites the key words of “it kicks like a sleep twitch”, there is not only a palpable anticipation leading up to it, but he makes it somehow sound vitally important. Elsewhere however, only the solid and straight-forward ‘You Don’t Know Love’ significantly impresses.

The term “love it or hate it” is over-used in musical parlance, but one feels that it is apt in this case. Fans of the band are either going to be blindly loyal, or extremely disappointed with this release. Meanwhile, those who felt that Editors were overly generic will either be interested in their new direction, or simply feel they are now generic in a different genre. No matter which way you look at it, it is difficult to see ‘In This Light and On This Evening’ reaching a substantial audience. Hopefully, that result will see Editors re-think their future sound… On the back of this album, they need to.

Recommended Tracks: Papillon & You Don’t Know Love.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (169)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Tokyochuchu (4)
A fantastic slow-reveal slice of clinical darkness....

Fugue (1.5)
Il s'envole comme un papillon qui a été piqué par une abeille....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Inclusion of the word “generic” used by non-permission of Mr. Adam Downer.

Spare
October 9th 2009



5251 Comments


yeah i heard papillion and thought it was pretty bad so i'll stay away from this. i used to like the editors ):

Digging: Radiator Hospital - Torch Song

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was about to say if you don't like 'Papillon', then stay away because it's the best thing here. But because it's not really an indication of the mood of the album (the rest of it is much much darker), then I'd hesitate to do so. But yeah, the Editors of old is pretty much gone apart from Smith's baritone.

Jim
October 9th 2009



5110 Comments


awesome review davey. sup my man?

never was into these guys much, and i guess this album won't change that!

catsinflats
October 9th 2009



129 Comments


i was somewhat excited when i heard that this album was going to be darker...but after reading this im just disappointed. i still feel that this band can make a really great album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Jim-Bob. Not a great deal going on mate. I'm like the kangas; Just lying low.

Yeah Alex, it was really disappointing. BUT I haven't totally jumped ship on them. As per my last line of the review, I have a feeling this album will struggle commercially & that will mean they will most likely go back to their previous sound.



Kiran
Emeritus
October 9th 2009



6000 Comments


Didn't expect this but I wouldn't say I'm surprised

Knott-
Emeritus
October 9th 2009



10194 Comments


Pleaaaaaaaaaaaase be wrong

charlesfishowitz
October 9th 2009



1794 Comments


"Editors let it run wild and ultimately eliminate many of their strengths. "

what strengths?

Kiran
Emeritus
October 9th 2009



6000 Comments


Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors is a rockin song but the rest of the Editors catalogue has become boring for me

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2009



7314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good review, i pretty much agree, and while i like the band i can't see them ever making a classic album tbh.

MassiveAttack
October 9th 2009



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Is this band considered post-punk? It was recommended for me after listening to Mission of Burma. The aspect of electro-pop in post-punk would sound so uneven and hilarious.

Fugue
October 9th 2009



7352 Comments


Wow, completely forgot about this; and I was planning on reviewing it! Hmm I've never reviewed an album that Davey has also reviewed, do I start with this or not. Course I'll need to hear it first yadda yadda yadda.

Oh well.

Good review etc. was kinda hoping this would be better than what you think.

bloc
October 9th 2009



34675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

oh shit, didn't know that had a new one. gotta get this out of curiosity.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Altmer
October 9th 2009



5652 Comments


smokers outside the hospital doors rules

cirq
October 9th 2009



9263 Comments


i sstill left the light on baybeee

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Adam, I think I even echoed your sentiments to myself after firts listen. Obviously, let me know what you think after hearing it.

Thanks Ali. Can they make a classic album? Yeah, I think they have the ingredients. Will they? Probably not.

Marko, I think the term used for them is "post-punk revival". If you haven't heard their stuff before, think a cross between Joy Division & Interpol. Although, that's more in reference to their first 2 albums, not this.

You're quite welcome to still review it Ross. The thing is, I am certain someone around here will like this album a lot. I'm just unsure who it will be & how much. The dark atmosphere of the LP will probably appeal to a few here & there. They will be the same person who also thinks 'Papillon' is the worst song on the album!

I am surprised so many of you are mentioning 'Smokers Outside The Hospital Door' as their best song. There's a few songs better than that on their debut. 'Munich' for example.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 10th 2009



6000 Comments


'Smokers..' always struck a chord with me where their other songs didn't tbh. It really achieves that big and grand sound they went for with a lot of their past singles.

Nagrarok
October 10th 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yup, I agree basically 100%, but you knew that already.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fair point Kirgasm. Don't get me wrong, I liked it also. But I thought it sort of seemed out of place on the more expansive 2nd album... It really was a song that would have fit better on their debut.

Thanks Nagrarok. And yeah, I did. BTW, are you English? If I knew, I have forgotten...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy